Review: The Heart of Betrayal (The Remnant Chronicles #2) by Mary E. Pearson

book review

The Heart of Betrayal

Mary E. Pearson
The Remnant Chronicles #2
470 Pages


Synopsis:

Held captive in the barbarian kingdom of Venda, Lia and Rafe have little chance of escape. Desperate to save Lia’s life, her erstwhile assassin, Kaden, has told the Vendan Komizar that she has the gift, and the Komizar’s interest in Lia is greater than anyone could have foreseen.

Meanwhile, nothing is straightforward: There’s Rafe, who lied to Lia but has sacrificed his freedom to protect her; Kaden, who meant to assassinate her but has now saved her life; and the Vendans, whom Lia always believed to be savages. Now that she lives among them, however, she realizes that may be far from the truth. Wrestling with her upbringing, her gift, and her sense of self, Lia must make powerful choices that will affect her country… and her own destiny.


My Review:

gif

“We had a terrible start… doesn’t mean we can’t have a better ending.”

Kiss of Deception ended on a high note for me because of how it ended. I was really excited to see how Lia and Raffe would fare in Venden and meet the infamous villain: the Komizar. I will tell you that the Komizar does not disappoint. He was one of the best things about this book. He is a villain that you just love to hate. Yes he is evil but at the same time you can tell he has some soft spots, especially for Kaden and his people. He does try to give them hope but overall he’s still an evil genius who manipulates and kills people. He runs Venden with fear and greed instead of loyalty.

“It was worth it, Lia,” He said. “Every mile, every day. I’d do it all again. I’d chase you across three continents if that’s what it took to be with you.”

gif

**omg that swoony quote**

Lia .. hmm.. she makes some rash decisions and I was never really in agreement with those kinds of actions. Some ended up well, some didn’t. You know the deal. I think she needs some more well thought out plans. She slowly starts seeing Venden for what it is and she starts loving the kingdom. I loved Raffe and how protective of Lia he is but at the same time knows that she can take care of herself. I still love that he sacrificed his freedom to be with her now. Is it so wrong that he’s my favorite character?? Kaden — I’m over him. I don’t like his broodiness and all but it was easy to ignore. My main thing was that the first book emphasized on the love story and it was basically non-existent in this book.

Just like in the first book, I didn’t feel like the world building caught my attention to really be transported to Lia’s world. The whole “gift” thing and the war between the kingdoms kind of fell on deaf ears for me … or blind eyes since I’m reading it?! Anyway, in the end it didn’t really do it for me and I felt like it could have been better. Just like Kiss of Deception, the fastest parts of the book were towards the end. It was really good and probably the saving grace. It keeps you on the edge and wanting book 3!

xoxo

What's on Your Mind?

