Reread Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses (ACOTAR #1) by Sarah J. Maas

book review

A Court of Thorns and Roses

Sarah J. Maas
A Court of Thorns and Roses #1
470 Pages


Synopsis:

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.


My Review:

gif

“Be glad of your human heart, Feyre. Pity those who don’t feel anything at all.”

If you’d like to read my original review of A Court of Thorns and Roses, you can find it here. This is the second time that I read ACOTAR and my eyes definitely read something different. I believe that it was still just as good but after reading A Court of Mist and Fury, I see ACTOAR totally different. Even now, I’m still in love with Sarah J. Maas’s writing. Her world building specifically is one of my favorite things about this book. I could see, smell, and feel the Spring Court. It was described beautifully and it made me want more of it. I thought that the plot was still great but this time around I wish there was more focus on the scenes with Amarantha and the trials. It was one of the best things I’ve read — although the silly riddle was really easy to solve (for me, at least). The scenes Under the Mountain were so fantastically written and Amarantha was a terrible villain to have. However, I understand why there was an emphasis on the love story — it was necessary to force Feyre into action in the last third of the book.

gif

The main thing that really changed for me is my view of Tamlin. I think that everyone’s view of Tamlin changed after reading ACOMAF. We were reading in Feyre’s point of view, who of course fell in love with him. Seeing it all in Feyre’s eyes made us fall for him, too. She dismissed his flaws so therefore, we dismissed his overprotective tendencies and borderline domestic abuse. We see bits and pieces of it in Fire Night, where he even blamed Feyre in the end for his actions. ACOMAF really opens your eyes to Tamlin’s shortcomings with Feyre and his court really. Tamlin really angered me in ACOMAF and that extended to my reread. It didn’t lessen the enjoyment I had for the book but you know I had to lower down a star for Tamlin. Another major thing about ACOTAR: Rhysand. When I first read ACOTAR, I didn’t hate him. He actually really interested me. The first time I read this book, it was mostly to know the story and follow the plot. This time around, I paid attention to the details and it gives a lot of foreshadowing for the second book and it makes you really appreciate the writing.

xoxo

9 thoughts on “Reread Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses (ACOTAR #1) by Sarah J. Maas

  1. I had all the exact same thoughts and feelings when I re-read ACOTAR over the summer. But something else for me, I actually loved Feyre more. I wasn’t sold on her character the first time around but this time around I was surprised by how much I liked her more.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is so timely because I’m reading ACOMAF right now (for the first time). If someone would have told me during ACOTAR that I’d be Team Rhysand I would have laughed. Not because Rhys wasn’t an intriguing character, but I was so sold on Tamlin. My how things can change! I’m about 40% thru ACOMAF now am loving how the story is progressing!

    Tanya @ GIRL PLUS BOOKS

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh! I’m so glad that you’re enjoying ACOMAF! It’s so great. I was the same! I absolutely adored Tamlin but Rhysand did hold my interest, especially in the end when Amarantha was just about killing Feyre. I noticed how much more he was fighting for Feyre than Tamlin was. I can’t wait to hear what you think about ACOMAF!

      Like

    • Thank you so much Liam! I think either way is good. If you reread it before ACOMAF, you’ll really feel the shift in perspective. If you reread it afterwards, then you’ll notice the smaller details with Tamlin’s behavior that you might have missed out or ignore the first time reading ACOTAR. I hope you enjoy ACOMAF!

      Liked by 1 person

What's on Your Mind?

