Ten Books I Picked Up On A Whim

tttHello bookworms! I’m back for this week’s Top Ten Tuesday! I hope all of you are having a great week and I know it’s been a while but I’m trying to continue blogging. It’s finally summer vacation for college and I have some more time :D. Anyway, Top Ten Tuesday is a meme created by the wonderful bloggers over at The Broke and The Bookish! Make sure you head over there, check out their blog, give them a follow, and even sign up to do TTT on your blog! This week’s topic is Ten Books I Picked Up on a Whim ! Now we all might have a different definition of what it means to pick up a book on a whim. For me, books that I pick up on a whim means that they were not recommended to me nor did I read reviews about it. They are books that caught my attention, either because of their cover or the synopsis.


Ten Books I Picked Up on a Whim

Throne of Glass(1) Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas! This was obviously a very good whim! I remember reading the synopsis and already knowing that I would like it. 5 books later and it’s one of my favorite series! If I hadn’t picked it up, I probably wouldn’t be reading and loving SJM’s other series, A Court of Thorns and Roses.

grave mercy(2) Grave Mercy by Ronin LaFevers. Can you sense a theme going with female assassins? I picked this one up before I read Throne of Glass. It was actually the reason why I picked up ToG, I needed an assassin fix. I love that Grave Mercy is connected to real history of Brittany. It was such a great read and full of action!

pledge(3) The Pledge by Kimberly Derting. I can’t remember exactly why I bought this but it doesn’t even matter. I loved it! It was a great trilogy and so different since it was language that separated the world instead of money. It was really interesting.

angelfall(4) Angelfall by Susan Ee. I also had a thing for fallen angels and Nephilim, so I picked this up. I didn’t know that it ran on the darker side of paranormal. It freaked me out honestly but I still loved it. I still haven’t read the third book but I just bought, so I’m halfway there.

unearthly

(5) Unearthly by Cynthia Hand. Another angel book. This book gave me the first book hangover ever! It was the longest summer haha. It was also the first time I was on the wrong side of a love triangle. Totally painful.

200px-Angelfire_Moulton(6) Angelfire by Courtney Allison Moulton. Seriously I was obsessed about angels and this was the first angel book I read after reading Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick. I loved these books! It had action, plot, romance, the whole shebang!

Hunger games

(7) The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. I don’t know why I picked these up either but I’m glad that I did. I picked them up way before a film was announced and that was a long while ago.

percy jackson(8) The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan. This one’s easy. I picked this up because I love Greek mythology and saw a huge sign at Borders (old school) about it. It was right when the first movie was coming out and I knew I had to read it!

lux-series(9) Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout. Holy. C. R. A. P. I don’t know why I picked it up considering it was about aliens — not my thing. But boy was I glad I picked it up. I never would have met my Daemon Black! I just love this series so much! I read it all in one week and when I finished, I reread it haha

goddess test(10) Goddess Test by Aimee Carter! I found out it was Greek myth and I was a goner. I ate up this series. I love the new take on Hades and a different twist to Greek myth fiction! It was so fun to read and ugh, did I mention I love Hades? Because I did after reading this book (and also after reading ACOMAF since Rhys was like a parallel of Hades haha).

What books did you guys pick up on a whim? Did you end up liking them like I liked mine? Do we have any in common? Let me know below and don’t forget to link up!

xoxo

 

About Anjie @ Love thy Shelf

Hello there -- call me Anjie! I made this book blog where I can put down all my bookish ramblings and talk to those who have the same interests!
This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Ten Books I Picked Up On A Whim

  1. I also picked up The Hunger Games on a whim, I love those books! Awesome list, thank you for sharing ^_^

    Brittany @ Brittany’s Book Rambles

    Like

  2. Throne of Glass was on my list this week too. You have some great “whim” books on here.
    My TTT: https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2016/05/17/top-ten-tuesday-57/

    Like

  3. Eep, I’m not a big Sarah J. Maas fan but I’m glad you’re enjoying her stories; I quite like her writing style. I also read the whole Hunger Games trilogy before it got super popular – I think I liked the movies better though as a whole!

    Here’s my list. 🙂

    Like

  4. Daemon Black is definitely hard to resist. I wasn’t sure at fist either, but it’s a great series for sure. Great list, Anjie. 🙂
    My TTT

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Yay for vacation! Lots of time for reading!

    I hardly ever pick up books on a whim any more. It’s kind of a shame, but I have come not to trust anything I haven’t read reviews for – haha!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. You picked up some awesome books on a whim. I LOVE Throne of Glass, although I got to that just after book two came out and had heard great things beforehand. I really want to read Angelfall, I own the whole series so I really have no excuse now haha. Great list 🙂 You can check out my post here.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Lois says:

    I absolutely adore some of the books on your list. Grave Mercy sounds like the kind of book I’d love. I mean assassins and history, sign me up! I also LOVE Angelfall and I love how dark the series is and that the angels are warriors instead of the typical bad boy/cute cherub.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I have read Grave Mercy. Good book. Need to read the others. Adding The Pledge to the ports for plunder list! Nice post.
    x The Captain

    Liked by 1 person

  9. _giovannard says:

    Great Top Ten. Surprisingly, The Hunger Games was also kind of a whim for me too. I’m not so sure I would have picked it up for myself, but it came for free on my Nook, way back when. Once I read it, I HAD to have the other books! 😀
    My TTT!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. So many amazing books on this list! I also picked p Grave Mercy on a whim and goodness me am I glad I did – that series is one of my all time favourites now! And I’m glad to hear you enjoyed Angelfire, I’ve got that on my e-reader to get to at some point so I definitely feel more encouraged now!!

    Here’s my TTT!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. OMG Borders was the best. I never actually bought any books though, I just sat and read XD Obsidian is definitely amazing! I still need to read Origin but I have it on my shelf… soon I will come back for Daemon 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Great list ! I’ve read most of them and a part from Angelfire did I really love them !

    My TTT

    Liked by 1 person

  13. rosemawrites says:

    ooh! nice list, Angie! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  14. lenoreo says:

    I haven’t read past Angelfall , even though I loved that book! It was probably a whim for me too, b/c it was shortly after I got my Kindle and was immersed into reading whatever I could get my hands on. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Glad to hear you liked TOG! I haven’t read this series yet, but heard tons of great things about it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  16. ChrissiReads says:

    Wow. You’ve picked up some amazing books on a whim 🙂 I loved the Unearthly trilogy!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Yes! I love the Goddess Test series so much!!!

    Liked by 1 person

What's on Your Mind?

