ARC Review: Forget Tomorrow (Forget Tomorrow #1) by Pintip Dunn

reviewForget Tomorrow

Author: Pintip Dunn
Publication Date: November 3, 2015
Published by: Entangled Crush
Format: 400 pages, Hardcover
Genre: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Romance
Pintip Dunn | Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes and Noble

Synopsis: Imagine a world where your destiny has already been decided…by your future self.

It’s Callie’s seventeenth birthday and, like everyone else, she’s eagerly awaiting her vision―a memory sent back in time to sculpt each citizen into the person they’re meant to be. A world-class swimmer. A renowned scientist.

Or in Callie’s case, a criminal.

In her vision, she sees herself murdering her gifted younger sister. Before she can process what it means, Callie is arrested and placed in Limbo―a prison for those destined to break the law. With the help of her childhood crush, Logan, a boy she hasn’t spoken to in five years, she escapes the hellish prison.

But on the run from her future, as well as the government, Callie sets in motion a chain of events that she hopes will change her fate. If not, she must figure out how to protect her sister from the biggest threat of all.

Callie herself.


Review:

gifBecause my copy was an ARC, it was unedited and could be different from the completed and published copy. Thank you to Netgalley and Entangled Teen for providing me with a copy. This is no way affected my review of the book.

I might be one of the few readers that rated Forget Tomorrow so low. I really didn’t want to. It had such great promise in my opinion but honestly confused me. I think that the writing needed some work to really explain the whole situation about sending memories from the past to the future and retrieving memories from the future. When the author tried explaining these concepts via the main character, Callie, I had to read it a couple of times and I eventually gave up on it because I still couldn’t understand what was going on. I do give bonus points in the imagination, intrigue, and complicated world. Time is a concept that is so hard to portray in books and I think with more fine tuning, this book could’ve achieved it. The world building definitely need an overhaul and it is the main reason that I didn’t enjoy the book. It was 400 pages but it failed to explain so many things about the society.

I’m always a fan of romance in books and I honestly enjoyed the relationship between Logan and Callie. I think it was one of the things that really kept me reading this book. I just really wanted to know what was going to happen with them. However, my issue was that they didn’t speak to each other for 5 years and they kind of get back together like nothing had changed and well .. you have 5 years of information to make up so I didn’t think that was believable. I also want to point out that a large part of the book focuses on this romance instead of what the synopsis promises: Callie trying to save her sister. Because of the focus on the romance, I felt that the ending was rushed (which is so weird because the book was really long). The explanation between Sender and Receiver was also sketchy and needed better wording. The ending did surprise me. It was a good plot twist and I was surprised that it was going to have sequels. As much as I want to say that I’ll continue reading the trilogy, I don’t think I will be picking up the next books.

xoxo

2 thoughts on “ARC Review: Forget Tomorrow (Forget Tomorrow #1) by Pintip Dunn

  1. I really agree with your points. I think I rated this book 3/5? but in hindsight, I would review this book lower. I liked the ideas a lot buuuuut, some parts were very tropey and didn’t enamor me. I agree with you when you say that this book puts too much on romance – it really overshadowed the themes of the book, which was such a big shame.
    Nonetheless, I might pick up the latter books though… I want to see what happens to the characters that are trying to run away from their fate! That got me very curious.

    Liked by 1 person

What's on Your Mind?

