Review: The Heir (The Selection #4) by Kiera Cass

The Heir (The Selection #4) by Kiera Cass
Published: May 05, 2015
336 pages
Source/Edition: Bought at Barnes and Noble, Hardcover
Summary provided by Goodreads

Princess Eadlyn has grown up hearing endless stories about how her mother and father met. Twenty years ago, America Singer entered the Selection and won the heart of Prince Maxon—and they lived happily ever after. Eadlyn has always found their fairy-tale story romantic, but she has no interest in trying to repeat it. If it were up to her, she’d put off marriage for as long as possible.

But a princess’s life is never entirely her own, and Eadlyn can’t escape her very own Selection—no matter how fervently she protests.

Eadlyn doesn’t expect her story to end in romance. But as the competition begins, one entry may just capture Eadlyn’s heart, showing her all the possibilities that lie in front of her . . . and proving that finding her own happily ever after isn’t as impossible as she’s always thought.

My Review:
gif

(This gif will make sense towards the end haha)

Now that I’m done rereading The Selection and finally got to The Heir, it’s been so crazy. I no longer know what’s going to happen so it was fun and kind of crazy! I didn’t know what to expect with The Heir because I’ve read too many different reviews. I decided to stay away from them all together and let go of all expectations. I think it worked out rather well for me! It worked well for this book too because I gave it 5 stars! I think the main reason people had a problem with The Heir, and this is all speculation, is that they were expecting more of America in Eadlyn. The thing is, America and Eadlyn have two very different voices and personalities and Eadlyn makes you miss America’s point of view.

Starting off with the main characters: Eadlyn! WOW! I could not be more disappointed in a child with the mix of Maxon and America’s genes haha. Sounds harsh but let me count the ways. She’s bratty, immature on so many levels, selfish, egocentric, snobby, and self-centered. I was so surprised at their spawn! But it’s just her because her brothers, Ahren, Kaden, and Osten were fantastic! I mean from what it looks like since we don’t really know what they’re thinking. I thought maybe it’s the pressure of being queen one day but Maxon had the same pressures (and more) but he turned out so sweet. It was hard for me to relate to her even though we were similar in more than one ways (like preferring privacy). I wanted to understand her but she just made it hard. Where Maxon was the picture of grace and royalty during his selection, Eady was nasty. For example, Maxon eliminated girls in private and (I’m sure) very kindly where Eady did it on-screen and humiliated the guys.

Taking into account the privileged way that she was raised, I feel like she still could have shown more compassion and empathy. While she did have the knowledge, strength, tenacity, and training to rule Illéa, she didn’t have that understanding of what her people really needed. Maxon didn’t really have an understanding either until America along but he always had that compassion. I absolutely enjoyed when Eadlyn gets humiliated. I know. Terrible. BUT, it really knocks her ego down a peg and she needs to lose her pride.

HOWEVER, her rotten attitude didn’t lessen my love for the book. You do see great character development within her throughout the book. She wasn’t completely horrible, she did have her moments where I did cheer her on. I can’t wait to see her changes in the next book! The secondary characters take up the spotlight and kind of makes you forget Eadlyn’s shortcomings. First her family. I LOVE seeing  glimpses of Maxon and America’s marriage. I wish there was more. It left me craving for more. I devour the little details of shared looks and smiles. Then the fact that Maxon’s room was filled with pictures of them! My heart! The Schreave princes are just a treat. Kaden and Osten are so much fun and I’d love to see more of them, while Ahren was so laid back compared to Eadlyn.

The group of Selected men! They are such a blast … well some of them. My favorites are Kile, Hale, Henri (and Erik), and Fox! Seriously! I wouldn’t even know who to pick! I love that in this book we see the Selection through the person who has to pick, as opposed to the one who’s trying to be picked! I really enjoyed the plot and the little surprises in there. The biggest twist for me was the end! Throughout the book, there were clues. Foreshadowing clues on some impending death and I thought of the worst and I was freaking out just waiting for it to happen. Then, PLOT TWIST. I was wrong on who I thought was going to be affected but it honestly hurt just as much. This cliffhanger … yes, cliffhanger … is killing me. This next book needs to come sooner!

A tip for those who are still on the fence about reading The Heir, I say don’t listen to other reviews. Make your own opinions about the book. Everyone thinks and experiences books differently and you never know how you’ll feel. I think that’s why it took me so long to get to it and I totally regret it right now haha.xoxo

About Anjie @ Love thy Shelf

Hello there -- call me Anjie! I made this book blog where I can put down all my bookish ramblings and talk to those who have the same interests!
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Review: The Heir (The Selection #4) by Kiera Cass

  1. Pingback: Review: Happily Ever After (The Selection #0.4, 0.5, 2.5, 2.6) by Kiera Cass | Love thy Shelf

  2. Pingback: August: Month in Review | Love thy Shelf

  3. You’ve made me excited to read this! I pre ordered it but still haven’t gotten around to it (oops) but was turned off by some reviews. I think I’ll really like seeing America and Maxon’s marriage.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I hope you end up liking it! Idly is a lot to take in and a lot of her personality traits will make you want to turn the other way but it just makes her character development that much better. I think that seeing their marriage was one of my favorite things about this book!

      Like

  4. Josephine says:

    Wow, I don’t think I’ve seen a review of this book that got past 3 stars! Its refreshing to see your point of view, SO refreshing.
    I’ve only read the first book in The Selection series but man, I don’t care how many flaws there are in it, I’m going to binge read it and love it! Im definitely taking your advice and letting my mind be free and open to these books and to not let reviews taint me. Although, I am very good at pushing hype and de-hype (I don’t know what to call the latter) out of my mind when I start a book.
    Fantastic, wonderful review! xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah! I feel as if I’m one of the few people who rated The Heir so high. Right?! How addicting is this series? Haha, it’s not perfect literature but it’s so entertaining that you forget all about it. I hope that you end up de-hyping (haha) and enjoying the book!
      Thanks!!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Prima says:

    I nominate you for the Liebster Award. Check it out here http://wp.me/p3xLva-Ep
    Love Thy Shelf, more like I Love Thy Blog… see what I did there? XD

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Hm, you’re one of the few people I’ve seen give this book a 5 stars; I’m so glad you enjoyed this book! I, personally, like so many others, didn’t enjoy this book as much as I’d hoped because of Eadlyn. You’re right, the main reason would be that I (and all those other people) was expecting more of America in Eadlyn. And I agree, I could not have been more surprised that America and Maxon’s eldest child would be such a brat. But like you, I did actually like reading the book, Eadlyn’s voice especially was different from most characters, and she does go through a lot of character development, as you said. I’ll definitely be picking up the next book! ❤ And wow, I just realized this is a very long comment, hope you don't mind. 🙂 Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for stopping by! Yeah, I got that a lot after writing my review for this book haha. I think that even if people didn’t enjoy this book as much, they should pick up the next because they’ll probably see a different Eadlyn! I’m glad you still liked reading the book 😀

      Like

What's on Your Mind?

