Review: A Little Something Different by Sandy Hall

A Little Something Different by Sandy Hall
Published: August 26, 2014
272 pages
Source/Edition: Bought at Target, Paperback
Summary provided by Goodreads

The creative writing teacher, the delivery guy, the local Starbucks baristas, his best friend, her roommate, and the squirrel in the park all have one thing in common—they believe that Gabe and Lea should get together. Lea and Gabe are in the same creative writing class. They get the same pop culture references, order the same Chinese food, and hang out in the same places. Unfortunately, Lea is reserved, Gabe has issues, and despite their initial mutual crush, it looks like they are never going to work things out.  But somehow even when nothing is going on, something is happening between them, and everyone can see it. Their creative writing teacher pushes them together. The baristas at Starbucks watch their relationship like a TV show. Their bus driver tells his wife about them. The waitress at the diner automatically seats them together. Even the squirrel who lives on the college green believes in their relationship.

Surely Gabe and Lea will figure out that they are meant to be together….

My Review:
gif

A Little Something Different is different alright! It has 14 different points of view. That’s right. You read that correctly, 14. It was a completely new experience for me. I thought that it would be so weird and wouldn’t really work out but I’m surprised that I actually liked it. In all honesty, I’d say it was more 3.5 but I rounded up because I really did enjoy this book. That start was a little rocky and a little slow for me but not enough that I wanted to put the book down. Once it got going though, I read it straight through. I really enjoyed the concept of a love story being told by people watching it. I think that my favorite POV had to be the squirrel and the bench! I liked that we still get to experience their love story through the 14 POVs. It felt like a movie to me.

The characters were really cool. Like I said, the squirrel was my favorite. He obsesses so much about acorns, it’s hilarious. Same with the bench but with butts! These two are probably the main source of laughs in the book but the other characters did make me laugh. Gabe and Lea’s relationship was excruciatingly slow but totally builds on the anticipation. I liked them because I really saw myself in both of them. I would totally take forever to talk to a guy. They were just a couple of semesters, I’ve gone years … don’t ask *hides in shame*. I like how their story unfolded and how they were pretty much meant to be.

The writing was great, too and to be able to tell a story through different points of view was fantastic. You can definitely hear distinct voices, which is great! It keeps you interested and I felt like it made the pace faster. All in all, it was a great book and I really had fun reading it. It’s not a serious read and it’s pretty fluffy and cute but do be prepared that you might pull your hair at how shy Gabe is and all the staring haha.
xoxo

12 thoughts on “Review: A Little Something Different by Sandy Hall

  1. The first word that came to my mind when I read this book was ‘charming.’ I’ve always wanted to read a book that had a narrative that was on the outside look in. What I found impressive was the fact that while the couple doesn’t get a POV we still get to know them pretty well by the end.
    I found the bench POV to be quite enjoyable cause I’ve wondered about the stories inanimate objects could tell if they had a voice. Along with the squirrel their POV made me chuckle.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Excellent review!!! I was so beyond obsessed with this book before it came out, and I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve reread it o.O. The squirrel was one of my favourite POVs as well!! I think I loved A Little Something Different so much because it was really different reading a book from multiple POV but not from the two main characters! Also, you and me are in the same boat, I’ve done years, we shall hide together!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: August: Month in Review | Love thy Shelf

What's on Your Mind?

