Review: Mortal Heart (His Fair Assassin #3) by Robin LaFevers

book review

Mortal Heart

Robin LaFevers
His Fair Assassin Book 3
444 Pages


Synopsis:

Annith has watched her gifted sisters at the convent come and go, carrying out their dark dealings in the name of St. Mortain, patiently awaiting her own turn to serve Death. But her worst fears are realized when she discovers she is being groomed by the abbess as a Seeress, to be forever sequestered in the rock and stone womb of the convent. Feeling sorely betrayed, Annith decides to strike out on her own.

She has spent her whole life training to be an assassin. Just because the convent has changed its mind doesn’t mean she has…


My Review:

5star

We are all of us, gods and mortals, made up of many pieces, some of them broken, some of them scarred, but none of them the total sum of who we are.

I am so glad that I had Mortal Heart on my shelves. By this book, I wasn’t worried about the fact that it was written in another POV since my worries were addressed in Dark Triumph. I dove into this one and pretty much read it until I finished the book. It was a fantastic ending to the trilogy. I really liked Annith’s story and how vastly different her experiences were from Ismae and Sybella. This book started before a lot of the events in Dark Triumph and Grave Mercy. I believe it started when Annith found out that Ismae was sent out before she was. I really liked that I could empathize with Annith. She was a great character and I loved her POV. She’s actually a lot like me so I really liked her. She was patient, obedient, sweet, caring, great with the younger handmaidens. (I still wish I was more like Ismae but whatever haha). I loved her faith to Mortain and I really enjoyed how different all the girls relationship with Mortain was!

I am beginning to think that love itself is never wrong. It is what love can drive people to do that is the problem.

Her story provided for a lot of surprises because her history had so many holes in it. But I am happy to tell you that they all get answered! They were some great plot twists, even though I did manage to guess some of them. I think the best plot twist was the one surrounding Balthazaar (hehe) .. which leads me to how much I enjoyed his character! Oh he was fun .. as fun as a hellion could get but I loved his sarcasm and wit .. and that plot twist! I liked their story and of course I am a huge fan of forbidden love. The writing was just as lovely and the plot progressed really well. There were some slow moments while Annith was in the forest but nothing that really hindered the story. We meet a lot of new characters and we see some of the old characters again (yay Ismae and Duval!). I think that the story really sums up the trilogy real well and it’s a satisfying ending … I mean, I want more but that’s just because I fell in love with the world LaFevers created.

TL;DR: Mortal Heart was a solid and very entertaining ending to the trilogy, filled with great surprises, drama, and swooning!

xoxo

 

2 thoughts on “Review: Mortal Heart (His Fair Assassin #3) by Robin LaFevers

  1. Ooh, lovely succinct review. I’ve read Grave Mercy and I quite enjoyed it, but was hesitant to pick up Dark Triumph and Mortal Heart because I didn’t know what to expect. This review gives me a sense of hope that it’s a good series – so maybe I will pick it up in the future. Thank you for the review! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

What's on Your Mind?

