Review | A Tangled Web – M.L. Sparrow

book review

Don’t Look Back

tangled-web

M. L. Sparrow
94 pages

Synopsis:

Japan, 2011

Taiyo is a normal high-school girl living with her Grandmother in Sendai. She goes to school, partakes in club activities and hangs out with her two best friends, twin brothers Ryuu and Kairi. However, her perfect world is shattered when she begins dating Kairi but quickly discovers she’s already in love with Ryuu.

A tangled web of lies surrounds the pair, but everything is suddenly knocked into perspective on March 11th when they are caught up in a natural disaster that devastates the country and robs thousands of their homes, their possessions and their lives…

My Review:

5star

gif

First and foremost, I’d like to say HAPPY BOOK BIRTHDAY to A TANGLED WEB!!! Yes! Today is the official date of publication!! Go on Amazon and buy it!!

I am always excited when Sparrow asks me to review her books. I am a fan of her writing style and I have enjoyed all of her books I’ve read. I was worried because this time around it would be a short story. I was worried that I wouldn’t have enough time to really get engrossed by the story and really feel for the characters. I shouldn’t have been worried because it was such a wonderful read. I mean, it was depressing me because it surrounded the real life tsunami that devastated Japan in 2011. I really loved the way it was written. The book started before the tsunami and I love how the book was separated by date and it further emphasized the normalcy of their days that was all of a sudden disrupted. The crazy thing is that there was no warning, at least not enough of a warning. Unlike in Miami, where I live, we get plenty of warnings before a hurricane hits us. We can get reinforcements and have time for evacuation. But a tsunami, of that size and magnitude, what is there to be done?

The closer the novella got to the date, the more anxious I got and I loved that the book affected me this way. I love how Sparrow wrote the story, that even though we’ve only been given 94 pages, we knew Taiyo’s story and her history and relationships with Ryuu and Kairi. I don’t know much about the Japanese culture and honestly didn’t even know much about the tsunami and Sparrow only heightened my curiosity. I love that there is so much Japanese culture in the novella. I really loved that we had a glossary in the end to help us with the Japanese words used in the book. I’m serious guys, I actually looked into the tsunami. I watched videos and researched the whole thing. It is a really interesting topic that I have yet to read about and I am so glad that Sparrow wrote on it. I enjoyed the characters. They were very unique and the love story was very believable in its progression.

xoxo

2 thoughts on “Review | A Tangled Web – M.L. Sparrow

What's on Your Mind?

