Review: The Elite (The Selection #2) by Kiera Cass

The Elite (The Selection #2) by Kiera Cass
Published: April 23, 2013
336 pages
Source/Edition: Bought on Amazon, Hardcover
Summary provided by Goodreads

The Selection began with thirty-five girls.
Now with the group narrowed down to the six Elite, the competition to win Prince Maxon’s heart is fiercer than ever—and America is still struggling to decide where her heart truly lies. Is it with Maxon, who could make her life a fairy tale? Or with her first love, Aspen?

America is desperate for more time. But the rest of the Elite know exactly what they want—and America’s chance to choose is about to slip away.

My Review:
gif

This book. This book. This book. THIS BOOK. Where do I even begin? It was the first book I’ve ever read that gave me a book hangover — the worst one I’ve ever had. It left me so numb in the end. I used this gif of Loki because while I loved this book so much, it frustrated me endlessly. I love the plot and I extremely love Kiera’s writing! It’s like poetry to my ears. There were so many plot twists! I heard so many things about Prince Maxon and everyone disliking him at this point of the trilogy so naturally I was worried about diving into this one. However, my feelings have not changed and I fully support Maxon in his decisions. I was more angered over America’s actions but we’ll get to that in a second.

Rereading this book, I found that I felt the same way as I did the first time around. I just happened to realize certain things now. For example, I every time America noticed Maxon stiffening or his temper creeping out from under him, I knew why. I think that it gave me more feels this way and it really made me appreciate the book even more. I fell in love with Maxon a little more with everything that he tells America and with the little things that he does. America and Aspen are the bane of my existence. If you couldn’t tell in my review of The Selection, I seriously despise that guy. He goes out of his way to insult Maxon when he doesn’t even know him. I’m still angry about him endangering America’s life and calling it love. I wish I could reach into the book and smack him. Don’t even get me started on how he feels about America’s ability to rule Illea.

America! I am beyond frustrated with you and indecisiveness. I understand but at the same time I don’t. Stop with this foolishness and pick already girl. I think I almost want to hit you more than I want to hit Aspen haha (not really though, but really come on!). I stopped being angry with America at the very end haha then I started cheering for her. My favorite scene in this book was, you know, that scene. Haha I make is sound more scandalous than it actually it but the scene where America and Maxon are hiding from rebels.

I really enjoyed The Elite  and it’s such a blast rereading this series! I can’t wait for The One! It was my favorite of the three. I really enjoy the romance aspect of the books and the rebels/tyranny and all just adds suspense to the books! I also read the short story, The Prince, and I think it helped me understand and love Maxon a lot more. It really helped me through a particular scene in this book that everyone really hates haha and if you’ve read it, I think you know which scene I’m talking about.xoxo

 

About Anjie @ Love thy Shelf

Hello there -- call me Anjie! I made this book blog where I can put down all my bookish ramblings and talk to those who have the same interests!
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Review: The Elite (The Selection #2) by Kiera Cass

  1. Pingback: Review: Happily Ever After (The Selection #0.4, 0.5, 2.5, 2.6) by Kiera Cass | Love thy Shelf

  2. Pingback: August: Month in Review | Love thy Shelf

  3. Great review! Always happy to find another person who loved the Selection despite America. This series is just so addictive and simply so much fun to read! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Seri Roth says:

    I love your reviews!!! I post reviews every Monday 🙂 – Seri from http://www.Serisblog.com

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Josephine says:

    Awesome review! This series is addicting, and even though I have only read The Selection, which was a few months ago, I am still craving to continue the series. Even after just reading the first book, I love Maxon and I despise Aspen. When Aspen popped up in the end of The Selection, I literally screamed out loud: “NO!”.
    I cannot wait to read the Elite. The only thing I’m not excited about is reading America be so indecisive. 😉 xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Great review, Anjie!
    This really make me want to continue on with the Selection series.
    I agree completely with everything you said. Aspen is probably one of my least favorite characters EVER. I can’t even begin to explain how angry and frustrated I was with him.
    America could be so frustrating and indecisive. I wanted to root for her, but she needs to get herself together.
    Maxon is perfect <3. I loved him so much in the first book, and I felt bad for him sometimes for having to deal with America.
    It makes me so happy to know who he ends up with. So, because of that, I'm going to have to finish this series.
    Olivia @ Fluttering Pages

    Like

What's on Your Mind?

