Ten Characters I Didn’t Click With

ttt

Before I get to this week’s meme, I want to take a moment to say that it is officially September 1 and I’d like to say HAPPY BOOK BIRTHDAY to QUEEN OF SHADOWS by Sarah J. Maas! It’s here guys! After all that wait, we finally have it! Moving on haha. Top Ten Tuesday is a meme created by the wonderful bloggers over at The Broke and The Bookish! Make sure you head over there, check out their blog, give them a follow, and even sign up to do TTT on your blog! This week’s topic is on the characters we’ve read that we’re not too particularly fond of! Fair warning, I probably have some unpopular opinion. I took out villains mainly because no one is really a fan of villains anyway. Come on, who really clicked with the King of Adarlan? The villains I did put are the popular ones that people actually did like!


Characters That I Didn’t Click With

Throne of Glass

Chaol Westfall from Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas: Raise your hand if you were surprised haha. It’s an ongoing battle with him. He’s constantly testing me and pushing my buttons up until the end of Heir and even then it was too late for me. Hopefully, things are different in Queen of Shadows. I don’t like harboring hateful feelings for my bae’s best friend.

heroes of olympus

Very unpopular opinion and since they all belong in the same book, I’m grouping them as one. Jason, Leo, and Piper from Heroes of Olympus by Rick Riordan. Sorry guys! I actually don’t even remember their last names. Sorry Josie, I know you love Leo haha. I couldn’t click with them. I didn’t enjoy their point of views, coming from Percy Jackson, I expected the same humor and overall feel from Percy, Annabeth, and Grover. I didn’t obviously and that was my main issue with Heroes of Olympus.

the-mortal-instruments-series

Simon Lewis from The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare is probably the most annoying best friend for me. I just couldn’t tolerate him and that sounds so terrible, I know. I’m really sorry. I felt he nagged too much and always tagging along with Clary. I don’t know.

the-selection-series

Aspen Leger from The Selection by Kiera Cass: He got better in The Heir but he’s still not my favorite. His presence was the bane of my existence throughout the series. Don’t even get me started on how he continually endangered America’s life with the secret meet-ups, his constant degradation of Maxon and how he didn’t believe America could be princess/queen.

twilight

Jacob Black from Twilight by Stephenie Meyer: Maybe it was because I was really into Edward Cullen but Jacob and I were just never on the same page. He bothered me so much in New Moon and then with the weird, creepy imprint on Renesme.

Grisha

Another combination since they’re in the same book: The Darkling and Mal from The Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo. Nikolai was more up my alley. I can see why people like the Darkling but his evil wayward ways were not for me. Mal was alright in the first book but forget the 2nd and 3rd. He bugged me so much about how he wanted Alina to be the powerless orphan he met a long time ago.

shatter me

Warner from Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi: sorry, I know he’s got a lot of fans. I don’t know his last name either … wait is Warner his last name or first name? I never bothered with him. The way he acted and treated Juliette in Shatter Me repulsed me enough to stop reading the trilogy, which sucks because I really loved the first book and was looking forward to the rest.

lunar chronicles

Wolf from The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer. I loved Scarlet but I did not love his point of view. Another extremely popular opinion since every seems to love him but I just don’t buy into his animalistic ways ((sorry!)). He never clicked with me in any way and I didn’t enjoy his relationship with Scarlet. Along with that, he really annoyed me in Cress.

vampire academy

Rose Hathaway from The Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead. I didn’t love her but I didn’t hate her. I tolerated her. Her character was so kick butt and had such great potential for me but her mouth ugh, ruins it for me. She can be really immature and disrespectful sometimes and I just roll my eyes at her. She gets worse for me in the last book, her and Dmitri. I was done with them.

fangirl

Wren Avery from Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. Hear me out! I know you probably hate me right now haha. I’ve got some very loved characters here. I didn’t like her for most of the book, up until she got some common sense knocked into her and I finally started warming up to her. She was just too immature for me. Everything she did really bugged me and how she would treat Cath sometimes, like hello? That’s your sister. That’s your forever family and friend. So we butted heads but like I said, she got better.

Please don’t hate me. I know I said some very harsh things about these characters that you probably love! What characters did you not click with? Do we have any in common? Let me know below and don’t forget to leave a link to your Top Ten!

xoxo

About Anjie @ Love thy Shelf

Hello there -- call me Anjie! I made this book blog where I can put down all my bookish ramblings and talk to those who have the same interests!
This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

45 Responses to Ten Characters I Didn’t Click With

  1. Josephine says:

    Warner is his last name! 😊
    I’m so sad that you didn’t enjoy the main characters in the Heroes of Olympus. I think this is a common thing for those who read the Percy Jackson series first. I still haven’t read the Percy Jackson series so that must a factor in my love for Leo and the other characters!
    Great TTT, I didn’t like Aspen or Jacob either! 😁
    xoxo 💋

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha whoops! He was always referred to as Warner in the first book.
      I liked Frank, Hazel, Reyna, Percy and Annabeth lol. Yeah that’s probably it because Percy’s voice is so different from everyone there and after PJO you get used to his humor and personality. I also felt like Riordan was trying to outshine Percy and make Jason the new Percy so that was really annoying for me. Percy and Jason clashed so much on leadership and that was never a problem in PJO, since it was a shared leadership between PJ and Annabeth.
      Thanks!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Prima says:

