Review: Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

reviewMe Before You

Author: Jojo Moyes
Publication Date: December 31, 2012
Published by: Bloomsbury
Format: 369 pages, Hardcover
Genre: Adult Fiction, Contemporary, Drama
Jojo Moyes| Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Nobles

Synopsis: Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.

What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane.

Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that.

What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time.


Review:

gifI first encountered this book a couple of years ago when it started gaining some momentum in the book world. However, after reading the synopsis, I didn’t think it was for me, especially since that time I was on a sci-fi/fantasy binge. Fast forward to present-day and the film adaptation is coming out in a week. I honestly forgot all about this book and didn’t know what it was about but I saw that Sam Claflin (Finnick!) and Emilia Clarke (Daenarys!) were staring and I had to watch it. So of course, that meant that I had to read it. I watched the trailer right before I read, big mistake. I was crying so hard when Photograph by Ed Sheeran started playing and that was how I started reading this book, in a pool of my own tears.
gif
I was honestly surprised by how much I loved this book. It is without a doubt the most beautiful, heart-wrenching, tragic, and uplifting book I’ve ever read. It made me laugh and it made me cry (boy did it ever make me cry haha). But most importantly, it made me think. Moyes highlights so many heavy topics in this  book that it’s hard not to assess your own beliefs regarding such topics. I enjoyed all of the characters and they were a blast to get to know. I especially loved Lou. I saw a lot of myself in her. She was spunky and hesitant to change and new experiences but she gradually changes when she starts to work for Will. I fell in love with Will Traynor! I was so devastated about his decision and while I understood it, I didn’t want to accept it haha. I cried so much. Seriously. My eyes were swollen for work the next day. It was bad.
gif
I think that this book will really surprise readers. It is marketed as a love story but it is so much more than that. Actually, the love story is pretty small in comparison to the big picture. It’s about life and death and choices. It’s about family and friendship and love. It covers so many topics, it’s fantastic! The only complaint I have, which isn’t much, is the tiny language barrier. Nothing wrong with it but the author is British and there are some British lingo but like I said, it isn’t much. I’m not going to rate it lower just because of it. Me Before You is a must read and I am beyond excited to watch it on the screen. You should watch the trailer!


gif

xoxo

About Anjie @ Love thy Shelf

Hello there -- call me Anjie! I made this book blog where I can put down all my bookish ramblings and talk to those who have the same interests!
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Review: Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

  1. Thank you! Ah! Are you going to read the book first or watch the film?

    Like

  2. I almost cried while watching the trailer, so I think I’m going to cry even more while I read the book. Strangely, I can’t wait, haha. Great review! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. rosemawrites says:

    I can relate! in every word, in ever line! GEEZ!!! I gave out a lot of tears for this book, too!

    Liked by 1 person

What's on Your Mind?

