ARC Review: This Raging Light by Estelle Laure

reviewThis Raging Light

Author: Estelle Laure
Publication Date: December 22, 2015
Published by: HMH Books for Young Readers
Format: 288 pages, Ebook
Genre: Young Adult, Drama, Romance
Estelle Laure | Goodreads | Amazon

Synopsis: Lucille Bennett is pushed into adulthood after her mom decides to “take a break”…from parenting, from responsibility, from Lucille and her little sister, Wren.  Left to cover for her absentee parents, Lucille thinks, “Wren and Lucille. Lucille and Wren. I will do whatever I have to. No one will pull us apart.”
Now is not the time for level-headed Lucille to fall in love. But love—messy, inconvenient love—is what she’s about to experience when she falls for Digby Jones, her best friend’s brother. With blazing longing that builds to a fever pitch, Estelle Laure’s soulful debut will keep readers hooked and hoping until the very last page.


Review:

gif

Because my copy was an ARC, it was unedited and could be different from the completed and published copy. For example, there was a change in character name from Mia to Ruby. Thank you to Netgalley for providing me with a copy. This is no way affected my review of the book.

This Raging Light was definitely an interesting read. It had a great plot and it was really devastating. We have 17-year-old Lucille who now has to take care of her younger sister after her father went crazy and her mom walked out on them. There were so many things that could have been done with this plot and I just didn’t think that it was executed in the best possible way. My main issue was with the writing style. It wasn’t my favorite. I think that if it was written in a different point of view instead of first person, I would have liked it. The first person point of view kind of drove me crazy because it made me not dislike the main character … a lot. I understand that she’s going through difficult times and she’s bound to have breakdowns but sometimes she acted really selfishly and annoying. I also know that it gets pointed out a lot that she’s dramatic but it frustrated to end. I also felt like it was so random. One minute she’ll be talking about the situation and then the next longing for Digby and then right after talking about his shoes. It was weird.

I didn’t feel like the characters were likeable, except for Wren, their neighbors and Lucille’s coworkers. So really, I didn’t feel like Lucille, Digby, and Eden were likeable. They were okay for characters but I didn’t really see the depth. I already talked about what I didn’t like about Lucille. She didn’t seem all that thankful for the help that Digby and Eden tried to give her (like watching Wren). As for Digby, well, he had a girlfriend at the same time that he was having those make out sessions with Lucille. All the while, Lucille was aware that he was in a relationship. I understand that he had conflicting feelings but that is still no way to treat your girlfriend. As for Eden, she was a great friend so far, up until she just stops talking or paying attention to Lucille without a decent explanation.

Last thing I want to talk about was the lack of a resolution. This book had so many different conflicts and the situation with Digby was the only one with a solid conclusion. There were things going on with Eden and it was barely solved. What happened to the mom? What’s going to happen with the dad? Does anyone notify the police or anything about the girls living situation? There were too many loose ends and like I said, it wasn’t executed the best way. There were so many ways that the plot could go and it focused on a love story that involved cheating.
xoxo

About Anjie @ Love thy Shelf

Hello there -- call me Anjie! I made this book blog where I can put down all my bookish ramblings and talk to those who have the same interests!
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What's on Your Mind?