    UGH YES WOLF! He just moped around for the whole of Cress so straight onto my TTT list this week. I pretty much agree with every one of your picks and yes I was so surprised about Chaol 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Carrie says:

    I had Bella from Twilight on my list this week – I couldn’t get past her to decide on Edward or Jacob lol My TTT

    Liked by 1 person

  4. ASPEN IS THE BANE OF MY EXISTANCE! I liked Chaol at first, but he’s really starting to get on my nerves now…Wren bothered me so much, I get that she wanted to try new things, but then take your sister along, do what Levi and Reagan did and help her out of her comfort zone, don’t just abandon her in it!
    I totally understand what you’re feeling with Warner—if you’ve only read the first book. I know it sounds impossible, but everything changes! I beg you to at least read the novella from his POV, if not Unravel Me and Ignite Me. I really didn’t like Shatter Me, but the second two are two of my favorite books!

    Liked by 1 person

    • YAY! Another Aspen anti-fan! Yeah! Chaol, he was pretty likable during Throne of Glass but then that all changed for me in Crown of Midnight. I mean I can go on and on about how much he bugged me in CoM and even in HoF. Yeah! I don’t understand Wren’s reasoning for leaving her sister out in the cold like that? I thought I was going to get some hate for putting Wren on this list cause everyone loves that book so much lol.
      Okay, explain to me Warner lol cause I’ve heard that, him being a victim to his abusive, tyrannical father or something like that. Is that why he acts that way or something? Like I just don’t understand. I get that you had a troubled past but why should that excuse the way he acted in Shatter Me?

      Like

      • No, definitely not his troubled past! It’s really not what he did—it’s how Juliette saw what he was doing. She just didn’t see the full picture and she didn’t see it from his perspective which is why he’s seems like such a despicable character in the first book. I know it seems crazy and impossible, but everything he was doing was for Juliette’s benefit, and he certainly wasn’t a victim!

        Liked by 1 person

  5. BooksatDawn says:

    I love how Jacob from Twilight made the list!
    I hated him too. Team Edward all the way!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. LHauser27 says:

    Yes! Jacob 🙂 That was sooo creepy! I had Bella on my list. Definitely *not* Edward. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I had Chaol, Jason and Piper all on my list this week.
    My TTT: https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2015/09/01/top-ten-tuesday-20/

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I’m totally with you on Wren and Jacob. Wren pissed me off for most of the book, and even by the end I’m not sure I got to like her.

    Poor Chaol! I don’t want him to be with Aelin, but I don’t hate him. I do get that it gets annoying, how he can’t seem to make up his mind and stand up for what he believes. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. alleydies says:

    Whaaaat? You don’t like Warner? (His full name is Aaron Warner BTW) and Leo? Lol

    Like

    • Lol I know, it’s crazy because everyone seems to love them so much! Warner’s attitude and violent possessiveness of Juliette in Shatter Me just rubbed me in the wrong way. Then I heard he was actually a good guy or whatever in the rest of the trilogy, I couldn’t read it because his actions in Shatter was forever ingrained in my mind. As for Leo, I don’t know, he just really bugged me. All his talking and boasting and all the ‘oh, I’m Leo, I’m the best thing, you want to be me’ talk really bothered me. I know terrible lol but I mean his story is great, he has such a deep character but I just didn’t enjoy his joking attitude. Sorry xD

      Liked by 1 person

      • alleydies says:

        So that’s why you didn’t like Warner, you haven’t finish the trilogy. Now I understand where you’re coming from. Haha. I also hated Warner on Shatter Me but I saw how much of a victim he also was after reading the whole series. On Leo, I agree that he’s a little annoying but you have to look beyond that facade to understand him. Nevertheless, I agree on the other characters you choose for this week’s Top Ten Tuesday. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        • Haha yeah I’ve heard that, him being a victim to his abusive, tyrannical father or something like that. And I get it, he had a very troubled/disturbing past but I still don’t think that excuses or gives him the right to act like he did in Shatter Me. I don’t know if I’ll ever read the rest of the trilogy someday but as of now, I haven’t wanted to do so. Thanks for stopping by!

          Like

  10. I couldn’t connect with Wren either. She was so awful to her sister, especially whe it was obvious she was hurting. My TTT

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I totally get the Simon one. I found he was really annoying in the beginning too, but once he became a vampire and a little more independent I found myself liking him much more though!
    YES SOMEONE WHO DOESN’T LOVE THE DARKLING! Honestly, I don’t get it, he’s never appealed to me because of the whole, ya know… evil thing. Nikolai is perfect. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah Simon got better towards the end of the series, which was great. That was great character development. I also liked when he stopped being so moody about Clary not loving him the way he loved her.
      I understand them liking him because he wanted grisha to have equal standing with the royalty and not be their slaves. I don’t understand how they love him after his willingness for death and destruction as a mean to the ends

      Liked by 1 person

  12. ChrissiReads says:

    😀 I can totally understand your reasoning for not connecting with these characters. I’m not a big fan of Aspen either.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Kelsey Bogan says:

    lol tee hee we are opposites for Twilight and Throne of Glass characters 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

What's on Your Mind?

