Mid Year Book Freak Out Tag

Mid Year Book Freak Out Tag

Hey y’all! I’m so sorry for not posting in the past couple of days. Hectic life and no books in between. Those are the worst. I hope all of you are doing well and reading some great books! Raven @ Dreamy Addictions tagged me in the Mid Year Book Freak Out Tag. I think we might be well over mid year but it’s still a fun tag!


Best Book You’ve Read So Far in 2015

heir of fire

 

Tough one but I’ll have to go with Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas. I first read it in January and it blew me away. SJM just has a way of doing that. There were a lot of great contenders though. Trust me.

Best Sequel You’ve Read So Far in 2015

 

Yes! Okay, so Cress by Marissa Meyer is the third book of The Lunar Chronicles and it was beyond fantastic! So far, it’s my favorite in the series. It is the sequel to Scarlet. I love Rapunzel and I love this retelling. Cress is so cute and ugh I can’t get enough of Captain Thorne.

New Release You Haven’t Read But Want To

queen of shadows

 

 

I have this, Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas, book in my possession but I can’t read it yet because I have to reread Heir of Fire first! But once that happens, I’m going ham on this book!

Most Anticipated Release for the Second Half of the Year

winter

 

Okay, coming into 2015, Heir of Fire was my most anticipated but that already passed. My second most anticipated would have to be Winter by Marissa Meyer. It is the final installment to the Lunar Chronicles series and I can’t wait to hold it but at the same time, I’m so scared!

Biggest Disappointment 

heartbeat

 

Words cannot express how much I detested this book! I was really excited to read Heartbeat by Elizabeth Scott because it had such a great synopsis. It was so unique and intriguing but ruined by the main character.

Biggest Surprise

How to love

 

How to Love by Katie Cotugno is not really well-known so I didn’t know too much about it when I bought it. I bought it because of the beautiful cover and the colors. After reading it, I found out that the inside is just as amazing as the outside!

Favorite New Author (Debut of New to You)

jenny han

 

This honor should go to Jenny Han. I read her books for the first time this year and I fell in love! She’s such an amazing writer and I need more books from her! She wrote: To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, P.S. I Still Love You, and The Summer Trilogy

Newest Fictional Crush

winner's curse

 

Arin from The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski is definitely my newest fictional crush! There are no words to describe him haha. Okay there’s a lot but I really loved his character in the book and how he was with Krestel!

Newest Favorite Character

cinder

 

I love love love Cinder from … Cinder by Marissa Meyer. She was so cool! She’s smart, witty, funny, and lovable. I love anything Cinderella! I also love her story and her background!

Book that Made You Cry

order of the phoenix

 

Oh you know, J.K. Rowling just killed off my favorite character in Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix. No that’s not tears in my eye. There’s like dirt or, you know, a branch just bugging my eye.

Book that Made You Happy

To all the boys i've loved before

 

Whenever I need a pick-me-up, I read some of To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han. It makes me laugh so much. Upon reading the synopsis, I knew that I had to read it because secret love letters being mailed out would be something that would happen to me! Oh and you know … Peter Kavinsky!

Favorite Book to Film Adaptation You Saw this Year

book thief

 

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak was probably my favorite from this year. Read that carefully haha, this year. I haven’t seen too many book to film adaptations this year so yeah. The movie wasn’t perfect, far from it, but I still really enjoyed it above the ones I’ve seen this year.

Favorite Review You’ve Written this Year

assassin's blade

 

Hahaha, my review of The Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J. Maas is my absolute favorite. I wrote it right after I read the last novella. You could imagine my emotional state was not stable at all. I couldn’t really form words so it was purely gif reactions. You can look at my review here.

Most Beautiful Book You’ve Bought So Far this Year (or Received)

everything everything

 

Wait. Are we talking about most beautiful cover or content? My answer for most beautiful cover would be Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon. Just look at it! Gorgeous! I love the white and then the colors that pop at the bottom. It also has beautiful content haha.

