Review: The Beauty of Darkness (The Remnant Chronicles #3) by Mary E. Pearson

book review

The Beauty of Darkness

Mary E. Pearson
The Remnant Chronicles #3
679 Pages


Synopsis:

Lia has survived Venda—but so has a great evil bent on the destruction of Morrighan. And only Lia can stop it.

With war on the horizon, Lia has no choice but to assume her role as First Daughter, as soldier—as leader. While she struggles to reach Morrighan and warn them, she finds herself at cross-purposes with Rafe and suspicious of Kaden, who has hunted her down.

In this conclusion to the Remnant Chronicles trilogy, traitors must be rooted out, sacrifices must be made, and impossible odds must be overcome as the future of every kingdom hangs in the balance.


My Review:

gif

“Darkness was a beautiful thing. The kiss of a shadow. A caress as soft as moonlight.”

I don’t know what it is about this trilogy and me. Everyone seems to love it and rate it real well. However, for me, it was very mediocre. I thought it could have been better. Beauty of Darkness falls within the same rating of its predecessor. This book was a monster. It was so long and I felt like a lot of it was useless. I wanted more action and I wanted the actual war and fighting that has been building up in the past book. There was a lot of politics, more than I could ever want, and it slowed down the book for me. It didn’t interest me. The best thing about the politics though was seeing who was the real people behind this, who set this war on its path. It was great seeing all those who betrayed Morrhighan and Lia.

gif

Lia was hot and cold for me in this book. I hated her for most of the book and then loved her towards the end. When she finally took the reigns in the end and was commanding her people, it was great. It was wonderful to see women in power. I didn’t like her attitude in Dalbreck with Raffe and his people. She treated them as if she was in charge and would get mad when they went to Raffe for final orders. #rude #yourenottheDalbreckQueen. I also didn’t like that she wasn’t understanding about Raffe’s precarious situation back in Dalbreck. He did so many things to save the relationship and help her out and she didn’t care about what he was going through. Maybe I’m being too harsh on her. I don’t know. Either way, it did affect the way I felt about the book

“Love didn’t end all at once, no matter how much you needed it to or how inconvenient it was. You couldn’t command love to stop any more than a marriage document could order it to appear. Maybe love had to bleed away a drop at a time until your heart was numb and cold and mostly dead.”

I didn’t hate the book but I didn’t love it either. It was too long and some things had a convenient ending, especially the love triangle (that was supposed to be over with after book 1). It was resolved too easily and what had happened with Kaden was a cop out and felt really unbelievable. The war all but lasted like 3 chapters and certain important things were anticlimactic *cryptic line haha*. It really could have been better and I’m really sad that I didn’t enjoy it more.

xoxo

About Anjie @ Love thy Shelf

Hello there -- call me Anjie! I made this book blog where I can put down all my bookish ramblings and talk to those who have the same interests!
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Review: The Beauty of Darkness (The Remnant Chronicles #3) by Mary E. Pearson

  1. I can understand why this book was only mediocre for you. It’s such a pet peeve for me, too when things are resolved in a quick and unsatisfying manner out of convenience.

    Liked by 1 person

What's on Your Mind?

