Bookish Ramblings: What’s in a name?

bookishHallo there bookworms! I hope your Saturdays are going well! Yay to the weekend! I’ve seen people posts this topic and I wanted to get in on it! It looks like fun! What’s in a Name? There’s a lot of thought that comes into naming your child! For example, my parents thought I was going to be a boy so they wanted to name me after my dad, Angelino. Lo and behold come December, I was born and evidently not a boy haha so they feminized (is that a word?) his name to Anjeline and attached a version of my mom’s name, Nancy, to it. Henceforth and forevermore, I was named Anjeline Nance (another middle name and then last name). Yeah, I’ve got 2 middle names and my name is super long. You should see my driver’s license.

Anyway, before I was really into reading, I’d pick names that I thought would sound cool and all. Now, I’ve considered naming my kids after book characters — I’m also pretty big on middle names, considering I have two haha. My husband better be okay with it. If not, divorce! Ha! Just kidding. Before he marries me, he’ll know about this whole naming game! So here we go!

What’s in a [Baby’s] Name?

BOYS

infernal devices

1. William James: This name comes to you from The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare. You really shouldn’t be surprised at this point that I’d name my child after the William Owen Herondale lol! I would change the middle name to James for Jem. I’ve always loved the name William and James but I love having this extra meaning behind it.

Name meaning: 

  • William: determined protector, strong-willed warrior
  • James: supplanter; I had to look up what that meant: to take the place of (someone or something); overthrow
Throne of Glass delirium

2. Dorian Alexander: I had to. Dorian Havilliard from Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas. I love him! The name Dorian never came to me when I thought of names but it’s just so appealing now! I’ve always liked the name Alexander and my favorite Alex comes from Delirium by Lauren Oliver

Name meaning: 

  • Dorian: from the sea; tempestuous weather (interesting)
  • Alexander: defender of the people, man

the-selection-series

3. Maxon: My son will be the epitome of good with a name like Maxon! That name comes from The Selection by Kiera Cass. I never liked the name Max because of how simple it was, plus I had a dog named Max. I also didn’t like the longer versions of the name: Maximillian, Maxwell, Maximus, and so on. I really liked Maxon though!

Name meaning: 

  • Maxon: tricky one to find but it’s an elaboration of Max meaning greatest

Grisha

4. Nikolai Aleksander: Continuing with our princes, Nikolai comes to you from The Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo! I loved the name Nicholas but I like this version better. I also liked the name Alexander as I said earlier but I love when it’s spelled this way especially with how Nik is spelled. I just like how it’s spelled, this in no way means that I liked the Darkling haha

Name meaning: 

  • Nikolai: victorious, conqueror of the people
  • Alexander: defender of the people
  • So this name is either conquering people or defending them haha
heir winner's curse

5. Ahren: Wow, it wasn’t until I got here that I realized that after Will, all my names are from princes haha. Anyway. Ahren is from The Heir by Kiera Cass. I really enjoyed his character, a lot more than his twin sister. But I just really like the name, no matter the spelling–except for Aaron because it reminds me of Aaron Carter (who remembers him?!) so no Aaron. I also like Arin, from The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski.

Name meaning: 

  • Ahren: eagle
  • Arin: enlightened
  • Aaron: exalted, strong
GIRLS

The girl names are harder because I always thought it was easier to name boys than girls haha. Even before the help of books, I had maybe 3 girl names that I liked.

Throne of Glass

1. Aelin: I love how exotic the name sounds! I also LOVE Aelin from Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas. Hopefully my child will grow up as a kickbutt girl with this name haha. It’s a pretty powerful name in the book and I’d love my daughter to be strong, independent, and intelligent like her!

Name meaning: 

  • Aelin: this name doesn’t really exist anywhere so finding a meaning was impossible, however here are some names and their meanings from which Aelin could have derived from
  • Aileen: light
  • Aylin: halo around the moon (I love this!)

Throne of Glass2. Celaena: Just like numero uno, I LOVE Celaena from Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas. I never liked the name Selena but I like it spelled Celaena haha. Weird, I know but the spelling makes it look so much better. I actually like the name Selene, too. So backup!

Name meaning: 

  • Celaena: this was hard to find considering it too does not exist (thank you SJM!)
  • Celaeno: (From SJM’s research when naming Celaena) dark one
  • Selena: variation meaning moon goddess

the-mortal-instruments-series

3. Isabelle Sophia: I love this full name together, stealing it from the Isabelle Sophia that you find in City of Bones by Cassandra Clare (she has some good names! Haha). I love the nickname Izzy and the character was so fierce! I like that it’s not Isabella because it reminds me of Bella from Twilight so no thank you.

Name meaning: 

  • Isabelle: devoted to God, God of plenty
  • Sophia: wisdom

these broken stars

4. Lilac Rose: I haven’t read the book yet but Lilac is the main character from These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner. I don’t know how her character and her personality is but I like her name! I like Lilac or even Lily not Lila. Making the name a double flower, I love Rose as a middle name. I also liked with Celaena, too (Celaena Rose that is).

Name meaning: 

  • Lilac: purple lilac flower
  • Lily: purity, innocence, beauty, lily flower
  • Rose: sweet, smelling flower;

infernal devices

5. Cecily: For my final name, I went with Cecily. She is Will Herondale’s younger sister from The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare. She’s like the female Will Herondale and it’s awesome! How cool would it be if I had a son and daughter and named them after these siblings haha! Cecily is the only version of the name I like — I’m not a fan of Cecilia

Name meaning: 

  • Cecily: blind (hmmm, not my favorite meaning haha)
HONORABLE MENTIONS:
  • Noah from the Mara Dyer trilogy by Michelle Hodkin
  • Liam from The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken
  • Penryn from Angelfall by Susan Ee
  • Feyre from A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas
What are some of your favorite names? Do you like them because of the personality of the character or just like the names? I’d love to know!

xoxo

20 thoughts on “Bookish Ramblings: What’s in a name?

  1. I love researching name meanings, it’s just really interesting to read about. I had a whole tangent when I tried to search up all the names in The Lunar Chronicles because the author said she chose names really specifically. But my favourite name has to be Adrian because of Bloodlines… he was just a great character 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love love love all these names! I’d name my child Aelin or Celaena, without a doubt.
    And the names Dorian and Maxon.. My two favourite princes. Yes I would give my child either of these names!
    William James – it just rolls so lovely off the tongue, doesn’t it?!
    Great post, I really enjoyed reading all your baby name choices and I personally love them all!
    ❤ xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love girl names with “y” in them for some reason. I love Arya, Penryn, Reyna, Alyssa, Cecily and Lily. I haven’t read the Selection but I hated the name America lol and I feel like names in Dystopian series kind of suck sometimes like Meadow, Zephyr, Xander, and my favorites Zen and Jag..like what..

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is the first time I saw a variation of this post; it’s really clever and interesting. I love Sturmhond’s real name. It’s so regal and appropriate for his character. And I hardly ever look up to see what names actually mean. I like more unique names and ones that can be unisex. I’m also more biased towards names related to nature. 😉

    Like

  5. Pingback: August: Month in Review | Love thy Shelf

What's on Your Mind?