What Books Do You Need to Read by the End of the Year?

queen of shadows winter magnus chase these broken starts red queen winner's crime cruel beauty ruby circle heart of betrayal

I tag:

Book Lovers Blog
Carolyn @ A Hundred Thousand Stories
Cristina @ My Tiny Obsessions
Erika & Miedjel @ Partners in Books
Jessie @ Books at Dawn
Josie @ Josie’s Book Corner
Kerry @ KerryBerryBooks
Kelsey @ Don’t Shush Me
Melanie @ Reviews of a Self Proclaimed Bibliophile
Olivia @ Fluttering Pages
Prime @ Panda Hearts Books
Veronica @ Talking Bookworm

xoxo

About Anjie @ Love thy Shelf

Hello there -- call me Anjie! I made this book blog where I can put down all my bookish ramblings and talk to those who have the same interests!
This entry was posted in Book Tags and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Mid Year Book Freak Out Tag

  1. Thanks so much for tagging me, Anjie!
    I love book tags and it makes me so happy whenever I get tagged. I’ve been a little behind recently, but i’m hoping to get caught up very soon.
    YES. Heir of Fire was amazing. I am always in constant awe of SJM.
    And you ABSOLUTELY need to read Red Queen. I loved that book SO MUCH.
    I just saw the Book Thief movie, too. I thought it was a pretty good adaptation and I really enjoyed it.
    CRESS. Cress will happen soon. It’s just that I’ve been slumping lately or I probably would have started it by now.
    Olivia @ Fluttering Pages

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Olivia! No problem, I can’t wait to see what your answers are! I hope you get caught up soon.
      SJM is queen and I can’t wait to read Queen of Shadows!!
      I’m so excited for Red Queen, I always add it to my monthly TBR but never get to it xD I’ll try harder in the coming months.
      I hope you enjoy Cress! I can’t wait to read your review!

      Like

  2. Still haven’t read the Lunar Chronicles or Harry Potter… obviously there’s something wrong with me

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I am just reading The Lunar Chronicles now. I finished Scarlet last week. I am way late to the party, but they are amazing! I am definitely planning to get my hands on a copy of Cress as soon as possible.

    Also totally with you on Jenny Han. I was a bit suspicious of To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before because I thought the cover was gross, but it turned out to be a brilliant book.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha, it’s okay to be late, as long as you get there! I hope you enjoy Cress when you read it. It will make you wish Winter was already published lol. Really? I thought the cover for To All the Boys was alright haha. I’m glad you liked it though. It was very entertaining!

      Like

  4. Josephine says:

    I agree with so many of your answers here! Thank you for tagging me, I’ve already done this tag though! 😄
    And are we still down to re-read Heir of Fire starting on Wednesday?! 💓 I’m so ready for it, I’ve got one hour to go with The Assassins Blade then we can start Heir of Fire!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. ravenblake99 says:

    Great Answers! I haven’t read Cress yet but I will after Winter is published. Everything, Everything is already in my TBR list So, can’t wait to read it. I hope you enjoy These broken Stars when you get to it. Anyways, Thank you so much for participating! I loved all your answers. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I just got the Lunar Chronicles 😀 (I need to get to those soon!). Heir of Fire was definitely one of the best books I read this year too 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Such an amazing list of books and I totally agree with Sarah J. Mass` books! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Carolyn says:

    Great answers Anjie! I absolutely adore Cinder too! I think she’s my favorite out of the girls; I love how sarcastic she is sometimes 🙂 Winter can’t come soon enough; I need my Cinder/Kai fix now lol
    And the Book Thief wasn’t perfect but the actors for Liesel and Rudy were so on point! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. lulusrantsandreads says:

    Love the post! And I agree, I need Winter ASAP! 🙂 And Everything, Everything is my fav ♡

    Liked by 1 person

  10. BooksatDawn says:

    I agree with almost all the books on your list! Especially Cress and Heir of Fire. Two of my absolute favs!

    Thanks for the tag! I’ve already completed it though 😀

    Liked by 1 person

What's on Your Mind?

