#(f)mcm: Maxon Schreave from The Selection Series

fmcm

selection elite the one heir

Hi bookworms! So as you may have seen, the past reviews I have posted up have been The Selection series! I finally finished The Heir last night and so I wanted to put on a special #(f)mcm post for Maxon Schreave! Rereading the series has made me fall in love with him all over again! I’ll be showing you some parts of each book where he stole my heart! I’ll be separating per book so you don’t have to worry about spoilers! If you haven’t read the book from the series, you can easily skip it! I had to cut down A LOT because there’s 4 books, I even had to cut my choices from his novella.

Top Moments Maxon won my Heart in The Selection:

1) He sincerely wants all the ladies during his Selection to be happy. He lets them leave if they don’t want to be there anymore and he lets America stay because it will help her family monetarily & to get away from Aspen.

I swear to you, I’ll make it to two and keep you here until then. I won’t make you leave a moment before I have to. Or the moment you’re ready. Whichever comes first. I know we just met, but I think you’re wonderful. And it bothers me to see you hurt. If he were here, I’d … I’d … I’m so sorry, America. -page 196

2) The little things he gives America: letting her go on walks outside even with the danger, he gives her jeans even when he lost the bet.

You ask for such simple things. I can’t deny you. But for my sake, only on Saturdays, please. Thank you for your company. Your friend, Maxon -page 147 

3) When he finds out how bad the lower castes are suffering, he cut the compensation for the Selected so that the money could be allocated for food assistance.

I feel that no good leader can let the masses go unfed. Most of Illéa is comprised of these lower castes, and we have overlooked these people far too long. -page 242

4) How he’s never kissed anyone before America *faints*

I’m so sorry. I’ve never kissed anyone before. I don’t know what I’m doing. I’m just … I’m sorry America. -page 252

5) When he says things like:

If this were a simpler matter, I’d have eliminated every one else by now. I know how I feel about you. Maybe it’s impulsive of me to think I could be sure, but I’m certain I would be happy with you. -page 320

Top Moments Maxon won my Heart in The Elite:

1) When he throws a Halloween party for her, talks to her dad during the party, and asks her if she wants to hold one every October … and how she should see the princess suite and decorate it *swoon*

2) What he did for Marlee and Carter after they got caned

3) He stands up to his dad for America and took the abuse so that she would be spared

I was afraid that if he didn’t have me, he’d want you. (page 285) […] Please don’t cry darling. I’d spare you tears for the rest of your life if I could. (page 297)

Top Moments Maxon won my Heart in The One:

1) That he was genuinely happy that if he hadn’t been prince, he would’ve taken up photography making him a Five like America. -page 220

2) The letters he writes to America! So many letters! So beautiful!!

3) His first proposal. Oh. My! How he bought a house for her family nearby because he knows that she would it that way.

You told me to send everyone home. I did. I had to keep one other girl — those are the rules — but … you said that if I could prove I loved you … Of course it’s you. page 268

4) When he jumped in front of a bullet for America and everything he said afterwards *clutches my heart*

Break my heart. Break it a thousand times if you like. It was only ever yours to break anyway […] I’ll love you until my very last breath. Every beat of my heart is yours. I don’t want to die without you knowing that. […] She lives. Do you understand? Whatever it takes, she lives [to Aspen]. -page 295-296

5) His second proposal *cries*

I love you. I should have told you a long time ago. Maybe we could have avoided so many stupid mistakes if I hard. Then again, sometimes I think it was all those obstacles that made me love you so deeply. What I said was true. My heart is yours to break. As you already know, I’d rather die than see you in pain. In the moment I was hit, when I fell to the floor sure my life was ending, all I could think about was you. In those seconds, I was mourning everything I’d lost. How I’d never get to se you walk down the aisle toward me, how I’d never get to see your face in our children, how I’d never get to see the streaks of silver in your hair. But, at the same time, I couldn’t be bothered. If me dying meant you living, how could that be anything but good? America, I know you see a kind here, but let me be clear; this isn’t a command. This is a request, a please. I beg you; make me the happiest man alive. Please do me the honor of becoming my wife. -page 315-316

Top Moments Maxon won my Heart in The Heir:

This one was tough to find because he wasn’t a focal character but still there are some great moments!
1) When Maxon shopped for pianos with America

She loved to tell the story of how Dad made her pick out four brand-new pianos, each with various attributes, after they married. They were placed all over the palace. One was in her suite, a second in Dad’s, one here, and another in a largely unused parlor on the fourth floor. -page 43

2) How much he still really loves America and how you can see it with a look or how close he stands or how he talks about her or the way he holds her, just everything

If this was his retreat [the king’s suite that they usually share], why didn’t it feel like him at all? […] The reason Dad’s room didn’t feel like it was completely his was because it wasn’t. He had all but turned it into a shrine to Mom. Or rather, a shrine to the two of them and how deeply they loved each other. I saw it everyday, but it was different seeing the images they both looked at before falling asleep each night. They were meant to be, even after dozens of obstacles, and they liked to be reminded of it constantly. -page 338

3) How he believes in Eadlyn’s ability to run the country (even when we don’t haha) and how he wanted to rip Jack’s body apart after what he did to Eadlyn, and how close to tears he was when he was apologizing to Eadlyn for letting someone like Jack slip through the applications -page 192

2) When America has a heart attack and you literally feel his heart breaking

But the true fear of the moment was summed up in Dad. He clung to General Leger, holding on to him for dear life, his fingers digging int the back of his uniform. He was unabashedly crying, and I’d never heard such a painful sound. I hope I never would again.
“I can’t lose her. I don’t know … I don’t… […] I should have made her rest more I should have asked her for less. She did everything for me.” -page 239-240

Who’s your #(f)mcm? Do you love Maxon? What were some of your favorite Maxon moments?

xoxo

About Anjie @ Love thy Shelf

Hello there -- call me Anjie! I made this book blog where I can put down all my bookish ramblings and talk to those who have the same interests!
This entry was posted in #(f)mcm and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to #(f)mcm: Maxon Schreave from The Selection Series

  1. Pingback: August: Month in Review | Love thy Shelf

  2. Josephine says:

    Ive only read the Selection, but Maxon almost immediately won my heart! Reading all those quotes again was like setting my heart on fire for him all over again! Ah, Maxon… *swoooooooon* 😍

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Keira says:

    Maxon is one of my favorite book boyfriends 💛💛💛💛

    Liked by 1 person

What's on Your Mind?

