Required Text for Monarchies in Young Adult Literature Course

ttt

Happy Tuesday bookworms! I’m here today with another Top Ten Tuesday, a meme created by the wonderful bloggers over at The Broke and The Bookish! Make sure you head over there, check out their blog, give them a follow, and even sign up to do TTT on your blog! This week’s topic has us posing as professors in whatever book-related class you want and coming up with ten books that you would teach! I thought this was such a great topic that I decided to have fun with it! I would love to teach a class on monarchies in YA lit. I’ve been on a prince craze so I thought this would be perfect! Enjoy!


LTSU syllabus-4

COURSE DESCRIPTION:

Welcome students to the Fall 2015 Semester! After successfully completing this course, the student should have an intermediate knowledge of different types of monarchies displayed in various genres within Young Adult Literature, including Science Fiction, Dystopian, and Fantasy. Additionally, the student will be able to effectively distinguish between monarchies in future novels they read. There will be a total of ten (10) total required reading material for this course and students are expected to thoroughly read, discuss, complete assignments, and fangirl over them. (Look over at your desk to view required text.)

LOVE THY SHELF-2

You are required to purchase the following books [physical copies and eBooks are both permitted]:

  1. Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas
  2. Cinder by Marissa Meyer
  3. The Selection by Kiera Cass
  4. The Pledge by Kimberly Derting
  5. Shadow & Bone by Leigh Bardugo
  6. Graceling by Kristin Cashore
  7. The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson
  8. The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson
  9. Eve by Anna Carey
  10. Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes

GRADING POLICY:

Grades are based on an extreme curve. It is a pass or fail class and it is broken down into the following aspects:
   Reading: 25%              Discussion: 25%             Fangirling: 25%             Attendance: 25%

50% – 100% = A                0% – 49% = F


There you have it guys! I hope you liked my list! What class would you be a professor of and what books would you teach? If you were taking monarchies 101, what books would you want to be taught? Let me know below and don’t forget to leave a link to your Top Ten!

xoxo

About Anjie @ Love thy Shelf

Hello there -- call me Anjie! I made this book blog where I can put down all my bookish ramblings and talk to those who have the same interests!
This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

63 Responses to Required Text for Monarchies in Young Adult Literature Course

  1. Pingback: August: Month in Review | Love thy Shelf

  2. love your new design ❤ Do you use Illustrator ?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Josephine says:

    This made me smile so widely, my face hurts. You genuinely have me believing that this is a class. AM I ELIGIBLE TO JOIN Love Thy Shelf University?! PLEASE?!
    You’ve got an amazing set of books here. Ones that I’ve read and one’s that I plan to read!
    xoxo 💋

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Josie, I take great pleasure in offering you admission to Love Thy Shelf University for Fall 2015! Congratulations!

      Haha! Thanks! I really wish that it was real. How fun would it be to teach or even be a student in this class!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I love this so much! I would love to be part of this class! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hazel says:

    Your syllabus looks interesting! I’ve no suggestions for books to add but I’d be interested in taking the class! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Mariana Nhi says:

    I adore the images! And the idea is so fresh and creative too. I can see that you are having fun being the teacher there… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I love, love, love with you did with this week’s topic and I think your choice for a class is unique as well. Do I get extra credit for reading 8/10 or these already? Great list!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. You really love your monarchy!

    Love the post and the look 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Love the Throne of Glass series (obviously). Graceling and Cinder are both on my TBR.
    My TTT: https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2015/08/25/top-ten-tuesday-19/

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Lucybird says:

    I love the way you’ve set up your post

    Liked by 1 person

  11. ravenblake99 says:

    Great choices! I love your take on this post it’s very creative. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Carrie says:

    LOL I’m so glad that fangirling is part of our grade 🙂 My TTT

    Liked by 1 person

  13. beckmank says:

    I love the way you did the list this week. That was so fun to read! Sign me up for your class. I’m an awesome fangirl, so I can totally get that 25% of the credit. 😉

    http://hiddenstaircase.net/2015/08/25/ttt-top-ten-books-that-would-be-on-your-syllabus-if-you-taught-time-travel-101/

    Liked by 1 person

  14. This list is brilliant! I love it. So, I’ve actually read four of these books already – really enjoyed all of them – and have three on my TBR list. I’ve barely even heard of the other three (Eve, The Kiss of Deception and The Pledge) so I’m headed over to check them out. Totally would go to this class!

    My TTT

    Liked by 1 person

  15. rachelburden says:

    I love how creative you’ve been with your post! I really want to join up lol.
    I own all but three I think so I’m almost totally kitted out, although I’ve only read one of them… (falling behind already)…

    Great list
    Happy Reading!
    Rachel @ Paein-and-Ms4Tune.co.uk

    Liked by 1 person

  16. I LOVE the way you did your list,so creative! 😀 By the way loove the new blog design!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. I absolutely adored how you did this topic! You added your own touch that I haven’t seen anyone else do and I loved that. Mostly every book is on my TBR and this gives me a push to get to them soon 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Jazmin Jade says:

    I would just fly through this class. You would have to tell me to wait for the others to catch up 😉 haha good job!

    Liked by 1 person

  19. OMG love everything about this post!!! Super creative and great picks!!

    Liked by 1 person

  20. aentee @ read at midnight says:

    I love the format of this post, it’s so fun and creative!! I definitely agree with Falling Kingdoms, it’s my favourite YA fantasy! I need to check out Girl of Fire and Thorn + Kiss of Deception as I have been hearing such great things about it 🙂 Fantastic post!!

    Liked by 1 person

  21. readerbuzz says:

    Love how you worked up the course!

    Here’s mine!

    Liked by 1 person

  22. karma2015 says:

    I love this mocked up syllabus!

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Holly says:

    Love the way you set this post up- it’s adorable! This is also such an interesting topic to focus on, and I was surprised by the large number of YA novels that are applicable. Authors sure do love writing about monarchies for some reason! Graceling is the only book I’ve read from your list, and I really enjoyed it! Awesome list! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  24. fiddlerblue says:

    I love your blog and this list! I won’t mind reading and studying those books, I’m obsessed with kingdoms and monarchies in the fantasy genre ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  25. I love the way you have done your list! So creative! I’ve only read The Selection so far but there’s a few others on my TBR.

    My TTT: http://myexpandingbookshelf.blogspot.com/2015/08/top-ten-tuesday-25-august.html

    Like

  26. ChrissiReads says:

    This is so cute and creative! I’d love to be part of your class!

    Liked by 1 person

  27. Marie says:

    I love the way you set up your list. 🙂 Love your choices too.
    Check out my TTT:
    http://pagestoexplore.blogspot.com/2015/08/top-ten-tuesday-top-ten-books-that.html

    Liked by 1 person

  28. You did this adorably!!! I love the way you set it up to look like a real college class! I have only read Cinder, so I guess I better get on the rest of those. I do kind of like reading about monarchies 🙂

    Like

  29. Anne Bennett says:

    Very cute graphic and class announcement. Very impressive. My 101 TTT

    Liked by 1 person

  30. Jenny says:

    This is awesome Anjie! You had fun with this one. A lot of these books are on my tbr list. The ones I’ve read are awesome so I’m hoping the rest are great too.

    Liked by 1 person

What's on Your Mind?

