Movie Review: Me Before You

movie reviewMe Before You

Directed by: Thea Sharrock
Produced by: Alison Owen, Karen Rosenfelt
Screenplay by: Jojo Moyes
Based On: Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

Release Date: June 03, 2016
Starring: Emilia Clarke, Sam Claflin, Janet McTeer, Charles Dancem Brendan Coyle
Running Time: 110 minutes
Production Company: Sunswept Entertainment, Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer, New Line Cinema
Distributed By:
Warner Bros. Pictures


My Review:

5star

tumblr_o24a6qw0GH1ut2o4so4_500I can’t tell you how happy I am to see this book turn into a movie. I can’t tell you how happy I am that the adaptation was done so well. I can’t begin to even explain how I feel. I just know that I want to watch this again … and again, and again, and again until I am sick of seeing Sam Claflin’s face… which is never because who would get tired of the beautiful face and dimple! Let me start with the casting. I think that Emilia Clarke was a wonderful choice for Louisa and definitely did justice to her quirky, chatty character. She was expressive and emotional. *Yay! Daenerys! Queen of the Dragons!* If you couldn’t already tell, I adored Sam Claflin! I have ever since I first saw him in Pirates! His acting is so multi-dimensional. I love how he morphed completely into Will Traynor. I’ve seen him in many different roles and he makes them all unique. Nowhere in the movie did I see him and think oh my gosh that’s Finnick Odair! Their chemistry was also spot on! I love them on and off screen!

maxresdefaultmby-06736rv2_emilia-clarke-sam-claflin-me-before-you-zoom-7018b052-38d1-415e-8b43-1b1403f68608Me-Before-You-Soundtrack

I’m going to be honest, there a number of scenes and details that are not in the movie. One of them in particular wasn’t in there and was even brought up by Jojo Moyes. It was about Louisa’s history of sexual assault. I think that it was such an important part of who Louisa was and why she chose to stay where she was. However, Moyes did explain that every time that they tried to put it in the movie, it was out of place and didn’t end well. She was in charge of the screenplay and as the author, she was okay with that so I guess I should be too. The movie was still fantastic without that detail. There are a few other things that weren’t there but didn’t affect the film that much. I think that the pacing was better in the film than the book. It was easier to see the time lapse on screen with the different scenes than in the book where it just mentions that weeks have passed. Oh! How could I forget! The best thing about this movie (other than Sam <3) would have to be Louisa’s outfits! OH MY! They were perfectly quirky, perfectly Lou. Emilia made them look so amazing and cute! I wanted all her outfits haha

tumblr_o4n3woTG9x1vpsuouo1_500It was so much fun seeing the book come to life! It made me laugh and it made me cry. Boy did it make me cry haha. I enjoyed the soundtrack, as well. I mean come on! You saw the trailer when Photograph by Ed Sheeran comes on! Ugh! Hurts my heart. Anyway, I think the bumblebee tights was my favorite scene. Reading her reaction is so much different than actually seeing it. It made the scene so much better. I was laughing so much at Patrick’s reaction and then crying because that moment was so sweet and all the thought that Will put it in. Ha! And the part when he tells Patrick that she gives a good sponge bath! It was so fantastic. I absolutely love, love, love this movie! I can’t wait for the DVD to see behind the scenes and everything. If you’re a fan of the book, you should definitely see it. If you haven’t read the book, read it or watch it first. It doesn’t matter which you do first but you should do it! #LiveBoldy hehe

sgfh*CRIES FOREVER* GROSS SOBBING* WILLLLLLLLLLL *

untitledHaha, I just wanted to add that one of Sam Claflin in the bumblebee tights. He’s too perfect. Seriously, he’s my fave for life. Then I remember that he’s married. >.> Lucky wife 😛

xoxo

 

4 thoughts on “Movie Review: Me Before You

    • Haha I almost waited until the DVD but I just couldn’t! I needed to see it and it was worth all the crying I did in the theatre because I wasn’t alone. During the calmer scenes, I looked around me and everyone was crying haha. Thank you! I hope you enjoyed it as much as I did, if not more! Don’t forget tissues! Haha

      Like

What's on Your Mind?

