Review: The One (The Selection #3) by Kiera Cass

The One (The Selection #3) by Kiera Cass
Published: May 06, 2014
323 pages
Source/Edition: Bought on Amazon, Hardcover
Summary provided by Goodreads

The time has come for one winner to be crowned.

When she was chosen to compete in the Selection, America never dreamed she would find herself anywhere close to the crown—or to Prince Maxon’s heart. But as the end of the competition approaches, and the threats outside the palace walls grow more vicious, America realizes just how much she stands to lose—and how hard she’ll have to fight for the future she wants.

My Review:

gif

Why is there only 323 pages?! Kiera! Come on! We need more!!

I gotta tell you, rereading The Selection series has been such a wonderful surprise. I’m sad (again) that the original trilogy is over but I’m more than ready to move on to The Heir. I can remember exactly how I felt the first time reading this book. I was a complete mess. My emotions were all over the place with this one. I was crying so much towards the end of the book, I couldn’t even breath. Thankfully, this time around I wasn’t as bad haha.

Kiera Cass never ceases to amaze me! I just can’t believe that I forgot how in love I am with her books. Rereading definitely renewed my love for The Selection and increased it by tenfold. The plot was fantastic and so many character developments and a few that were really surprising but equally appealing. Even though it took America a couple of books to get it right, she eventually does! I love seeing her growth. She was so indecisive and seeing her grow out of that and finally choosing one side was so refreshing. I love America. I think she’s such a great character, despite her major flaws and I think that it has to do with the writing. I was always a fan of Kiera’s writing and how something so simple can carry such depth and emotion.

When it was originally a trilogy, I thought that The One was a fantastic way to end it — even though I craved for more! It tied up loose ends and questions and of course, we get to find out the winner of the Selection and which lucky lady would get to marry Prince Maxon. I can’t promise you that it’ll be a fun ride to get to Maxon’s decision but it was well worth it. It’s been a while since a book has impacted me this much and I can’t even begin to express how much I enjoyed this book, this series. There’s a couple of scenes towards the end of the book where, you know, the proverbial crap hits the fan, where I was just on an emotional rollercoaster. I cried so so much and I was shaking from all the anticipation. It was kind of embarrassing — good thing I was alone. *SPOILER* I died when America was in the safe room in the end and Maxon was shot and she said (along the lines of) “If you live, I’ll let you call me your dear. I won’t complain. I promise.” Yeah, sobfest. *END OF SPOILER* 

Seriously though, I recommend this book/trilogy/series (I don’t know anymore lol) because they’re just so addicting!! Plus, you’ve got Maxon. Oh, Maxon. I’ll love him forever — those letters he wrote *sigh* be still my heart! My heart broke the first time I read The One because I had to say goodbye to Maxon and America. I was so happy and excited when Kiera came out and said that she’s adding 2 more books. If you haven’t read this series, then you should start. If you haven’t caught up … well, what are you waiting for?!?! [That’s sort of, kind of directed at you Josie ;)]xoxo

 

16 thoughts on “Review: The One (The Selection #3) by Kiera Cass

  1. Pingback: August: Month in Review | Love thy Shelf

  2. Pingback: Review: Happily Ever After (The Selection #0.4, 0.5, 2.5, 2.6) by Kiera Cass | Love thy Shelf

  3. That was really good and I agree with you about crying. When I read The One I was an emotional wreck but I’m not sure if I should read The Heir and The Crown could you please tell me if I should?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I personally really enjoyed The Heir. I thought it was a really cool addition to the trilogy. It flashes forward 18 something years and the only thing that was hard to enjoy was Eadlyn, the heir, Maxon and America’s daughter. She was … very different from Maxon and America. She was very arrogant and was kind of a jerk. But you do see glimpses of Maxon and America’s marriage, not enough though ): after reading the Heir, I would tell you to read it but after reading the Crown, I’d say look up spoilers or talk to someone who read it (hint, hint: me lol) to talk about Maxerica if that’s what you want. But if you want to experience the story firsthand, definitely read the Heir at least because the ending was wow lol

      Like

      • Angie!!!!!!! You were so right!!! Eadyln is a jerk but still!!!!! I can’t believe Ahren left!!! I loved him, no joke.I like Hale the best out of the selected tho. Does America survive??????? Dammmnnnn.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Oh yay! You read it!! I loved Ahren, too! He should’ve been the heir hahaha. I’m glad that Eadlyn get better in her attitude towards the end. I just couldn’t believe someone like her came from both Maxon and America haha. Hale is my favorite, too! Are you going to read the Crown or just want spoilers?

          Like

            • Hahah ok, so of course America gets better (it took a while though) so Maxon makes Eady reagent to take charge while he focuses on America (love him!) Remember Georgia and August, well they had a son who wants to work with Eady to help with the castes being dissolved. And it would benefit Eady because she is loved but the son, Marid, is more the favorite.

              Hale and Ean like each other so they leave the selection. The final two are Kile (my fave actually) and Henri (+translator Erik). Meanwhile, Marid is actually trying to overthrow Eady, who Maxon eventually makes queen when he decides to step down. He pretends to buy an engagement ring to trick people into thinking that he’s gonna propose to Eady. And of course the crowd loves him so they want her to marry him instead.

              She goes to propose to Kile, and Kile loooves her, but then she changes her mind, banishes him from the kingdom for a year because she doesn’t want him to give up architecture to be king. He said he doesn’t care, she doesn’t listen and sends him away anyway.

              She proposes to Henri instead. But is super sad cause she realizes that she loves his translator Erik instead -_-. Ahren comes back and gives her advice that love is worth it and she asked Maxon for advice and he shows her his scars and tells her he got whipped a couple of times so that America wouldn’t and hes like do what you wanna do lol

              So she ends the selection and goes with Erik. Fast forward epilogue shows shes got a kid and another on the way. So yeah it wasn’t my favorite

              Liked by 1 person

What's on Your Mind?

