Book Talk: Shadowhunters, ACOMAF, & Snape

book talk

Good evening! We’re almost at the end of the week and I hope you’re having a great one! Today, I wanted to talk about a couple of things that happened this week. If you didn’t know, Freeform (formerly ABC Family) premiered the first episode of Shadowhunters based on popular book series The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare this past Tuesday (01/12). Earlier today, two things happened: (1)  Bloomsbury released the cover of the highly anticipated sequel of A Court of Thorns and Roses and (2) the confirmed passing of the beloved actor who portrayed professor Severus Snape in the Harry Potter film series.

Shadowhunters Mini Review

shadowhunters

If you haven’t read City of Bones by Cassandra Clare, then I totally recommend it. The series was a fun read and had some great twists. A couple of years ago (or was it last year?) City of Bones was adapted as a film and despite a large fan base following, it didn’t perform as well as we wanted. However, this past year, it was greenlighted to be adapted as a TV Series titled Shadowhunters with a completely new cast and new script. I watched the premiere the day that it was released and I had pretty low expectations because I was not a fan of the movie adaptation and I wasn’t too fond of the new casting. I really liked the actors in the film that portrayed Clary, Izzy, Alec, Luke, and Magnus.

I tried to keep my mind open to the new cast and to be honest, it wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be! So I guess, that’s a good thing haha. It’s not an exact adaptation of the book and they did change certain aspects and certain personalities. For example, Luke doesn’t own a bookstore in the show. Instead, they made him a police officer. They also changed Dorothea into a younger warlock by the name of Dot. Along with that, they added extra scenes that occurred outside of Clary’s point of view in the book. I welcomed those scenes because it totally helps out the non-readers get a firmer grasp of the story and the characters.

I also saw the second episode because it was available on the Freeform App. I think that the storyline is more or less going great and it’s hooking me in. I believe that the biggest hurdle that the show faces is the acting. My biggest peeve came with Katherine McNamara’s performance. Her portrayal of Clary was pretty straightforward but certain scenes caused me to cringe because of her acting. Hopefully it’s something that improves as the series progresses. I absolutely love Dominic Sherwood as Jace, more than Jamie Campbell Bower for sure! I love that his wit and egotism showed in the first episode but I felt like he was a bit too nice compared to the Jace we read in the books haha. Also, don’t get me started on how gorgeous he and Matthew Daddario (Alec) are! I’m also not completely sold on Emeraude Toubia as Izzy and Harry Shum Jr as Magnus.

What did you think of the Shadowhunters premiere? Are you going to stick with it or ditch it? Did you like the changes or hated them? What do you think of the cast?

 

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas Cover Reveal

acomaf

Ooh! Look at the beauty!! I love the color (blue is my favorite if you didn’t know). Feyre looks like she’s about to get in a fight haha. Maybe she’s about to slap the crap out of Rhysand, which wouldn’t exactly be surprising considering the events in ACOTAR haha. I really hope that SJM starts to give us some teasers for the book. May cannot come soon enough! A Court of Mist and Fury will be released on May 3, 2016!

What do you think of the cover???

 

Alan Rickman passes away at 69

alan rickman

Today is an absolutely tragic day for fans of Harry Potter and actor Alan Rickman. I believe I saw that he died from cancer and I am beyond sad upon hearing the news. He was such an amazing actor and it was because of his portrayal of Professor Severus Snape that made me love the character even more. I was really sad when I opened my Instagram this morning at work and saw the news. I literally teared up at work. It’s never an easy thing losing a family member and I just hope that his family have some peace during such a hard time.

xoxo

11 thoughts on “Book Talk: Shadowhunters, ACOMAF, & Snape

  1. I will always watch anything Shadowhunter related…even if my minds super against it. I think I was in the minority of people who actually liked the movie – I loved the choices in who played the characters because they really fit with what I imagined when I read the book. The ending was a bit dragged out and far fetched in the movie but I still enjoyed it. I was disappointed when they weren’t going to make the rest of them into movies because they could have built something huge, but then was excited to find they were creating the show instead.
    Sadly i was a little disappointed because they changed so much of it but I’ll still watch it all and hope it gets better.
    I hate that the Institute was made into this modern crazy place as apposed to this historical, quiet hide out for the remaining Shadowhunters!
    Anyway fingers crossed I can learn to love what they’ve created 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah I get you, I would’ve watch it anyway haha. I loved TMI so I was for sure going to watch it. I hope they make TID into something, a show or a movie. I need my real life Will Herondale! I like that they have a show because they can add al of the details they missed out in the movie. They can also add scenes that we don’t really see in the book but know happen, like Jocelyn’s kidnapping and so on. But I was disappointed in the minor changes that end up being something big. Izzy was too nice and wasn’t that fiery, zesty fighter in the book. Alec was mean enough haha. I also thought that Jace was too nice to Clary. He was such a jerk in the beginning and I wanted more of his witty comebacks and comments. I totally agree with the modern institute and so many people there! Wasn’t it just the Lightwoods, Jace and Hodge living there? But we’ll see how the rest of the series goes.

      Like

      • Oh I really hope they haven’t cut out the ‘Hodge’ type character from the series…he was a big part of it all!
        I’m going to keep watching it because I still love TMI. We can keep each other updated on what we think as the show progresses 🙂

        Like

  2. It’s so heartbreaking about Alan Rickman 😦 I enjoyed Shadowhunters, oddly. I went in expecting to hate Magnus, but I kind of fell in love with him. I haven’t seen the second episode yet, but I loved Clary in the first one, I thought she was cast well. I do get annoyed about plot changes, like Dot, but some were definitely needed 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I wasn’t sold on Magnus yet but that’s because I absolutely adored Godfrey Gao in the movie and it’s not like we saw that much of Magnus anyway. Hopefully it changes when we see him more. I like her as Clary but there was a scene in particular where I was like “oh no, this acting won’t do”. It was the scene towards the end where Simon finds her at the institute and Jace was killing that guy in the Circle and Clary was watching all horrified. I especially didn’t like that they changed some personalities like Izzy was a lot meaner to Clary when they met and so was Alec and Jace honestly lol. And in the book Jocelyn never wanted Clary to be a part of the world and in the show she gives her a stele. But I’m still looking forward to it

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I was so shocked to hear about Alan Rickman’s passing 😦

    The first 2 eps of Shadowhunters were already better than the movie for me so I’ll be sticking around for more! There’s still major issues with the dialogue but at least we get super adorable Simon 😄

    Like

  4. I did like Shadowhunters, though Kat as Clary was cringeworthy… it was a huge no on that front for me, her acting is just not natural. I did love Simon though, what did you think of Alberto as Simon? All in all I can see the potential for the series to get better, and that’s way more than could be said about that awful movie ;).
    ACOMAF cover is so gorgeous!!!

    Like

What's on Your Mind?

