Review | White Hot Kiss – Jennifer L. Armentrout

book-review

White Hot Kiss by Jennifer L. Armentrout

The Dark Elements #1

348 pages
Published: February 25, 2014 by Harlequin Teen
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

Summary:

One kiss could be the last.

Seventeen-year-old Layla just wants to be normal. But with a kiss that kills anything with a soul, she’s anything but normal. Half demon, half gargoyle, Layla has abilities no one else possesses.

Raised among the Wardens—a race of gargoyles tasked with hunting demons and keeping humanity safe—Layla tries to fit in, but that means hiding her own dark side from those she loves the most. Especially Zayne, the swoon-worthy, incredibly gorgeous and completely off-limits Warden she’s crushed on since forever.

Then she meets Roth—a tattooed, sinfully hot demon who claims to know all her secrets. Layla knows she should stay away, but she’s not sure she wants to—especially when that whole no-kissing thing isn’t an issue, considering Roth has no soul.

But when Layla discovers she’s the reason for the violent demon uprising, trusting Roth could not only ruin her chances with Zayne… it could brand her a traitor to her family. Worse yet, it could become a one-way ticket to the end of the world.

Review:

To be completely honest, I did not know what to expect with this one. I absolutely love anything and everything from Jennifer L. Armentrout. But I admit, the cover and the title threw me off. It was pre-judgment on my part but who else hasn’t judged a book by it’s cover. I seriously don’t know how she does it! Every. Single. Time. I read her books and she pulls me into the world and makes me addicted. White Hot Kiss is no different! I cannot wait to read more from the series. I was really hesitant at first about the whole gargoyles but hey! It’s a new topic and it was cool.

The main character is half Gargoyle/”Warden” and half demon. You know with that kind of DNA she is bound to be something special. She lives with Wardens, who protect the world and she is raised into believing that demons are the big bad wolves. (Aren’t they always?) Anyway, her purpose with the Wardens come into question when she meets the demon Roth. Layla is in luuuurve with her best friend Zayne but it’s a huge no-no because she’s half demon (the whole soul sucking thing) and they can’t have kids to increase the Warden population. I loved both Zayne and Roth, for different reasons. They are very different in personality but they are similar in how much they care for Layla and want to protect her … it’s just displayed in a different way.

Other than having amazing characters, the plot was so fantastic! It kept you on the edge. It had romance, friendship, action, and you know lots of drama to keep you glued to the pages. Now there are some frustrating scenes with Zayne but in the end, you can tell how much he does care and love Layla. Now that ending, prepárate! (Get ready/prepare yourself). It’s intense and shocking and it will leave you crying on the floor! It was so surprising. I cried a lot haha.

About Anjie @ Love thy Shelf

Hello there -- call me Anjie! I made this book blog where I can put down all my bookish ramblings and talk to those who have the same interests!
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Review | White Hot Kiss – Jennifer L. Armentrout

  1. I loved this book! I love everything that I have read of Jennifer’s and this is probably my favorite. Roth is probably my favorite character out of the book with Layla a close second. I actually wrote a review of this book and the second book on my blog it you want to check it out at mcmusicbookblog.wordpress.com
    P.S. This might show up multiple times because my computer is screwed up.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I loved this book and review! I love everything that I have read of Jennifer’s and this is probably my favorite. Roth is probably my favorite character out of the book with Layla a close second. I actually wrote a review of this book and the second book on my blog it you want to check it out at mcmusicbookblog.wordpress.com
    P.S. This might show up multiple times because my computer is screwed up.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I loved this book and this review. Although I was hesitant at first to read it because it had such a different story line than her other books, i’m glad that I did. I absolutely loved Roth and Layla. Roth was so funny and sweet(ish), but could aslo get across the Demon part if needed and Layla was so innocent around Roth. I loved it! I actually did a review of this book and the second one in the series on my blog if you want to check them out at mcmusicbookblog.wordpress.com
    P.S. if you get this more than once i’m sorry, my computer does this thing where it says it posted the comment but it doesn’t show up.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I loved this review and this book. Jennifer L. Armentrout does a fantastic job! I have loved all of the books I have read by her especially this one. And I loved the new story. I was also a little hesitant because it was the first book i’ve read with gargoyles and demons in it by her, so I wasn’t sure if it would be as good, but I was not disappointed at all. I actually did a review of this book and the second one in the series on my blog if you want to check it out at mcmusicbookblog.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m glad to hear you liked this one! I received it a few years ago but it’s gotten lost among my TBR (I feel like I either really love or end up DNFing her books).

    Like

What's on Your Mind?

