Review: Half-Blood (Covenant #1) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

book review

half-blood

Half-Blood

Jennifer L. Armentrout
Covenant Book 1
281 Pages


Synopsis:

The Hematoi descend from the unions of gods and mortals, and the children of two Hematoi pure bloods have godlike powers. Children of Hematoi and mortals–well, not so much. Half-bloods only have two options: become trained Sentinels who hunt and kill daimons or become servants in the homes of the pures.

Seventeen-year-old Alexandria would rather risk her life fighting than waste it scrubbing toilets, but she may end up slumming it anyway. There are several rules that students at the Covenant must follow. Alex has problems with them all, but especially rule #1:Relationships between pures and halfs are forbidden. Unfortunately, she’s crushing hard on the totally hot pure-blood Aiden. But falling for Aiden isn’t her biggest problem–staying alive long enough to graduate the Covenant and become a Sentinel is.

If she fails in her duty, she faces a future worse than death or slavery: being turned into a daimon, and being hunted by Aiden. And that would kind of suck.


My Review:

4star

gif

My copy of Half-Blood had been sitting on my shelves for over 2 years now. Really bad. So I decided to finally give it a chance and lo and behold .. I really liked it! But why wouldn’t I? It had everything that I love: forbidden love, action, drama, Greek gods! It was great! However, as many people have already said about the book, it is very similar to The Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead. I won’t go too into detail in case you haven’t read TVA but the plot seemed very similar, along with the main character and some secondary characters. However, the more that the book progressed (probably the second half), you forget the similarities and Half-Blood becomes a book of its own. I honestly enjoyed Half-Blood more just because it was about Greek gods and not vampires.

Need covers itself with love, but need… need is never love. Always beware of the one who needs you. There is always a want behind a need, you see.

The main character was probably my biggest problem. It’s not that I didn’t like her. She was a very fierce and strong person, especially with everything that she went through before and during the book. I just didn’t like her impulsiveness and recklessness. It is the absolute opposite of me and it just really annoyed me because of course it would lead her to these consequences that could have been avoided. Anyway, that was honestly the only reason why I dropped a star. However, the great thing about it is that you can see how much she changed at the end. Um, I really love Aiden. JLA really knows how to make love interests very swoon worthy haha. He’s better than Dmitri (from Vampire Academy) in my opinion … and you know within appropriate age limits haha.

As for the plot, it was great and it had a good amount of surprises that I didn’t see coming. I thought that it was believable in the way that it progressed. I am really excited to see what is going to happen in the second book. Not just with Aiden and Alex but with the world, now with the new information on daimons. JLA’s writing is always great. She’s one of my favorites because her writing is so straightforward.

TL;DR: Half-Blood was an exciting start to the series filled with butt kicking characters, greek gods, and romance. While very similar to Mead’s Vampire Academy, it eventually has its own story that distinguishes from TVA.

xoxo

 

10 thoughts on “Review: Half-Blood (Covenant #1) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

  1. I have to say, I always get a little thrill (okay, a *big* thrill) any time I see a blog post that features anything by JLA. She’s a favorite – one of my go-to authors – so getting a chance to chat about her books with others is always fun. I actually just read Half-Blood earlier this year so I feel like I was kind of late to the game, too. 🙂 Unlike a lot of others, I’ve never read the Vampire Academy series so I had no issue with any comparisons between the two. Coincidentally, my only real issue with the book was the same as yours – main character Alex. I liked her, but… she made some seriously stupid decisions. I think Aiden referred to her as “foolishly brave” which seemed to sum her up. It was like, who cares that I have little training, who cares about the rules, who cares about common sense – I’m just going to run off and do this. But even so, I still got into the story and really enjoyed it. And I can’t wait to learn more about the connection with Seth. So glad you liked this one, Anjie, and I really enjoyed your review!

    Tanya @ GIRL PLUS BOOKS

    Liked by 1 person

What's on Your Mind?

