Review | More Than This – Jay McLean

book-review

More Than This by Jay McLean

311 pages
Published: July 10, 2013 
Genre: New Adult, Contemporary Fiction, Romance

Summary:

When Mikayla imagined her prom night, she envisioned a fairy-tale evening full of romance. So when betrayal and tragedy come in quick succession, Mikayla is completely destroyed. Suddenly, everything she loved and everyone she relied on are tragically, irrevocably gone.

Jake, a handsome boy she just met, happens to witness her loss. With no one to turn to, Mikayla is forced to depend on this near stranger and his family, and he in turn is determined to take care of her. But Mikayla—thrust into adulthood with no one to guide her—is desperate to contain her grief and hide what she considers to be her weakness. Mikayla and Jake both want more, but despite their growing closeness and intense chemistry, she tries to keep her distance and protect her heart. As he does everything in his power to win her trust, Mikayla must choose between remaining alone and safe or letting love in.

Review:

I read this one a while ago and I still feel really conflicted about it. I liked it enough to finish reading it and I have to say, the plot did keep me from putting it down. There are a couple good plot twists in this one. However, my main problem with the book stems with my inability to connect with the main character and see sense in her relationships with the other characters.

This book is no doubt tragic. Mikaela, the main character, goes through so many tragic events in ONE night. Something like that doesn’t happen … unless you’ve got some serious bad luck and you pissed off the gods or something. I was conflicted because I wanted to feel something, anything, for both Mikaela and Jake but it just wasn’t quite there. So Mikaela is having the absolute worst prom when she finds out her boyfriend was cheating on her with her best friend … alright fine (not fine). Instead she agrees to hang out with a completely random stranger and his friends and has the time of her life. Okay, sure … she deserves it after the crappy boyfriend ordeal. She goes home afterwards and BOMB. Not a literal bomb but metaphorical because everything she’s ever loved just pretty much blows up in her face. Her entire family is murdered? WHAT?! I just didn’t expect that and it really got me intrigued.

I kept reading it because I wanted to know about her tragedy. I wanted to know how she would cope when she had no family left, no boyfriend, no best friend and pretty much no support system. Enter Jake and his friends and family. I have nothing against people helping others in times of devastation but the way that Jake and his family were so adamant about helping Mikaela felt … off. I just didn’t see it as realistic, you know? They were amazing, no doubt, and I’m glad that Mikaela had that connection with them but I still didn’t understand how or why they accepted her as one of their own without really knowing who she was. That is where this book lost me.

I think that having a support system from someone she already had a deep relationship with would have been better for the book. It was definitely insta-love and with everything going on, it didn’t feel like it was the time to start such an intense relationship all the while  saying that they weren’t really in a relationship. It was weird. I thought it was a useless drama ploy. Anyway, in the end, it still kept me interested in seeing what will happen with the Mikaela and how she would deal with her loss of innocence.

About Anjie @ Love thy Shelf

Hello there -- call me Anjie! I made this book blog where I can put down all my bookish ramblings and talk to those who have the same interests!
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Review | More Than This – Jay McLean

  1. Lois says:

    Ah that’s the worst thing about a book, failing to connect with the character. To be honest this book has a lot of potential but I also agree with you that having a family member or someone she’s spent more than just one night with to step in during her time of need would have been beneficial. That way she’d have that support system from someone she already knows but it’d also allow her to build up a connection with Jake and his family at a steadier pace. Great review.

    Liked by 1 person

What's on Your Mind?

