Review | The Sun Is Also A Star – Nicola Yoon

book-review

The Sun Is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon

348 pages
Published: November 1, 2016 by Delacorte Press
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary Fiction, Romance

Summary:

Natasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.

Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store—for both of us.

The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true?

Review:

Sorry guys, I don’t know this one wasn’t for me. I was really disappointed because I really loved Everything, Everything. The premise of The Sun is Also a Star sounded so good but in the end, it felt pretentious and unrealistic. I know that it’s just a book but really? Falling in love in less than 24 hours? Come on! Especially when the two characters have nothing in common. I mean they’re both smart and both immigrants. But one’s a poet and very touchy-feely (Daniel) and the other is super scientific and very anti-love (Natasha). And you’re going to tell me that they fall in love in a span of not even 24 hours but more like 12 or so.

I had difficulties connecting to the main characters. I felt like they were extremes … like be normal or something (again this is just me). I honestly thought that they were both so annoying. I rolled my eyes so much with this book, I think I strained it. I don’t remember much about Natasha other than her love of science and Nirvana. She also had a strained relationship with her father because he’s basically the reason why they are being deported. Daniel was really into poetry. He had long hair. His brother was a major douchebag. His parents wanted him to be a doctor. Everything else in between the first page and the last was lost on me.

I love Yoon because she writes diversity and it was great that she was writing a book with immigrants. That’s great. I’m an immigrant. My friend’s an immigrant. Let’s face it, America is filled with immigrants. It wouldn’t be what it is today without immigrants. The whole illegal immigration though … I don’t want to get political because I can’t stand politics but I was triggered, especially with Natasha complaining that she wouldn’t be eligible for scholarships with her stolen social security. I just … speechless. I understand her hardship and I feel for her you know? She’s intelligent and has so much potential and she for sure deserves that scholarship. It was a total cognitive dissonance for me.

Overall, this book and I did not play well together. Diversity was the only thing really working for me. Tee multiple point of views were hit and miss for me. I liked some of the views but mostly, I made the pace really choppy for me. It felt intrusive sometimes. I just wanted to finish the scene and then I get information on hair???? The points of view also served to show just how coincidental every little thing is in this book. No thanks.

4 thoughts on “Review | The Sun Is Also A Star – Nicola Yoon

  1. Oh no, insta-love, as featured in this novel, is one of my biggest pet peeves. Agh. I’ve heard so much about it, though, and so many people seemed to have loved this! Definitely going to go into it with lowered expectations now though haha. Lovely review! Sorry to hear you and this book didn’t mix well together though. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

What's on Your Mind?

