Review | Like It Never Happened – Emily Adrian

book-review

Like It Never Happened by Emily Adrian

368 pages
Published: June 2, 2015 by Dial Books
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary Fiction, Romance

Summary:

When Rebecca Rivers lands the lead in her school’s production of The Crucible, she gets to change roles in real life, too. She casts off her old reputation, grows close with her four rowdy cast-mates, and kisses the extremely handsome Charlie Lamb onstage. Even Mr. McFadden, the play’s critical director, can find no fault with Rebecca.

Though “The Essential Five” vow never to date each other, Rebecca can’t help her feelings for Charlie, leaving her both conflicted and lovestruck. But the on and off-stage drama of the cast is eclipsed by a life-altering accusation that threatens to destroy everything…even if some of it is just make believe.

Review:

(and I thought I’d never find something to use this gif for haha ❤ Ollie!)

The title really fits this book .. I kinda want to make it as if it never happened. In all honesty, it wasn’t outright horrible. If it was, I would have stopped reading it a while ago. I pretty much stopped reading this about 55% into it and just started speeding skimming it. I got the gist of the story and wow, it just got crazier. I was very genuinely confused yet … intrigued by it. I wanted to know what was going to happen with the the main character, Rebecca, and the others in the “Essential Five” thespian troupe group or whatever. I’m not a theater person so it was pretty hard for me to connect with Rebecca. This was her passion, this was her life. But that was it. She felt very 1-dimensional and didn’t really have much else going for her character. She was a decent human being with some questionable thought processes but I digress. The “Essential Five” was not my favorite. I understand having your clique and close group of friends but they were very exclusive and looked down on the other thespians because they were the director’s favorites.

Another thing that bothered me was the timeline and pacing. This was especially noticeable in the beginning. I’m pretty sure that the author was doing a present/past flashback thing but it didn’t work out effectively with the way she did it. It just caused some confusion and I got easily irritated because it affected the flow and pacing of the book. The book centers on relationships with boyfriends, friends, teachers, and family. I think the relationship Rebecca had with her sister Mary was the best one here. Everything else felt awkward and just weird. Rebecca’s relationship with Charlie was very rocky. Charlie’s the biggest douchebag and I don’t know what Rebecca or every other character in this book were thinking. He’s downright disrespectful and despicable. I don’t understand Tess and her motives. Tim was hardly mentioned and Liane … I wish there was more Liane.

The last thing that bothered me was how the book was so centered on sex and this mission to lose her virginity when she knows herself that she’s not ready for it. I was also very annoyed about how nonchalant characters were for being slut-shamed and one even glorified in being called a slut and whore? It just really bothered. The smoking habits of teens was also really relevant. Literally everyone smokes? Never seen smoking that prevalent in a book but whatever, maybe I’m just being picky because I’m not a smoker. But still … I felt like it was mentioned way too much. I was actually more interested in the plays that they were doing because they were my favorites (The Crucible and A Streetcar Named Desire).  I’m not saying my teen years were of the norm but it was never this dramatic.

About Anjie @ Love thy Shelf

Hello there -- call me Anjie! I made this book blog where I can put down all my bookish ramblings and talk to those who have the same interests!
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What's on Your Mind?

