ARC Review: Finding Perfect by Kendra C. Highley


Finding Perfect
Author: Kendra C. Highley
Expected publication: September 14, 2015
Published by: Entangled: Crush
Format: 199 pages, Kindle eBook
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Kendra C. Highley | Goodreads | Amazon 

**I received an eBook copy of Finding Perfect through Netgalley in exchange for my honest opinion.**


My Rating:

5star

My Summary:

Paige Westfield was known as “Perfect Paige” at home and in school; Perfect reputation, perfect grades, perfect life, and a perfect plan to get into medical school to become a neurologist — that is, until she gets a failing grade in calculus. Not wanting to ruin her perfect image and disappoint her parents, she enlists the aid of math genius and engineer-to-be Ben Franklin. He doesn’t come for free though. He offers to tutor Paige if she gets him a date with her best friend and hottest girl in school. She begrudgingly gives in to his request and soon starts regretting it when she in turn starts falling for him.

My Review:

gif

Plot/Concept: This storyline was just so cute! The romance was perfect and fun. It wasn’t instant love (thank you Kendra!), it was the unexpected slow burn. I love how it all came together even if it was a little predictable. I really liked that it wasn’t just romance. It also centered around the relationship with her parents, especially her very overbearing, health-obsessed mother. The second half of the book is where it starts to spotlight her relationship with her best friend, Zoey. Paige always took the back seat where Zoey is involved and it was great to see Paige develop through the book and become this very confident person!

Writing: I am always a big fan of dual points of view but some authors have trouble differentiating the voices. Kendra, however, did it flawlessly. I absolutely enjoyed seeing both Paige’s and Ben’s point of view. It adds to their characterization and it helps us relate to both of the characters. I think it also adds to the anticipation of their romance. I can’t tell you how many times I [internally] yelled at them for all the miscommunication! At the same time, the way that they saw each other was so touching and beautiful, ugh, it pulled on my heartstrings. I absolutely enjoyed the writing. It was easy to get into and some scenes were written so effectively and wonderfully that they brought me to tears haha.

gif

Characters: The characters … I love them so much! I could absolutely relate to Paige, having all the stress of not wanting to disappoint your parents and all. Paige is smart, loyal, funny, musically talented, and friendly. She wasn’t that snooty rich person that you’d expect. She never treated Ben any different even though he lived on the poor side and she was beyond rich. When she said that she loved playing piano renditions of Imagine Dragons but also loved classical music, I knew I loved her character! I really loved her growth and how she stands up for herself in the end.

Ben, oh Ben. I love you. Why aren’t you real?! He’s not your typical bad boy/dark-side-turned-good love interest. No. He’s the unnoticed nerd who works two jobs to help mom pay bills and save money for college. He rides his bike because he doesn’t have a car and his worn out clothes are from Wal-Mart. My heart seriously broke for him. His living situation was terrible but he carries himself so well, works for his future and wants to take care of his mom. He’s a genius (with a nice bod, too), he’s funny, and he’s sweet. He’s perfect! The relationship he forms with Paige was just wonderful!

I wish we got to see more of Zoey because she was such a wonderful person. With how the book ended, I’m hoping that there’s a book just for her! She’s such an amazing best friend to Paige and there was a certain scene with Paige where I cried because of their friendship. You can tell how much Zoey cares for Paige. I also really liked Paige’s dad. He was a little questionable at first but once he got more page time, you see what a great dad he is. As for Paige’s mom … woah. She’s so mean haha. She meant well, I get that, but come on, live a little.

gif

Memorable Moments: Can an entire book me the most memorable moment? Cause I feel that way. I am in love with this book! I want a physical copy. Ben’s point of view was also a favorite of mine. Seriously, he’s that adorable! I love how unsure he is with girls and how he feels like he’s doing something wrong *cries*. I love all the cute little things and notes that he gave Paige ❤ ❤ ❤. Totally swoon worthy! I also LOVE the scene with Paige’s piano recital. That was amazing! I was really sad when the book ended. I wanted more cute fluffy stuff! Bravo Kendra!

My Verdict: Buy, Borrow, or Skip?

buy

xoxo

About Anjie @ Love thy Shelf

Hello there -- call me Anjie! I made this book blog where I can put down all my bookish ramblings and talk to those who have the same interests!
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to ARC Review: Finding Perfect by Kendra C. Highley

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Underrated Books | Love thy Shelf

  2. Pingback: Ten Books To Read If You Like Jenny Han | Love thy Shelf

  3. I just finished it ❤ I really liked it! I need a Ben in my life… I'm assuming that there will be a sequel, and that it will be centered on Zoey and Luke, right? In college? And that maybe we can get a glimpse at how Ben and Paige are doing?! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Josephine says:

    Wonderful review! This book sounds so dang cute and wonderful, I’m literally in Good reads now putting it on my TBR!
    (And yes, I’m back on the blogosphere already! But only for today because I’m giving myself a reward for finishing all my assignments!)
    xoxo 💋

    Liked by 1 person

  5. ravenblake99 says:

    Great review! Can’t wait to read it 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Prima says:

    I love Entangled contemporaries. They’re just the best! Can’t wait to read this one 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Nerdybirdy @ Daydreaming Books says:

    Sounds sooo good. Adding it to my tbr! Great review btw. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Carolyn says:

    Boomarking this for when I want a cute contemporary to read ! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I’m so glad you liked it! I have it sitting on my kindle and now I want to go read it right now 😀

    Liked by 1 person

What's on Your Mind?

