Review | The Way to Game the Walk of Shame – Jenn P. Nguyen

book-review

The Way to Game the Walk of Shame by Jenn P. Nguyen

306 pages
Published: June 7, 2016 by Swoon Reads
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary

Summary:

Taylor Simmons is screwed.

Things were hard enough when her single-minded dedication to her studies earned her the reputation of being an Ice Queen, but after getting drunk at a party and waking up next to bad boy surfer Evan McKinley, the entire school seems intent on tearing Taylor down with mockery and gossip.

Desperate to salvage her reputation, Taylor persuades Evan to pretend they’re in a serious romantic relationship. After all, it’s better to be the girl who tames the wild surfer than just another notch on his surfboard.

Review:

(Guys, I’m really serious about all the Oliver Queen gifs – but look how gorgeous he is!)

I read the synopsis for Way to Game and I knew I would love it. These kinds of books are like my guilty pleasures. Sexy guys, drama, fake-relationships, and romance just calls to me. I love the high school drama and it just makes me want to read it while eating popcorn. If you want cute banter and just plain entertainment, you’ll find it with this book. Don’t go expecting some kind of plot twist. I know that fake relationships in books is predictable and it’s the same with this book but I don’t care, I loved this book. It was light and fluffy and just what the doctor prescribed.

Setting aside the obvious double standards playing in this book, it was still a lot of fun. Taylor is your nerdy and bullied teen who ends up waking up in the same bed with the playboy Evan. SCANDALOUS! How does the little genius resolve this?? She has Evan [fake] date her in real life and make it seem as if she’s the girl who turned the playboy into a one-woman kind of guy. Seriously… I loved the plot haha. Just like other fake relationships, you find that people who actually spend time together start having deeper and meaningful feelings. I love how it developed and that it wasn’t entirely forced. I love their cute banter and let’s be honest, the romance was straight up adorable.

If you’re looking for a pick me up and just want a good read that will make you feel the feels and leave you happy, pick this up. The plot and pacing is great and it’s such an easy and fun read. I like that even though it had the opportunity to be more dramatic than it could be, it was straightforward and was dealt between Evan and Taylor. I liked that the dramatics didn’t have to involve the entire school and that their relationship was really a secret.

About Anjie @ Love thy Shelf

Hello there -- call me Anjie! I made this book blog where I can put down all my bookish ramblings and talk to those who have the same interests!
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Review | The Way to Game the Walk of Shame – Jenn P. Nguyen

  1. ravenblake99 says:

    I loved this book! It was so much fun to read! I’m glad you loved it too! Nice review! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

What's on Your Mind?

