Review: The Crown (The Selection #5) by Kiera Cass

reviewThe Crown (The Selection #5)

Author: Kiera Cass
Publication Date: May 03, 2016
Published by: HarperTeen
Format: 279 pages, Hardcover
Genre: Young Adult, Dystopian
Kiera Cass | Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Nobles

The Selection | The Elite | The One | The Heir | Happily Ever After

Synopsis: When Eadlyn became the first princess of Illéa to hold her own Selection, she didn’t think she would fall in love with any of her thirty-five suitors. She spent the first few weeks of the competition counting down the days until she could send them all home. But as events at the palace force Eadlyn even further into the spotlight, she realizes that she might not be content remaining alone.

Eadlyn still isn’t sure she’ll find the fairytale ending her parents did twenty years ago. But sometimes the heart has a way of surprising you…and soon Eadlyn must make a choice that feels more impossible—and more important—than she ever imagined.


Review:

gifWell, that was honestly a letdown for the ending of the series. I think I still accept The One as the official ending for the series. I enjoyed The Heir a lot more than this one. I think what I enjoyed most here was seeing the changes that Eadlyn made for herself after her own brother practically called her out on her terrible attitude. I’m going to keep this review short and sweet, kind of what I felt like Cass did in The Crown. For the non-spoilery part of this review, let me just say that this book was too convenient. Coming from the aftermath of Queen America’s heart attack, Eadlyn feels that she should cut down her Selection to the Elite. That’s fine, really. But then all of sudden these guys are conveniently dropping like flies. By doing so, we hardly see any relationship progression or character development for Eadlyn and some of the more important guys in the Selection.

I felt like the plot was too messy, going over ways that the plot could go but never really sticking to one. There was America’s heart attack, her Selection, the emergence of Marid, Eadlyn having to become the reagent leader, the situation with Ahren. It grazed over each of the situations but never fleshing out any of the details. It was really frustrating because there were so many things that Cass could have done with each side plot but it all fell flat. Even in the romance with the person that Eadlyn eventually chooses fell flat for me. You can see that she tried to progress their relationship nicely but it still did nothing for me. I felt nothing. I wanted her to end up with someone else honestly. I was also really annoyed that she introduced a side plot villain within the last -what?- 20 pages and then resolves it then, too? Again, too convenient. I just expected a lot more from me, especially give what she’s done with her other books. I was really disappointed. Don’t even get me started on the lack of Maxerica in the book.

gifAs for the spoilers (WARNING! SPOILERS AHEAD): I have no problem with Eadlyn ending up with Erik. He’s a good enough guy. But Henri, who’s been madly in love with her, finds out about it and was like alright, this is cool. I ship you guys. Can you smell the convenience? I really wanted it to be Kile haha. Anyway, convenience plot number two: how do you reduce the number of elite? Make them fall for each other! Kill two stones with one bird right? I was actually really shocked with the Ean and Hale revelation. I really wished that the Marid side plot got more attention. It was probably the most interesting for me in the book and what saved it for me in ratings. I mean Marid was just genius and cunning! But then again, we didn’t get to know just how cunning because it was resolved like 5 pages later. Boring AF! The ending was pathetic, too. It was like Eadlyn said screw the rules, I choose Erik, we’ll vote Prime Ministers. Bye guys! I would’ve loved an epilogue!

One of the best things in this book: Maxon telling Eadlyn about his scars and why he received them. I choked back some tears when he talked about the last ones he received. Remember?!?! The whipping that he took so that America wouldn’t be on the end of his dad’s wrath!??! That one!! *gross sobbing* Seriously, I love Maxon. I wish there were more marriage moments between Maxerica than we were given! I felt robbed! Haha. No but seriously, I wish that Cass gave us an epilogue to really wrap up this series. I wish it didn’t end the way that it did.

xoxo

What's on Your Mind?

