Review: The Duff: Designated Ugly Fat Friend by Kody Keplinger

reviewThe Duff: Designated Ugly Fat Friend

Author: Kody Keplinger
Publication Date: September 7, 2010
Published by: Little Brown/Poppy
Format: 280 pages, Paperback
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Kody Keplinger | Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Nobles

Synopsis: Seventeen-year-old Bianca Piper is cynical and loyal, and she doesn’t think she’s the prettiest of her friends by a long shot. She’s also way too smart to fall for the charms of man-slut and slimy school hottie Wesley Rush. In fact, Bianca hates him. And when he nicknames her “the Duff,” she throws her Coke in his face.

But things aren’t so great at home right now, and Bianca is desperate for a distraction. She ends up kissing Wesley. Worse, she likes it. Eager for escape, Bianca throws herself into a closeted enemies-with-benefits relationship with him.

Until it all goes horribly awry. It turns out Wesley isn’t such a bad listener, and his life is pretty screwed up, too. Suddenly Bianca realizes with absolute horror that she’s falling for the guy she thought she hated more than anyone.


Review:

DuffI was really skeptic about reading this one since my friend didn’t like it. However, I did see the movie a couple of weeks back and frankly really enjoyed it. It made me laugh … a lot! So that got me really excited to read the book. However, after a couple of chapters in, it was obvious that the movie and the book were two completely different entities. And separating them, I still really liked this book. I can’t give it five stars because it wasn’t perfect and while I did enjoy the story, the characters didn’t really stick to me. The entertainment value was totally high. I was up all night reading it and it was the first thing I grabbed this morning when I woke up. I wanted to know how the story ended and yes, it is totally cliché but I didn’t care. Cliché works sometimes and it worked this time. I knew she was going to end up falling for Wesley (I mean it says so in the back) but I enjoyed watching how it all unraveled.

Even though the characters didn’t stick with me, I understood Bianca. I am a lot like her. I can’t say that I’d sleep with someone as a way to relieve stress and for distractions (that’s what books are for) but everything else made sense to me. She distanced herself from her best friends and uses “I’m fine” and even I know that that line is a lie haha. She was embarrassed of being called the Duff and embarrassed of the situation in her house and she kept it from her best friends. I understand why she would and I understand why she didn’t want to talk about it. So because of that connection between us, I think it helped me enjoy the book even more. As for Wesley, I like his character’s growth and he was that typical womanizer-type of young adult character and I didn’t mind it too much. Overall, the book was really enjoyable even though I liked the movie even more (most likely because Robbie Amell cause damn, you’ve seen Robbie Amell right?! — just enjoy that gif and you’re welcome)

amell

xoxo

About Anjie @ Love thy Shelf

Hello there -- call me Anjie! I made this book blog where I can put down all my bookish ramblings and talk to those who have the same interests!
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What's on Your Mind?

