Review: A Court of Mist and Fury (ACOTAR #2) by Sarah J. Maas

reviewA Court of Mist and Fury

Author: Sarah J. Maas
Publication Date: May 3, 2016
Published by: Bloomsbury
Format: 624 pages, Hardcover
Genre: New Adult, Fantasy, Romance, Paranormal
Sarah J. Maas| Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Nobles

A Court of Thorns and Roses Review

Synopsis: Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.


Review:

4star

Where do I even begin? I haven’t written a review in a while so forgive the mess! Oh my goodness! Can I love Sarah J. Maas even more than before? The answer is yes! I know, I know. Then why the four stars? I promise I’ll explain. Just because I knocked off a start doesn’t mean I loved the book any less. It’s one of my favorites this year (also to be fair, I haven’t read that many books this year). Either way, it stood out from other books that I have read and I definitely enjoyed it way more than I did the first book. I hate to start with the negative for me but I’ll get it out of the way. The writing was great, in my opinion. I’ve never had a problem with her writing. SJM’s world building is fantastic and flawless. I love how she interweaves all the stories together, all the while talking about the other courts. Oh talking about courts! I fell in love with the Night Court. I thought Spring Court was beautiful but Night Court was just indescribable! The only problem I had with the writing (worth one whole star) was the graphic love scenes. Don’t get me wrong, there’s nothing wrong with having them in the book but all the detail and the way it was written was totally unnecessary. It read like a fanfic, basically. I finished reading one and then turn the page for another one, and I just wanted the plot to continue already. I understand that it was important for that specific relationship but again, it could have been done more tastefully.

The plot was one of  my favorite things about this book! I loved how it flowed and how it kept surprising me. I couldn’t get enough of it! Along with that, the characters. Oh my gosh! I read reviews before writing mine and I saw so many people had problems with Tamlin in this book. I did, too, for different reasons. Many feel like his behavior in this book was very extreme and out of character. I completely disagree. He really pissed me off in this book with his paranoia, obsession, and over protectiveness. Many of his actions in the first book were indicative of this progression but since we we’re reading it through Feyre’s POV, I feel like we overlooked it like she did. As for Rhysand, I wasn’t surprised with who he really was once we got to know him and the Night Court. I actually guessed it while reading ACOTAR and I absolutely love it and him! We also got to meet a whole load of new characters and I loved them, especially Rhys’s Court: Mor, Amren, Cassian, and Azriel. I don’t think you’ll be disappointed in this book but then again, I am biased.

Now to the fun, spoiler part! If you haven’t read ACOMAF, I suggest that you stop reading 😀


I need to fangirl so much! I don’t know where to start! Okay, I do know where to start. Ships! When I finished ACOTAR, I was totally Feyre and Tamlin because that’s what we were given. We had the flirtatious banter with Feyre and Rhysand but it never really progressed anywhere because Feyre gifwas totally Tamlin-focused.

However, ACOMAF totally changed that! Tamlin goes crazy guys. I mean that gif on the left was me the entire time! He was crazy! I was screaming spousal/domestic abuse right when the book started. He kept her down and forced her into this 1950s role of what a wife should be and even locked her in the mansion! How could he do that?! After all the imprisonment she went through! Don’t get me started! I don’t know what his issue was but he didn’t even take care of Feyre anymore, just had sex with her. Enter Rhysand!!!!   gif

Rhysand is perfect! He was exactly what I thought he was by the end of ACOTAR. He’s got the heart of pure gold. He’s crafty, genius, sexy, hilarious, caring, and everything else. He saved Feyre, saved her from Tamlin, from herself, from her nightmares. He fed her, took care of her, gave her the option to choose, didn’t hold her back. It was wonderful. Yay for feminist Rhys! His relationship with his court was even better. You can tell how great of a leader he is because of his court and his people! He endured being Amarantha’s sex slave so that his city of Velaris could be kept at peace and his people safe! gifGuys! Guys! Guys! I was right!!! Remember Rhys disappearing real quick at the end of ACOTAR? It was because they mated! Officially mated! I screamed so hard when the Suriel told Feyre this! I was dying of happiness. They both deserved happiness and they fit each other’s personality very well. Tamlin or any other person wouldn’t have the experience to handle what Feyre is going through. Rhys went through torment and sacrifice as much as Feyre so it made sense. But oh my gosh guys! I love it. I’m so glad that my ship sailed but I honestly didn’t need all that sex haha. She could’ve just implied and left it to the imagination and I would’ve been fine with it. But anyway, I love them and in the end when Rhys just casually lets everyone know that he made her High Lady of the Night Court! AHHHHHH!!!! *Dead* When I read that, I just remembered Tamlin saying that there’s no such thing as a high lady. In your face! Prick!

