Review: Apollyon (Covenant #4) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

book review

Apollyon

Jennifer L. Armentrout
Covenant Book 4
343 Pages


Synopsis:

 

Fate isn’t something to mess with… and now, neither is Alex.

Alex has always feared two things: losing herself in the Awakening and being placed on the Elixir. But love has always been stronger than Fate, and Aiden St. Delphi is willing to make war on the gods—and Alex herself—to bring her back.

The gods have killed thousands and could destroy entire cities in their quest to stop Seth from taking Alex’s power and becoming the all-powerful God Killer. But breaking Alex’s connection to Seth isn’t the only problem. There are a few pesky little loopholes in the whole “an Apollyon can’t be killed” theory, and the only person who might know how to stop the destruction has been dead for centuries.

Finding their way past the barriers that guard the Underworld, searching for one soul among countless millions, and then somehow returning will be hard enough. Alex might be able to keep Seth from becoming the God Killer… or she might become the God Killer herself.


Bullet Review:

5star

ugh

❤ I hated … despised the beginning of this book. Alex is officially an Apollyon and I hate her guts. Well I hate Seth’s guts, which has now become Alex’s guts. I just hate how Seth doesn’t see the wrongness of what he’s doing to Alex!

❤ It’s a minor spoiler but it happens a lot sooner than I thought but Alex does snap out of it and the story really begins from there!

❤ I am so proud of the person that Alex has become in this series! She’s so mature, no longer reckless, very selfless, and willing to sacrifice her life for those that she loves and for the cause.

❤ Aiden — my agapi *laughs, cries* Aiden was probably at his lowest in the series because of the desperation that he was under when Alex became Apollyon. In his last attempt, he gave Alex elixir. I didn’t like it this low and guilt-ridden Alex. He always felt guilty and sad and just no. I want my baby Aiden back *cries*

❤ I love how everything was finally clicking together. The plot was fantastic and the prophecies from the first two books were on point! We see who’s really behind all of this and how everyone and everything is connected. It’s genius!

❤ There was a couple of scenes in the Underworld and I was really looking forward to it. I thought it was going to be a lot darker than what really happened. I was expecting some Percy Jackson darkness in Tartarus haha. I’m glad it wasn’t terrible and that it didn’t make me gross sob but I don’t know maybe I kind of wanted to? (I’m sick and twisted, I know)

❤ JLA’s writing is excellent, as per usual. Her pacing is always consistent and wonderful. I love the simplicity of her writing. It gets to the point! I love that you don’t have to read through bullcrap to get to the main idea.

❤ Now the one behind all of it! I have to tell you. I was surprised. But it made sense. I made crazy guesses based on all the Greek myth books I’ve read before and I was right! But still! It was a great twist.

❤ There’s a battle in the end and wow. That was literally so heartbreaking. I was sobbing. I was screaming. My heart was racing. I was jumping. I was all over the place. It was amazing! This was what I wanted from the Tartarus scene but hey, as long as we got one of them in the book right?!

 

xoxo

About Anjie @ Love thy Shelf

Hello there -- call me Anjie! I made this book blog where I can put down all my bookish ramblings and talk to those who have the same interests!
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Review: Apollyon (Covenant #4) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

  1. Whoa, the cover is gorgeous!! I love covers with fire on them XD Amazing review, and I’m glad that you loved this book! ^_^

    Brittany @ Brittany’s Book Rambles

    Liked by 1 person

What's on Your Mind?

