Review: 99 Days by Katie Cotugno

book review

99 Days

Katie Cotugno
384 pages

Synopsis:

Day 1: Julia Donnelly eggs my house my first night back in Star Lake, and that’s how I know everyone still remembers everything—how I destroyed my relationship with Patrick the night everything happened with his brother, Gabe. How I wrecked their whole family. Now I’m serving out my summer like a jail sentence: Just ninety-nine days till I can leave for college, and be done.

Day 4: A nasty note on my windshield makes it clear Julia isn’t finished. I’m expecting a fight when someone taps me on the shoulder, but it’s just Gabe, home from college and actually happy to see me. “For what it’s worth, Molly Barlow,” he says, “I’m really glad you’re back.”

Day 12: Gabe got me to come to this party, and I’m actually having fun. I think he’s about to kiss me—and that’s when I see Patrick. My Patrick, who’s supposed to be clear across the country. My Patrick, who’s never going to forgive me.

My Review:

2star

gif
I don’t know what happened here. I really enjoyed Katie Cotugno’s other book so I was really excited to get into this one. However, it was just a mess. It was honestly a terrible plot but it interested me. I was curious as to how it would all end with the main character. Cheating is always a hard topic to write about and it’s a precarious situation, especially if you cheat on your boyfriend with his brother! Okay, technically it wasn’t cheating since they broke up but it’s still the brother, you know? It also happened like 5 minutes after they broke. There’s got to be some ground rules about that haha.

The 3 main characters, whom this book revolves around, were all terrible people. I don’t understand how they have any friends to begin with! Julia was just the example of someone who makes mistakes and doesn’t learn from them. I don’t know what was going on in her head (even with 1st person POV), that she thought how she was acting was acceptable. Okay, she knew she was doing something wrong but then never really stopped it. Gabe.. come on! He’s your brother, why would you do that? Patrick was probably the most bearable, up until the plot twist that happened in the book. I honestly can’t believe he did what he did either. I don’t know, maybe Cotugno was trying to make a theme here? The only character I did like was Patrick’s current girlfriend. She was the only one who seemed sane in the town… Was there something in the water?

TL;DR: It was a messy plot with even messier characters who didn’t care about the feelings of friends and loved ones. I wish I could go back and not read this.

xoxo

About Anjie @ Love thy Shelf

Hello there -- call me Anjie! I made this book blog where I can put down all my bookish ramblings and talk to those who have the same interests!
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What's on Your Mind?

