Book Talk: Blogging and Adulting

booktalk

Good morning guys (morning for me, at least)! I wanted to discuss today something that I’m sure all of us can somehow relate to. As you might have noticed, I haven’t really been present in the blog world in the past week because I’ve been too busy adulting.

Adulting (v): to do grown up things and hold responsibilities such as, a 9-5 job, a mortgage/rent, a car payment, or anything else that makes one think of grown ups.

MTMwNDAxMjAxMDAxOTA4MjM0Β Adulting

It has been such a crazy week that I haven’t had time to read, blog, eat, or even sleep. I’m having a really hard time balancing real world and blog world right now — it’s not even funny. Because of work, I haven’t been able to read. Since I haven’t read, I haven’t posted up reviews. Along with that, I seem to have hit a blogging slump. I literally cannot think of ideas for posts. Even if I did, I haven’t had time to actually make a post and then respond to comments. It’s not stressing me out per se but I do feel bad that I’m not posting consistently.

G6wdASk

My job is also pretty inconsistent. It had gotten so hectic this semester! Sometimes I work from 11am-4pm and sometimes I’m there 9am-9pm. Every Monday-Friday, I wake up at 6am to take my brothers to school, then take a nap before going to work. Get home, eat dinner because I didn’t have time (or money) to eat the rest of the day. Shower. Read up for my job. Try to read a book but then notice that it’s almost 2am and I have to sleep. Then the cycle starts all over again. When the weekend comes, I have to do laundry and catch up on house chores. I also feel like I’m just catching up on sleep. I feel like I’m tired 24/7.

i-need-an-adult-its-too-hard-doing-all-the-adulting-for-yourself-f17ea 1036108c1e4354068ebcd542cedb60cc

I also hate that even though I have a job, I’m still constantly broke. Like what? Do you know how long it’s been since I’ve had a book haul?!? Since May! 4 months and I’ve bought 1 book. ONE. *cries*

Tips on Balancing Blogging andΒ Real-World

635727513534732144523454547_Adulting Header

This is the part where I give you tips on how to balance reading, blogging, and the responsibilities of the real world. And this is where I tell you that I don’t have any lol. Obviously my techniques aren’t working. So I’m really asking you for any tips.Β I have a planner and for a while that helped me plan out what to post and when but now that I’m in a blogging slump, that hasn’t really helped.

So my question to you is: How do you balance blogging/reading and adult or student responsibilities? Adults aren’t the only ones who are busy. As a recent graduate, I know it’s also hard having to balance studying for exam and doing homework and blogging. What are some tips that you have? πŸ˜€Β 

Thank you guys! I also want to thank you for your patience. My blog has been pretty void this month. I didn’t even have time to do Top Ten Tuesday today because I haven’t seen what books are coming out in the fall. No list, no TTT. So thank you, thank you, thank you, for sticking with me!

xoxo

31 thoughts on “Book Talk: Blogging and Adulting

  1. I totally understand your situation, as I’m in the same case! It’s so hard to balance life, responsabilities, and blogging. I don’t know if I will help, but I will try πŸ™‚
    What is working for me these weeks, is dedicating periods of time to blogging. In every day, I take a few minutes simply to scroll down on blogs and see what’s happening. In every week, I try to take an hour at least -more, when times allows me to- to write some blog posts and plan some of them. Of course, your life is more important than blogging, but, when things get hectic, I find that blogging, simply doing a break of five minutes to read blog posts, or write down an idea, relaxes me a little bit. As for reading, I’m trying to do the same. I reward myself with some pages of reading after work, or right after I finish some, adulting, haha πŸ™‚
    I hope this helps a little bit, and no worries, we’ll still be here even if you can’t post as much πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  2. oh Anjie… adulting sucks sometimes! right?

    I think that you need to let it settle down, once you get into the new routine it will become easier for you. And don’t stress yourself out if you can’t read or review books everyday/week, because I’m sure this is just a rough patch. the being broke thing is another issue entirely, and it sucks big time 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Anjie my lovely friend! Sending huge amounts of hugs and love to you right now! It seems like so many of us bloggers have been struggling with juggling life and blogging and reading and whatnot lately! It’s horrible!
    I’d like to say that my advice is probably to get to the root of the problem. What has been causing you the most stress or what has altered that has in turn affected your other parts of life such as blogging? And while you tackle the root of the problem, give yourself a much needed time off from other things e.g blogging. Like, honestly it’s okay if you go inactive for a while we love you so much that we’ll be right here when you get back!!
    ❀❀❀❀❀❀❀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aww thanks Josie! Yeah, balancing and prioritizing takes a lot of work. I think that I’m just not used to all this work time. I didn’t get as much as hours before and I’d have a day off in the week. Now I work everyday and I get so tired lol. Sometimes I want my students to cancel but at the same time it’s like I need the money LOL. I don’t think I can do a hiatus, I’d miss it so much. I’d end up doing a hiatus like you haha

      Liked by 1 person

  4. My number one piece of advice would be to be kind to yourself! Life sounds like it’s really stressful for you right now, so it’s important to take some time to just relax. The reason you’re not having any ideas for blogs is probably down to feeling generally burnt out. It happens to all of us. I think a really important part of building a balanced life is to make time to just do nothing. You need to recharge before you can start throwing energy at something!

    That said, when I get super busy, something I try to do is plan my non-work time out really carefully. I give myself an hour after work to do nothing and then two-three hours to work on whatever writing project I’ve decided to focus on that day. It sounds really boring, but sometimes taking the time the night before to plan out the following day can be so unbelievably helpful. And with the money for books thing – try your local library! Where I live you can order books that they don’t have if they’re in circulation somewhere.

    I hope everything starts to get better soon. I get the feeling that quite a few of us book bloggers are new to the world of adulting. So don’t worry – we understand what you’re going through πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I am suffering from this whole adulting thing as well and it is just…bleh. My blog has taken a huge hit because much like most people, I just haven’t had as much time to read as I would like and that means I am not able to keep up on posts which is incredibly frustrating. Hopefully you’re able to find that sense of balance that you’re looking for, it sadly will just take time.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh Anjie! your life sounds really hectic and stressful. I think you should definitely take a break and relax. If you really miss the blogoshpere checking all the updates once a week is enough or you can create your own blogging schedule. I hope everyhing gets better soon and We’ll always be here for you whenever you come back. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  7. You do have a hell of a schedule. I’m still living with my parents, but I do some chores and have a job. For reading, I read before going to bed. At the very least. For blogging, I don’t have an advice. I try to post at least 2 posts per week. If I can. If I can’t well, it can wait. But I’ll soon have my own apartment (yay !) so I know it will be more complicated too.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. This post is SO relevant to my life right now. In August I started a new job in a new city, this month I moved, and working 40+ hours a week and maintaining a blog is HARD (I totally get what you mean about being tired ALL the time). My blog has taken a hit in terms of how often I can post as well, although I’ve been able to stay semi-decent with reading (I always keep a book with me at work so I can squeeze in some reading time at lunch everyday). However, if it’s any consolation you’ve still seemed very active on GR and Twitter to me, and if you can’t find the time/energy to blog, being able to find the time to keep active on other social media sites is still an achievement! I think once we settle more into “adulting” we’ll be able to get into a more consistent routine with scheduling blog posts.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That is an insane schedule you’ve got! I bring a book to work with me, too during breaks! Yeah, I try to keep active in social media at least. I hope that I can at least list once a week. Hopefully we get adjusted to our new schedules soon and get back to posting in the blogosphere πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Pingback: The Pastry Book Tag | panda hearts books

What's on Your Mind?

