ARC Review: Shattered Blue (The Light Trilogy #1) by Lauren Bird Horowitz


Shattered Blue (The Light Trilogy #1)
Author: Lauren Bird Horowitz
Expected publication: September 15, 2015
Published by: Skyscape
Format: 336 pages, Paperback
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance
Lauren Bird Horowitz | Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

**I received an eBook copy of Shattered Blue through Netgalley in exchange for my honest opinion.**


My Rating:

My Summary:

Noa is struggling with the death of her older sister and life has become mundane … that is until she meets the new student of Harlow: Callum. He’s mysterious and when he’s around her, there’s this crack of energy between them. She’s intrigued by him and discovers that he is Fae, banished from his world Aurora after the death of his own sister. However, in order for Callum to survive in our world, he needs to feed on the “Light” from mortals — their happiness. They soon realize that someone else from Aurora has found their way to Noa’s world and has wreaked havoc. When Callum is kidnapped, Noa is forced to team up with an unexpected ally in order to save him.

My Review:

gif

I don’t have halves in my rating but officially, I’d rate Shattered Blue a 3.5 out of 5 stars. It’s a good book and a solid beginning. However, it does need some improvement when it comes to the plot and the characters. Through the first half of the book it was readable but it didn’t captivate me right away. It was around 60% of the book where it really peaked my interest. The story does eventually capture you and it is a solid foundation/start to a great trilogy. I fully recommend it because from how the second half of the book was written, you can tell that it will get better.

Plot/Concept: The plot was okay at first. I really couldn’t figure where it was going and how the author was going about it. It was a little shaky in the beginning but developed into something better. It was more fine-tuned towards the end. The book started with the romance arc and it wasn’t my favorite. It was very instantaneous and Callum was kind of stalker-ish but towards the end you kind of understand why he was so quick to fall for her. A great thing about the plot is that the author sneaks in a few plot twists that just really surprise you. Those twists really helped with the rating. The concept, however, was fantastic. I really enjoyed it. I haven’t read too many Fae novels and separating their powers and abilities by color was definitely new to me. I look forward to more information about the world of Aurora and the clear versus colored Fae.

Writing: The writing did take a while for me to get into. It just wasn’t my style. I also didn’t understand the random capitalization of certain words. I wasn’t sure if it was to emphasize a point or to capitalize on an event because it only happened in the beginning of the novel. Poems also are not my forte but I do like the addition of them. They help with the characterization of Noa and added more depth to her personality. I also had some trouble with the switching of the perspectives. Most of the time it was fine but other times I did have to check back to see who’s point of view I was reading. But like the plot, it does get better throughout the novel.

In conjunction with the concept, I thought that the world building was great. You can tell that she really outlined and planned the world. There was Aurora’s interesting history, clear definitions of what powers each colored Fae possessed, and the different positions within the world (like the Hunter and the Gatekeeper). It’s not perfect but it was really defined and I know that we’ll see more of the world in the coming books, especially about Aurora!

Characters: The characters are hit or miss in this book. Noa is very one-dimensional for a main character — that’s why I thought her poems helped out a bit. She wasn’t too likable for me. I just think our personalities don’t match up. Don’t get me wrong, she’s a great sister to Sasha and a pretty good friend but she was kind of weak. She felt like a typical damsel in distress story, which I was kind of disappointed with. I was also hoping that she’d have better development in the story, where she gains strength and confidence but I didn’t really see that. She was very impulsive and didn’t think things through. With how the book ended, I’m hoping that we see a different and stronger side of her in the coming books.

As for Callum, I don’t understand why Noa is interested in him — maybe he really is that cute but he came off as bland for me. He’s got an okay personality but his character does get a little deeper towards the end. Like I said earlier, I didn’t enjoy their romance. It didn’t feel believable to me and it didn’t have a real spark to it. I also felt that the first love triangle (yup, there’s two) was unnecessary. The second one was actually pretty well written, that I’ll have to say. I enjoyed that one far better because it was unexpected and more believable. 
gif

My absolute favorite thing about this book is Judah. If the author created the other characters with as much depth and brilliance that she did with Judah, I think that this book would’ve been a lot better. Judah is amazing and I can’t wait to see more from him. He’s the Loki of this book! He’s mischievous, sure, but deep down inside he has these emotions that drive him to be a better person. When we’re first introduced to him, I didn’t think I’d like him but he was so incredibly complex. The things you end up learning about him will really surprise you.

Memorable Moments: The last 20-30% of the book was probably my favorite. It was one shock after another and the pace of the story really picks up. I couldn’t put it down by then. I was in too deep haha. That’s when everything, and I mean every shocking detail, is out in the open and it’s like WOAH I did not see that coming. I also really enjoyed when Callum was telling Noa who he really was and what his world consisted of. Anything with Judah was memorable. His personality and character just adds so much to a scene and his complexity draws you to him.

My Verdict: Buy, Borrow, or Skip?

buy

Despite my 3.5-star rating, it still worth buying because I feel like the trilogy is going to be great and you’re going to want all the books together in the end!

xoxo

10 thoughts on “ARC Review: Shattered Blue (The Light Trilogy #1) by Lauren Bird Horowitz

  1. I had similar experience with this book! I just posted my review yesterday. 🙂 I was pretty bored throughout the first portion of the book but it definitely started to get interesting afterwards. I loved the concept of this book, dividing the faes into colour categories was really intriguingand like you, I couldn’t connect to Noa either but I definitely loved Judah. I really want to read the next book soon and see what happens, that was a hell of a cliffhanger at the end! Don’t you agree?

    Loved your review btw. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s good to hear that I wasn’t the only one who felt this way. Looking over Goodreads, there were so many 5 stars and I thought I was the only one haha. YES! Cliffhanger! I was like no, no, no, it can’t end this way haha. The twist with Sasha was really surprising, too!
      Thank you so much, I’ll have to take a look at your review!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I had the chance to read this as well, got it from NetGalley. I had pretty much the same response to it. I really didn’t see how the Fae/paranormal aspect was going to fit in, and when it was added, I didn’t think it was done that well. I really didn’t like the extreme dual insta-love either.
    My Review

    Liked by 1 person

What's on Your Mind?

