Review: Happily Ever After (The Selection #0.4, 0.5, 2.5, 2.6) by Kiera Cass


Happily Ever After (The Selection #0.4, 0.5, 2.5, 2.6)
Author: Kiera Cass
Publication Date: October 13, 2015
Published by: HarperTeen
Format: 416 pages, Hardcover
Genre: Young Adult, Dystopian, Romance
Kiera CassGoodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

The Selection Review |The Elite Review |The One Review | The Heir Review


My Rating:

Contents:

The Queen
The Prince
The Guard
The Favorite
Scenes from Celeste {The Arrival, The Kiss, The Departure}
The Maid
After The One
Where are they Now?
Sneak Peek at The Siren
Illustrations & Map if Illea!

My Review:

gif

If you don’t know me, you should know this at least. I love Kiera Cass and I love anything related to The Selection. It is one of my guilty pleasures and I was über (I’m learning German haha) excited with the announcement of Happily Ever After. I really loved The Prince when it first came out but it was paparback and it did not match the rest of the series! I’m so happy that they published a hardcover with all the short stories all together! Wunderbar (wonderful)!!

This book was so fun and short since it was separated as … you know … short stories. It added great insight to some beloved characters. The Queen‘s story was really frustrating for me because I still can’t believe it I guess. Amberly was so fantastic, so I was glad to see her side of the story but I just can’t understand Clarkson. It’s pretty much the cycle of aggression. I also really enjoyed Kiera’s little note before the short stories, I wish she wrote more of them haha. I already read it but I adored The Prince, probably my favorite one! I mean, how surprised are you really? I love seeing more of Maxon and how they went about choosing the Selected. I also loved the couple of scenes with America in Maxon’s point of view!

I already read The Guard and I was more than okay with skipping it. More Aspen? Pass. His point of view just angers me. He angers me. Moving on. I also didn’t really love The Maid just because it involved Aspen. Haha. Sorry, not sorry? The Favorite was probably the hardest one to go through. It was so emotionally heavy. It starts right off where Marlee and Carter are caught together in The Elite and your heart just breaks a little for their story. I was more than excited for Celeste’s stories! I couldn’t believe where her story went in The One and I really wanted more from her. It was totally worth it! The Kiss and The Departure were definitely better than The Arrival but it was still really great to read. The illustrations were fantastic and beautiful and I love the image in the back of the book. Plus there was a map! A MAP! I LOVE maps!!

Memorable Moments: I think that my favorite parts about this book was that we got to see Maxon and America through a different set of eyes! I am always down for reading more about Maxon and America’s love story but I love seeing it from a 3rd point of view. I love seeing how much they love each other and that everyone else can see it, too! Other than The Prince, my favorite would be … The Favorite haha!

xoxo

About Anjie @ Love thy Shelf

Hello there -- call me Anjie! I made this book blog where I can put down all my bookish ramblings and talk to those who have the same interests!
This entry was posted in Other, Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Review: Happily Ever After (The Selection #0.4, 0.5, 2.5, 2.6) by Kiera Cass

  1. Pingback: October in Review | Love thy Shelf

  2. bookloverfob says:

    I agree, he’s not too likeable. Who’s Meredith? X

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I hope that you enjoy it!! I agree, there’s just something about him that’s not likable haha

    Like

  4. I just got this book in the mail and I’m SO excited! I’m not an Aspen fan either.. something about him just bugs me! I’m glad you loved the book though!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. bookloverfob says:

    Great review! I thought pretty much the same. But what’s wrong with Aspen? 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! I just couldn’t stick to him. I didn’t like how he treated Meredith in the Selection when they first broke up because of his pride. Then I didn’t like that he was there during the trilogy, putting Meredith at risk of being discovered like Marlee and Carter. I don’t hate him now but I still don’t like his POV.

      Like

What's on Your Mind?

