Review: Heir of Fire (Throne of Glass #3) by Sarah J. Maas


Heir of Fire (Throne of Glass #3)
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Expected publication: September 2, 2014
Published by: Bloomsbury
Format: 562 pages, Hardcover
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy
Sarah J. Maas | Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

The Assassin’s Blade Review | Throne of Glass Review | Crown of Midnight Review 


My Rating:

5star

My Summary:

After another tragedy and betrayal befalls Celaena Sardothien, she finds herself in the new and mysterious land of Wendlyn, the land of Fae Queen Maeve — her aunt. There she is forced to train with Rowan Whitethorn and live with Demi-Fae before Maeve even decides to help her on her quest to destroy the wyrdkeys. However, darkness threatens to take over her world and she must choose to stand and fight. Doing so will force her to look into the past and confront everything that she has worked so hard to forget.

My Review:

Just like my other Throne of Glass Series reviews, Heir of Fire is a reread for me and I was really excited to write up my real review instead of a “I-can’t-stand-Chaol-and-his-actions rant” that my original Goodreads review has haha. Warning: There will be spoilers for the first 2 books of the series & some spoilers for Heir of Fire.

gif

Plot/Concept: SJM does it again! I don’t know how! This book is just so insane! I don’t even know where to begin. The plot alone was amazing enough. The direction that SJM is taking the series is just perfect and unexpected. I love we got to see a whole other world in Wendlyn. I love seeing just rulers in the world haha. I love seeing magic being used. Heir is definitely my favorite so far. The plot in Adarlan was just as amazing. You see more of the rebel movement in play and we’re introduced to so many new characters! I’ll talk about my favorite new characters a little later. SJM puts in some great plot twists that you wouldn’t see coming and that ending. Ugh, my heart still hurts from it. You have no idea.

Writing: I’ve always been a fan of SJM’s writing and I feel like it’s gotten better with each book. I really enjoyed her prose here and the world building, character development, and Celaena’s history, they were all so wonderful. You can clearly tell that there was a lot of planning in writing HoF! Everything connected and made sense. The character additions and changes in point of view were done flawlessly. Reading certain parts of the book were definitely more enjoyable the second time around. There really isn’t much else to say about the writing. SJM has been very consistent with her writing, her prose, and the imagery are just so great. She has a way to beautifully writing the romance but then takes this 180-degree turn to describe the blood-curdling things that go bump in the night. 

Characters: Like I said earlier, we got a whole bunch of new people. Let’s start with the veterans. Celaena’s story here is just so heartbreaking. Seeing her mourning and dealing with the loss of Nehemia hurt so much. Her death opened up the metaphorical box where Celaena pushed down all her emotions until it all spilled out and she was left dealing with like 8 years of repressed guilt, shame, regret, hate, hurt, and anger. It was hard to read how low she got and how devastated she was — to the point of suicide.

Dorian is probably one of the lesser developed characters but he does show growth here. He shows the traits of a king worth following. He takes the backseat in this book where a lot of his scenes were focused on his budding romance with Sorscha. Either way, I still ate it up. I love him haha. He has some really fantastic scenes though. And I can’t talk about Dorian without talking about Chaol. You know, Chaol who’s supposed to be his best friend but spends most of the time avoiding Dor. Chaol was an even bigger headache here than he was in CoM. My main issue with him here is his struggle to pick a side because he’s too afraid.

Aedion and Rowan were both great additions. They’re both very interesting and fierce. I love Aedion’s absolute loyalty to Aelin and to his people. I love Rowan’s ferocity and refusal to baby Celaena. That doesn’t mean I was okay with him randomly beating her up for no reason. If he hits her during training, then fine but not because she said something that bugged you. After Rowan & Celaena form their friendship, I ended up loving him. I can’t wait to see what happens when Aedion and Rowan meet.

The last POV added in this novel is Manon, an Ironteeth Witch. To be honest, when I first read HoF, I skipped her parts. However, knowing that Manon would play a big role in book 5, I made sure I read each part haha. It turns out, I really liked her point of view. I love the story with the wyverns, the Crochan witches, and the other Ironteeth clans. I can’t wait to see more of her in Queen of Shadows.

Memorable Moments: My absolute favorite part of this book is the scene towards the end where Celaena is fighting the Valg princes. This is where Celaena is peeled to her core. She’s vulnerable and you just see the truth that she has hidden all along. I was so glad to get more information about her life before Throne of Glass and The Assassin’s Blade. I wish that we had a book about her life before, not because she’s was a cool kid or something, but because her parents’ and uncle’s court were so amazing. I wish we could meet them all personally. That scene was so intense and emotionally heavy. The tears were real, people.

My favorite quote is said by none other than my Prince Dorian Havilliard to Chaol.

“She was not becoming anything different-2

My Verdict: Buy, Borrow, or Skip?

buy

xoxo

About Anjie @ Love thy Shelf

Hello there -- call me Anjie! I made this book blog where I can put down all my bookish ramblings and talk to those who have the same interests!
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Review: Heir of Fire (Throne of Glass #3) by Sarah J. Maas

  1. Pingback: Review (2 of 2): Queen of Shadows (Throne of Glass #4) by Sarah J. Maas | Love thy Shelf

  2. Pingback: Review (1 of 2): Queen of Shadows (Throne of Glass #4) by Sarah J. Maas | Love thy Shelf

  3. I only hear great things about this series. I really need to read them! Thanks for the great review!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. It’s good so far 😀 a lot of stuff has happened already haha. The group is in Goodreads, it’s called Queen of Shdows Buddy Read #AEJreadsQoS. The link is here. It would be awesome if you joined 😀

    Like

  5. What a fantastic review! So refreshing, I love your format and everything. I read HoF and loved it as well, so I was really interested to see what you had to say about it. I was definitely intrigued by Manon’s POV, but I really didn’t understand the purpose. I am definitely eager to get my hands on a copy of Queen o Shadows, how about you?
    -Amy

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much! Yes, I didn’t understand her purpose the first time I read it. Now, I’m thinking her POV is there so that we can see what the king has been planning behind the scenes. We knew from the previous books that his soldiers would go missing in the white fang mountains — where they’ve been breeding wyverns. She will definitely be important in QoS since she’s now the wing leader for the king against Aelin.
      I’m really excited for QoS! I just started it the other day actually. A group of us are doing a read along! You should join us 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  6. HEIR OF FIRE.SKDFJLSDFJ. I love these books so much. I love love love Rowan! And Manon’s POV is awesome!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Josephine says:

    Oh gosh I just started crying after reading this! This reread has just caused me to love the series so much.
    Can you imagine when Rowan and Aedion meet?! It’s going to be full of tension I reckon! With the blood oath and both of their dedication to protecting Aelin.
    And I am so happy that you liked Manon’s POV, I ended up crying in many of the Manon scenes this time around. And the scene with Celaena and the Valg princes… Oh lordy! My emotionssssssssss.
    Wonderful review 💋

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ahhh yesss, this reread reminded me so much why I loved the series.
      Haha I can’t wait to read about the tension!!
      YES! Manon’s scenes were pretty good. I love Abraxos .. oh and when they kill the Crochan witch. I was totally hoping Manon wouldn’t kill her lol
      Thank you!!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. alleydies says:

    I can’t wait to read this series. Hopefully I will before 2015 ends. 🙂

    I’m glad you liked it. :))

    Liked by 1 person

What's on Your Mind?

