Review: Winter (The Lunar Chronicles #4) by Marissa Meyer


Winter (The Lunar Chronicles #4)
Author: Marissa Meyer
Publication Date: Noveber 10, 2015
Published by: Feiwel and Friends
Format: 827 pages, Hardcover
Genre: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Fairy Tale Retelling
Marissa Meyer | Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Cinder Review | Scarlet Review | Cress Review | Fairest Review


My Rating:

Summary:

Princess Winter is admired by the Lunar people for her grace and kindness, and despite the scars that mar her face, her beauty is said to be even more breathtaking than that of her stepmother, Queen Levana.

Winter despises her stepmother, and knows Levana won’t approve of her feelings for her childhood friend—the handsome palace guard, Jacin. But Winter isn’t as weak as Levana believes her to be and she’s been undermining her stepmother’s wishes for years. Together with the cyborg mechanic, Cinder, and her allies, Winter might even have the power to launch a revolution and win a war that’s been raging for far too long.

Can Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, and Winter defeat Levana and find their happily ever afters?

My Review:

gif

I think that the length of the book really affected my rating. I think that I had higher expectations and wanted certain things to happen, which didn’t. I wish that the ending had bit more kick to it. Winter was a real rollercoaster ride. When I say rollercoaster, I really mean it. There was so much excitement where you think that,  finally, our beloved characters will come out on top and prevail, and then it does a 180 and it feels like they’re all captured. Then the cycle repeats. It was mostly fast paced but there were some scenes that I was either bored in or felt were unnecessary to the progression to the book.

The best thing about the book (for me) were the relationships, and not only the romantic ones. I always enjoy Cinder and Kai and I was glad to see them together when they’ve been apart since Scarlet. I love the respect that Kai has for Cinder and the dedication he has about helping her win her throne back! After them, I’d have to say I enjoyed Cinder and Thorne’s relationship the most. What a friendship! I loved their friendship when they first got together in Scarlet and I loved watching it grow. I also loved Cress and Thorne! They were too adorable! I’d have to say the same for Winter and Jacin. I can care less about Wolf and Scarlet and their super intense instalove relationship … pass.

I also really enjoyed Iko and Cinder. Pretty much Cinder with every other character. The friendship and loyalty there is just beautiful. Thorne and Iko were probably the funniest– no they were the funniest! I love their comebacks and hilarious little comments. I love Thorne’s ability to find the positive and optimism in their dark circumstances. I really enjoyed getting to know more about Jacin and Winter. However, I wish that Winter had a bigger, stronger, fighter-like role in the books, rather than just the crazy and beloved princess.

** SPOILERS AHEAD FOR WINTER**

Memorable Moments: There is this one particular scene that is just beyond memorable to me and it was fantastic and Cinder kicks butt! It was probably the best scene for me! Cinder just turned super powerful and defeated all those Thurmatages. It was the Cinder I was waiting for this entire series! I wish it never ended haha. There were many other great scenes, mostly involving Cinder or Cress, like the end battle with Cinder, Cress, and Thorne! Ugh! I was freaking out so much. I just really wished that we got Kai’s point of view somewhere along there. I didn’t like the gap where Cinder got knocked out and when she woke up. We just get a little recap from the others about what happened but I would’ve preferred witnessing/reading it firsthand than the characters’ retelling.

My Verdict: Buy, Borrow, or Skip?

buy

xoxo

About Anjie @ Love thy Shelf

Hello there -- call me Anjie! I made this book blog where I can put down all my bookish ramblings and talk to those who have the same interests!
This entry was posted in Other, Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Review: Winter (The Lunar Chronicles #4) by Marissa Meyer

  1. I really need to get around and review this book. So many things happen, I don’t know where to start!

    Like

  2. Danni Mae says:

    I can’t wait to read Winter! I got it this Christmas and it’s been patiently waiting for me to get less busy. So glad Iko plays a bigger part, too!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nerdybirdy @ Daydreaming Books says:

    The little factors affected my rating as well, I just wanted to see a bit more scenes of the characters together rather than some filler chapters. Nonetheless, great review Angie! Welcome back and wish you a very Haaappy New Year! 😀

    Like

  4. maggiexmay says:

    I love your review on this book. Thanks for posting!

    Like

What's on Your Mind?

