Review | Things We Know By Heart – Jessi Kirby

book review

Things We Know By Heart

Jessi Kirby
304 pages

Synopsis:

When Quinn Sullivan meets the recipient of her boyfriend’s donated heart, the two form an unexpected connection.

After Quinn loses her boyfriend, Trent, in an accident their junior year, she reaches out to the recipients of his donated organs in hopes of picking up the pieces of her now-unrecognizable life. She hears back from some of them, but the person who received Trent’s heart has remained silent. The essence of a person, she has always believed, is in the heart. If she finds Trent’s, then maybe she can have peace once and for all.

Risking everything in order to finally lay her memories to rest, Quinn goes outside the system to track down nineteen-year-old Colton Thomas—a guy whose life has been forever changed by this priceless gift. But what starts as an accidental run-in quickly develops into more, sparking an undeniable attraction. She doesn’t want to give in to it—especially since he has no idea how they’re connected—but their time together has made Quinn feel alive again. No matter how hard she’s falling for Colton, each beat of his heart reminds her of all she’s lost…and all that remains at stake.

My Review:

5star

gif7

We lie together, quiet, under an endless sky, beside a bottomless ocean, and we don’t talk about how these are all the things that brought us together. We don’t talk about how we wouldn’t change any of them.We don’t have to, because these are the things we know by heart.

I have been wanting to read this book for the longest time. The. Longest. Time. But somehow it kept getting pushed down my TBR list until I finally just sat myself down and read it. I had high expectations for this one because the synopsis really drew me in. I was so not disappointed. If anything, it met and far exceeded my expectations. This book has become one of my favorite ever. It was so wonderfully beautiful yet heartbreaking. It was so easy to fall in love with it and get emotionally attached to the characters. The writing style was just fantastic and very beautiful. It made me feel so many emotions. I was also crying so much. Make sure to have a box sitting near you while you’re reading this.

I really enjoyed the plot. It can be a little predictable at times but what YA contemporary book isn’t. It’s a beautiful story of love and moving on from tragedies. I loved how well it all came together in the story. It’s definitely heart heavy. It starts depressing already, with Quinn seeing her boyfriend’s death. It was indeed traumatic and she starts going through the grieving process. I got very attached to Quinn and it was like whatever she went through, you felt it. There was a scene especially, when she starts to forget how many days have passed since Trent passed away and that scene was just so emotionally draining. She has a breakdown and feels so guilty about moving on, it just breaks your heart. I loved that Quinn had such an amazing support system after the tragedy, especially her sister!

I leave the last paragraph to Colton, the recipient of Trent’s heart. While I was 100% not okay with Quinn wanting to find him against his will, I understood her reasons for wanting to do so. However, them meeting wasn’t a part of a plan and that was sort of an accident, a funny one but an accident. So it wasn’t as bad. But Colton, wow. He was such an amazing character and the life that he leads is something that many people, including myself, wish to live. He’s loving, compassionate, outgoing, kind, and lives everyday like it’s his last day. I loved that we get to know more about his story and his story is just as equally emotionally draining, maybe even more. You will totally fall in love with Colton and this book!

xoxo

About Anjie @ Love thy Shelf

Hello there -- call me Anjie! I made this book blog where I can put down all my bookish ramblings and talk to those who have the same interests!
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Review | Things We Know By Heart – Jessi Kirby

  1. Great review and so perfect for Valentine’s Day. I also loved this book!

    Liked by 1 person

What's on Your Mind?

