Review: The Distance Between Us by Kasie West

reviewThe Distance Between Us

Author: Kasie West
Publication Date: July 2, 2013
Published by: HarperTeen
Format: 312 pages, Paperback
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Kasie West | Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Nobles

Synopsis: Seventeen-year-old Caymen Meyers studies the rich like her own personal science experiment, and after years of observation she’s pretty sure they’re only good for one thing—spending money on useless stuff, like the porcelain dolls in her mother’s shop.

So when Xander Spence walks into the store to pick up a doll for his grandmother, it only takes one glance for Caymen to figure out he’s oozing rich. Despite his charming ways and that he’s one of the first people who actually gets her, she’s smart enough to know his interest won’t last. Because if there’s one thing she’s learned from her mother’s warnings, it’s that the rich have a short attention span. But Xander keeps coming around, despite her best efforts to scare him off. And much to her dismay, she’s beginning to enjoy his company.

She knows her mom can’t find out—she wouldn’t approve. She’d much rather Caymen hang out with the local rocker who hasn’t been raised by money. But just when Xander’s attention and loyalty are about to convince Caymen that being rich isn’t a character flaw, she finds out that money is a much bigger part of their relationship than she’d ever realized. And that Xander’s not the only one she should’ve been worried about.


Review:

gif

I might be going on a Kasie West binge. I don’t know! Her books are so addicting. I wasn’t as impressed with Distance Between Us as much as I was with The Fill-In Boyfriend. This isn’t to say that I didn’t enjoy it because I absolutely did! The plot with this book was nothing I haven’t seen before but there were some plot twists that I didn’t see coming. The story and the relationship between Caymen and Xander progressed well and I thought that it was believable. I think that is what I enjoy most about West’s books! They are so believeable and when I read them, I feel like I’m reading a friend’s diary (so not cool, I would never do that). I genuinely enjoy the easy writing and the flow of the chapters. It makes it fun to read an honestly, it was so relaxing. One thing that did bother me was the deep hatred for rich people. Okay, some are bad and what happened to Caymen’s mom was unfair but you have rich clients that are super sweet and they’re blind to it.

Actually, another thing that bothered me about the plot was how the progression of it was similar to The Fill-In Boyfriend. Two different stories but following similar outlines. They meet, they don’t like each other that way, then grow as friends and then it becomes deeper (with some added drama from outside forces), then within the last couple of pages MAJOR drama hits. After all that, it gets resolved within a couple of pages with characters the forgive real quickly and easily. Then the end. (Sorry for that run-on sentence earlier). But basically, that’s what it felt like. The end was tied up perfectly but didn’t have enough scenes in it to feel like a final ending.

I really liked Caymen as a character. I like her development and I love her sarcasm throughout the book. I love how literally nobody was safe from her sarcasm. She really loved her mom and was willing to sacrifice parts of her future for the sake of her mom and the doll store. Xander was great, too. I could see how Caymen would think that he was one of those spoiled, posh, rich kids but I could also tell that there was some bias with Caymen’s observations of him. I like how their relationship developed and how easy going it was. At some points, I wish that they were more honest and open with each other but then that would have cleared out the drama and there would be no point haha.

Overall, I really enjoyed it and it was a great read. I just wished that the ending had more of a refinement. Instead, it sounded like West was trying to just finish it as soon as possible. There were some cool plot twists that I gotta say really surprised me, especially when it came to the banquet. That was probably the climatic height in the story. I just wish that it happened earlier or that there was a lot more after that scene.

xoxo

About Anjie @ Love thy Shelf

Hello there -- call me Anjie! I made this book blog where I can put down all my bookish ramblings and talk to those who have the same interests!
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Review: The Distance Between Us by Kasie West

  1. Lois says:

    I’ve been on a contemporary kick recently and this sounds like the kind of book I’d enjoy. I’m all for sarcastic characters so I feel like I’d get along with Caymen. It does sounds like the book struggles with timing and pacing and I don’t particularly like rushed endings but I’m willing to give this book a shot. Great review. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. hey, you wrote the wrong title 😉 I really enjoyed that book, too ! It’s as you said, it’s believable ! And the sarcasm, aaah, I love it !

    Liked by 1 person

What's on Your Mind?

