Review: Dark Triumph (His Fair Assassin #2) by Robin LaFevers

book review

Dark Triumph

Robin LaFevers
His Fair Assassin Book 2
385 Pages


Synopsis:

The convent has returned Sybella to a life that nearly drove her mad. Her father’s rage and brutality are terrifying, and her brother’s love is equally monstrous. When she discovers an unexpected ally imprisoned in the dungeons, will a a daughter of Death find something other than vengeance to live for?


My Review:

5star

Hate cannot be fought with hate. Evil cannot be conquered by darkness. Only love has the power to conquer them both.

I’ve got to be honest. I really wasn’t looking forward to reading Dark Triumph when I found out that it was a companion book and written in Sybella’s point of view instead of Ismae. I was used to Ismae’s POV and I honestly loved her to pieces. However, I’m glad to inform you that I was wrong to wait it out because I loved this book too! While Grave Mercy is still my favorite, this was an equally fantastic sequel. You can tell the difference between the voices and Sybella has a more wild and darker tone than Ismae. I loved that she questioned the existence of Mortain and how it mirrors many believers. She is so different from Ismae (as you could tell from the beginning of Grave Mercy). I like that we get to know Sybella and her history, her past, and why she was so crazy in the first book.

I must have faith, but having faith is hard, so very much harder than despair.

I really like that the book kind of leaves off where the first one ended. Spoilers for Grave Mercy: it starts off with Sybella’s warning to Ismae when they brought Anne to Nantes to speak with Marshal Reiux. Sybella’s past was definitely the hardest when compared to the handmaidens. You learn that she is the “daughter” of the very hated D’Albret. Boy do I despise that man. He is disgusting and arrogant and a rapist. So many words to describe this despicable man. Him, Madame Dinan, and Marshall Reiux were such great villains though. Another character we meet in this book is Julian: Sybella’s not-really “half-brother” (you know since they had different moms and technically different dads). Hmm … it’s a love hate relationship with him. Well more like … like/hate. I don’t understand him. Just as the synopsis promises, we get to know Beast, which I didn’t expect to care for as much but look at me now haha.

The plot was fantastic and I like how it gets you excited for the next chapter. I liked that we met so many new characters and we get to see how the war was progressing. My main concern about this book was that we wouldn’t get any updates on Ismae and Duval (spoiler: especially with that proposal at the end of Grave Mercy!). But don’t worry! We get some great updates haha. But yes, I was really happy that we got to see everything that was going on but I still did miss Ismae’s point of view… and I always need more Duval!

TL;DR: Dark Triumph is a fantastic read, equal to that of Grave Mercy but with darker and … skeevy (is that even a word?! haha) undertones.

xoxo

About Anjie @ Love thy Shelf

Hello there -- call me Anjie! I made this book blog where I can put down all my bookish ramblings and talk to those who have the same interests!
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Review: Dark Triumph (His Fair Assassin #2) by Robin LaFevers

  1. Cate T. says:

    Sybella is more “adult” than Ismae and the protagonist of the 3rd book, Annith. Yes, that’s another companion sequel but it’s so worth it. Sybella and Ismae make appearances in that too but Annith’s journey is so different from her sisters.

    Liked by 1 person

What's on Your Mind?

