ARC Review: Defying Gravity (Finding Perfect #2) by Kendra Highley

book review

 

defying gravityDefying Gravity

Kendra Highley

Expected Publication: July 25, 2016
Finding Perfect Book 2
416 Pages


Synopsis:

Zoey Miller lives for her holidays in Aspen. Her time up on the mountain with the Madison brothers, Parker and Luke, is everything. But for the first time, it’s not enough. This time, she’s determined to win one of the brothers’ hearts.

But the brother she has in mind is a renowned player, with hordes of snow-bunnies following him around Snowmass resort. And the other…well, he’s her best friend and knows she deserves better. Namely him. And he’s going to win her heart.


My Review:

5star

I would like to thank the author and Entangled Teen for providing me with an Advanced Reader’s Copy of Defying Gravity! This in no way affected my opinion of the book.

I was beyond excited and happy to hear that Kendra Highley was publishing a second book to Finding Perfect! I was even more excited when I found out it was a story about Zoey and the Madison brothers. We got to know a lot about Zoey in the first book and one of the reasons why I loved the first book so much was because of her amazing relationship with Paige. I loved that we get to know her even more. She was just as I remembered but even better. We get to see inside her head. She’s not just the popular, chic, peppy girl but she’s sporty and down to earth. I hope that she lets those at her high school see that side of her because they would think she was even more cooler. As for the brothers … I fell in love with Parker! Seriously! I didn’t think that anyone would be better than Ben but wow. Parker was a lot like Zoey, athletic, loyal, funny, and humble. His humility and sole focus on Zoey are the main reasons why I liked him more than I liked Luke. In all honesty, I didn’t like Luke at all. Their athleticism and good looks were just about the only things they had in common. Luke was too much of a playboy and arrogant and just no.

Kendra’s writing was just as fantastic here. There were definitely moments of great swooning. I was really worried that it would be one of those bad love triangles but I actually really enjoyed it. The book was a lot of fun to read and I would give it 5 stars solely on entertainment value. It’s perfect for a summer read! The pacing was fantastic and I loved the storyline. I also loved the dual POVs! It was great to be able to see what was happening in Zoey’s end and what was happening between Parker and Luke. The relationships are fantastic and I really wanted to see more. I just don’t understand how Luke can be such a jerk to his kid brother but I don’t know … are all older brothers like that?! Anyway, we even get a little bit of Paige and Ben! I loved that Kendra squeezed them in! I was just smiling from ear to ear when they popped up. I also enjoyed the epilogue and I really wish that there was more. I don’t even care what the plot is, I just want more Parker haha!

Don’t forget to get your copy of Defying Gravity! It will be released on July 25, 2016!

xoxo

About Anjie @ Love thy Shelf

Hello there -- call me Anjie! I made this book blog where I can put down all my bookish ramblings and talk to those who have the same interests!
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What's on Your Mind?

