Goodbye 2015! Hello 2016!

Page 1 of 365

Hello Bookworms! Woah! It’s not a trick. It’s really me! I’ve been gone for a full month now. I pretty much disappeared from the blog world for a while and didn’t even tell you why. However, knowing the smart bookworms that you are, I’m sure you gathered that I was a busy bee these past few months! You’re right! I didn’t even get to read a single book in December. So that also means it was one of the most stressful months I’ve experienced in a while. You don’t even know how many times I broke down this past month. There are a couple of reasons for this: Christmas shopping, college finals, and a new job. This year I started a tutoring job at my university which meant I actually had the means to buy presents for people. Talk about stressful. Along with that, it was finals time for my students at work. They were naturally stressed and I had to create study guides and reviews to help them. None of that would’ve been as bad had I not started my second job. I started working at the hospital as a unit clerk and boy is it stressful. Training was hell and so have been the couple of days I’ve had to work afterwards. I think I cried after each shift. I’m trying to be more positive about it and I’m working really hard to be good at it but it’s still hard when it’s not the job you really want. So that has been my life in the past month.

Resolutions

Do you set New Year Resolutions? I do every year and I usually follow through half the year and then forget about them in the second half of the year. The thing is, I never really set them in stone so towards the middle of the year, it’s like they never existed. I try to set realistic ones that I can actually follow through on. Every year, I also participate in the Goodreads Reading Challenge! Last year, I pledged to read 50 books and I read 89 books! I was really excited about that. This year, considering my two jobs, I pledged only 30 books. We’ll see how that goes!

My other Resolutions:

  1. Run at least 100 miles by the end of the year
  2. Be more positive and thankful
  3. Complete She Reads Truth “The Bible in A Year” plan
  4. Be more vocal about my faith
  5. Go to church more

My list isn’t extensive at all but I think it’s a good start. I might add throughout the year but we’ll see. Numbers 4 and 5 are really important to me actually. It’s something that I have on my resolutions list every year and every year, I get better at it. Sometimes I feel like I can’t openly express my faith without fear of being judged or oppressed but I just have to fight through it and do it. As for church, this past year, I know I didn’t go as much as I wanted and it has affected me spiritually. Any other updates in my life? Um, I’m currently reading Live, Love, Lead: Your Best is Yet to Come by Hillsong Lead Pastor Brian Houston. And oh! I got a label maker! *much wow, very excite* I know, I know … you wish you were me right now!

Do you set resolutions? If you do, what are they? If you don’t, why not? Let me know below!

xoxo

5 thoughts on “Goodbye 2015! Hello 2016!

  1. I hope things get better for you, Anjie. Sounded like things were crazy for a while.
    But, I really like your resolutions! I definitely want to read the bible this year, too. 🙂
    Olivia @ Fluttering Pages

    Like

  2. Pingback: 2017 Resolutions!! | Love thy Shelf

What's on Your Mind?

