Review: End of Days (Penryn & the End of Days #3) by Susan Ee

reviewEnd of Days (Penryn and the End of Days #3)

Author: Susan Ee
Publication Date: May 12, 2015
Published by: Skyscape
Format: 331 pages, Paperback
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance, Post Apocalypse
Susan Ee | Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Nobles

Synopsis: End of Days is the explosive conclusion to Susan Ee’s bestselling Penryn & the End of Days trilogy. After a daring escape from the angels, Penryn and Raffe are on the run. They’re both desperate to find a doctor who can reverse the twisted changes inflicted by the angels on Raffe and Penryn’s sister. As they set off in search of answers, a startling revelation about Raffe’s past unleashes dark forces that threaten them all.

When the angels release an apocalyptic nightmare onto humans, both sides are set on a path toward war. As unlikely alliances form and strategies shift, who will emerge victorious? Forced to pick sides in the fight for control of the earthly realm, Raffe and Penryn must choose: Their own kind, or each other?


Review:

5starMy actual rating: 4.5 stars

gif

End of Days is a solid final installment for the Penryn series. I am really going to miss these books. It took me a while to get to End of Days and I really do regret it. It was so wonderful and the romance, oh my the romance. I am going to miss so many things about it. I’m especially going to miss Penryn and Raffe! I mean who wouldn’t right? I have to admit though that I knocked off half a star because the beginning was a little slow for me — except for chapter 5 because hot damn Raffe haha. It eventually picked up and I couldn’t put it down afterwards. It had everything you could ever want in a post/apocalyptic book: angels, demons, monsters, romance, action, comedy, and suspense. It was so much fun reading this book, I couldn’t put it down. I needed more after the end. I wanted an epilogue (but I always want an epilogue haha).

The characters were great as always. There weren’t any new main characters but I did have to read recaps because I forgot some of them haha. I really enjoyed the plot and the twists that Ee created! I did get confused by some of the plot and terms concerning Beliel. It’s hard to talk about it really without spoiling anything. I just know that at one point I actually felt sympathy towards Beliel! It was insane. I did tear up for him and his situation. I love Raffe’s band of angels. They were hilarious and very positive, considering their circumstance. Overall, my favorite thing about this book was the action and the romance. I cannot get over Penryn and Raffe’s relationship. Serious OTP. I was really worried every time they separated because World After spent a good chunk of them being apart. Don’t need that pain again haha.

I feel like End of Days was a solid ending to the series. It really was great and I liked how it ended. It answered most of the questions and it didn’t leave me wondering what is to come. I mean it does but it’s not like it was open ended. At the same time, it wasn’t like it was all tied up neatly and wrapped in a bow, which I like. It totally fits because you can’t have everything go back to normal after a couple of days or months after the war. Post apocalyptic situations do not take short periods of time to mend and go back to normal. So I think that the ending was very believable. I can’t wait for more books by Susan Ee.
xoxo

What's on Your Mind?