As for the plot, oh my gosh guys! When Tamlin and Lucien walk out and you find out he was working with Hybern just to get Feyre back, I just flipped. gifI can’t believe he did that, that he basically led all the faeries and humans to their death because he believed that Feyre belonged to him. I wanted to murder him. And Jurian is back and I can’t even right now. That entire scene had me on edge! I thought that Azriel was going to die and then Cassian’s wings and Mor’s reaction and Amren’s insistence that Rhys get Feyre from Tamlin. I’m not even forming correct sentences. I love the Night Court squad so much! If any of them die, I swear it’s the end of SJM and me (probably not but I will lose it haha). The ending wasn’t exactly a cliffhanger but for now my babies are safe and alive but Rhys and Feyre aren’t together and that’s not okay. It’s also not okay that I have to wait an entire before the next books.

xoxo

About Anjie @ Love thy Shelf

Hello there -- call me Anjie! I made this book blog where I can put down all my bookish ramblings and talk to those who have the same interests!
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Review: A Court of Mist and Fury (ACOTAR #2) by Sarah J. Maas

  1. Pingback: Reread Review: A Court of Mist and Fury (ACOTAR #2) by Sarah J. Maas | Love thy Shelf

  2. Amazing review! I was a Feyre and Tamlin shipper, and I was so shocked by Tamlin in ACOMAF, as it felt like he was pretty out of character. Same, I literally squealed when the suriel said they were mated. What do you think is going to happen in the next book?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! Really? I thought it made sense, especially with what he went through with Amarantha. He had no control over that situation and he didn’t like it. So now he’s even more controlling. He was kind of controlling in the first book, too but I think I ignored it as much as Feyre did haha. If you were a Feyre/Tamlin shipper, how do you feel now about Feyre/Rhys?

      I’m so excited for the next book! I’m so worried though because so many things can happen. I don’t want any of the Night court to get killed! I’m also worried because I know Tamlin will try to sleep with Feyre haha, what’s she gonna do? What is Rhys gonna do haha. As for Jurian and king of Hybern, I don’t know what will happen. How about you?

      Liked by 1 person

      • I agree, it makes sense that Tamlin would change, but shouldn’t parts of his personality still remain? I’m not sure, since I’ve never learnt psychology. 😛 Tamlin is really is a really dedicated high lord, and I don’t know if it makes sense for him to risk the safety of his people by working with the King of Hybern just for Feyre. But this is just my opinion. 🙂 I do love Feyre/Rhys though. I find their romance really beautiful, and their mutual respect and understanding is awesome!
        I have no idea what Feyre’s going to do, but I know she’ll survive! The King of Hybern will definitely wiggle his way into Prythian, and it won’t be nice when he does. >.<

        Liked by 1 person

        • Haha xD I learned psychology and how trauma affects you is different for everyone and how Tamlin reacted is a definite possibility. I’m not calling him a terrible guy because he made a deal with the King of Hybern. I think he was desperate and overcompensating and not thinking clearly. I think that he really thought Feyre was in danger and he actually wanted to do something about it unlike his lack of actions in ACOTAR. I mean Feyre made a deal with Rhys in the first book even though she thought he was evil haha. Yeah, I liked that Maas didn’t make it like a love triangle. Feyre got over her feelings for Tamlin and first became friends with Rhys (hah he got out of the friend zone xD). I hope that the next book will have dual POVs!

          Liked by 1 person

          • Ooh dual POVs would be so cool! Thank you for explaining the psychology stuff to me, it’s very interesting! Hahaha yeah Rhys got it out of the friend zone, which is pretty awesome because a lot of the guys who were in the friend zone at the start of a series/novel never get out of it. 😀

            Like

What's on Your Mind?

