Best of 2016

book talk

Hey there book fam! Happy New Year’s Eve! I hope all of you had a wonderful, book-filled year. I also hope you guys are having a great time during the holidays with your books, tea, family, and friends! I feel like I totally failed in the blogging aspect of my life this year — I didn’t even celebrate my blog’s first year (yikes!). No worries though, there will be more years to come and blogging more will be in my New Year’s resolution. Do you guys set up resolutions? Anyway, I wanted to talk today about the  best things that happened this year and the best books I read. I didn’t get to read as many books as I wanted to because I was really busy but I still did achieve my Goodreads goal of 30 books by reading 48! Unfortunately, I haven’t caught up to all the reviews haha #bookwormproblems. I wrote summaries for you guys about the book and I’m pretty bad at writing them. I promise you the books were good even if my summaries were not. Either way, I put in a link for goodreads!


TOP TEN BEST BOOKS READ IN 2016

mistletoe-promise

10. The Mistletoe Promise by Richard Paul Evans – This was my first Christmas themed book that I’ve ever read and it really surprised me. The story is about Elise, who was cheated and left by her ex-husband. Christmas hasn’t been fun since. A stranger comes up to her, who is also tired of spending Christmas alone, offers a proposition: they pretend to be a couple until Christmas Eve.

white-hot-kiss

9. White Hot Kiss by Jennifer L. Armentrout: I absolutely love everything that JLA writes and this was no different. Layla wants to be normal, which is hard for someone who is half gargoyle, half demon. She has been raised by the Wardens – basically super gargoyles that kill demons – where she’s crushing on Zayne who is off-limits because she’s not full gargoyle. Then one day she meets the demon Roth … who makes her question everything she’s  believed in.

the way i used to be

8. The Way I Used to Be by Amber Smith: If you want to read something that will emotionally scar you, this is it. Told in segments of Eden’s four years of high school, you read about her struggle after being raped by her brother’s best friend (practically family). Seriously, get the tissues.

way-to-game

7. The Way to Game the Walk of Shame by Jenn P. Nguyen: What a fun book. It was pretty predictable but I didn’t care. It was a fluffy, light read. Taylor, the almost valedictorian in the school that many can’t stand, wakes up next to Evan after took many drinks at a party. Evan is the school’s playboy and everyone is more than ready to spread gossip and tear down Taylor’s reputation. So Taylor hatches a plan for Evan to be her fake boyfriend so instead of being another one of Evan’s conquest, she would be the one that got the playboy to be in a serious relationship.

wrath and dawn

6. The Wrath & The Dawn by Renee Ahdieh: I finally read this and I was so happy! It is a retelling of A Thousand and One Nights. Khalid is the ruler of Khorasan and is responsible for the murder of many women. Every day he marries a girl and the next, she would be dead. The only difference is that this time, he killed Shahrzad’s best friend … and she wants revenge so she volunteers to be his next wife.

me before you

5. Me Before You by Jojo Moyes. O.M.G. Stop what you’re doing and pick up this book. Louisa, who really needs a job, becomes the caretaker for Will Traynor who was injured in a motorbike accident that left him in a wheel chair and quadriplegic. After reading it, watch the movie because Sam Claflin *cries*.

ps i like you

4. P.S. I Like You by Kasie West: So I basically binge read all of West’s books in January 2016 and was more than excited to read this. I was so not disappointed! Lily, trying to survive her chemistry class, writes the lyrics of one of her favorite bands on the desk. Next class, someone else continues the lyrics. This eventually leads to them writing letters to each other but Lily doesn’t know who is writing back to her.

things we know by heart

3. Things We Know By Heart by Jessi Kirby: This book broke me. I was crying all the time. My emotions were everywhere. Quinn’s boyfriend, Trent, dies in a tragic accident and his organs are donated. All but one of the donor recipients have contacted her and had given her a sense of closure. All of them except the one who received Trent’s heart. Quinn desperately needs to know if Trent’s heart went to the right person, she goes to seek the recipient out, without his permission.

ember in the ashes

2. An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir: Wow, just wow. It was dark and compelling. Just so amazing. The story surrounds Laia, a slave, and Elias, a soldier, but neither is free. Laia is a Scholar and after witnessing the murder of her grandparents and the imprisonment of her brother, she runs to the rebels to help her find her brother. They are willing to help if she infiltrates the empire military academy and spy for them. There she meets Elias who wants to escape the violence and control of the academy run by his mother who basically hates him.

acomaf

1. A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas: If had to remember 2016 by, it would be this book. I read this book 3 times last year. THREE! I loved it way too much. ACOMAF continues where ACOTAR left off with Feyre trying to accustom to life as Fae and trying to bury the memories of Under the Mountain with Amarantha. So she focuses on her upcoming wedding to Tamlin as she waits for Rhysand to call in the bargain that helped her survive in the previous book.


What were your favorite reads of 2016? Let me know below!

xoxo

About Anjie @ Love thy Shelf

Hello there -- call me Anjie! I made this book blog where I can put down all my bookish ramblings and talk to those who have the same interests!
This entry was posted in Bookish Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Best of 2016

  1. Lois says:

    The Wrath and the Dawn is definitely one of my favourite books. The connection between Shazi and Khalid was unreal and the writing was simply stunning. I can’t wait to see what her new book, Flame in the Mist has in store for us.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ravenblake99 says:

    Great list! I loved ACOMAF and The walk to Game The Game Of Shame, An Ember In the Ashes, The Wrath And The Dawn! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Happy (belated) first year blogging! I LOVED Court of Mist and Fury, PS I Like You, and The Wrath and the Dawn too. So many good books to read all the time!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Carolyn says:

    I loved the Wrath and the Dawn! And I’m so excited for Ahdieh’s new book coming out this year that’s a retelling of Mulan. Ugh, so excited.

    Liked by 1 person

What's on Your Mind?

