Review | Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

book review

miss-peregrine

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

Ransom Riggs
352 pages

Synopsis:

A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of curious photographs.

A horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.

My Review:

3star

gif

I used to dream about escaping my ordinary life, but my life was never ordinary. I had simply failed to notice how extraordinary it was.

Miss Peregrine’s has been a book that has been recommended to me time and time again. The first time I picked it up and looked through the book, I immediately put the book back down and said that I wouldn’t be reading it. The pictures, which is something that really makes the book stand out from the others, is what made me not want to read them. I am a pansy and I am easily scared. I admit that. So seeing these black and white photos with children wearing old school clothes gave me the creeps. I didn’t even read the synopsis. Eventually, that fear wore down because I saw the trailer for the movie and saw that Eva Green was playing Miss Peregrine. It interested me then.

To be honest, I thought that the book could have been better. It was really slow at time and I mean really slow that I couldn’t even bare to read it. I would have stopped reading it but the plot really was interesting. I did enjoy the fact that there were pictures, even though I didn’t exactly stare at them too long. They still give me the shivers even though I know that they are just pictures of peculiars. The beginning picked up real fast because it surrounded the death of his grandfather, Jacob’s first encounter with hollows. It was exciting and fast-moving and then Jacob goes to Cairnholm to find out more about his grandfather and that’s where it lost me. It was so boring for me. It finally started picking up when he meets the peculiars and starts interacting with them more and more.

I just felt like the pace of the book was bringing me down. At some parts, it was fast and exciting and then other parts just kept dragging on. I think one of the major letdown for me was the main character. I thought he was very one-dimensional. He was really boring and there was nothing in him that I could relate to and I had trouble being able to jump into his mind and be the character. The other characters kind of fell flat for me, too. None of them, other than Miss Peregreine, really stuck out to me. I actually enjoyed the movie more than the book. I’m not talking about the accuracy and how closely they made the adaptation to the book. I just felt that the movie pulled more on my feelings than the book. The actors gave the characters life. I still felt like Jacob was boring but honestly it was all worth it for Eva Green’s performance as Miss Peregrine. I actually cried in the movie! If it wasn’t for the movie (and the fact that I bought the trilogy box set), I probably wouldn’t be looking forward to reading the third book.

xoxo

5 thoughts on “Review | Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

  1. I know this sounds weird, but I really am glad that I wasn’t the only one who wasn’t impressed by this book. As you said, the pacing wasn’t all that great and the characters? Not exactly my cup of tea either 😦 the pictures are phenomenal though. I just felt like the story got worse with each part.

    Liked by 1 person

What's on Your Mind?

