Ten Fairytale Retellings I’ve Read/Want To Read

TTT Top Ten Tuesday is a meme brought to us by the wonderful bloggers from The Broke and the Bookish. This week is a lot of fun! I absolutely love fairytales and I (so far) love all the retellings that I’ve read! I love that the trend of fairytale retellings is increasing! I hope that there’s more of it in the future. I just love the twists that authors come up with, where you can still see the resemblance to a well-known fairytale but still introduced to a whole new world!

Five Fairytale Retellings I’ve Read

I actually haven’t read too many, so the entirety of this is filled with The Lunar Chronicles.

 

1. Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass #1) by Sarah J. Maas – Cinderella retelling, a real kick butt Cinderella haha. Cinderella is my favorite fairytale and Throne of Glass is my favorite series!

2. A Court of Thorns & Roses (ACOTAR #1) by Sarah J. Maas – SJM does it again with a retelling of Beauty & the Beast! Seriously, pick this up!

3. Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles #1) by Marissa Meyer – If the title wasn’t obvious, Cinder is a retelling of Cinderella but with a twist … she’s a cyborg!

4. Scarlet (The Lunar Chronicles #2) by Marissa Meyer – Scarlet is the Little Red Riding Hood with the big bad wolf. It wasn’t my favorite in the series but it was still amazing!

5. Cress (The Lunar Chronicles #3) by Marissa Meyer – Rapunzel is a close second favorite fairytale and this book was magnificent!

Five Fairytale Retellings I Want to Read

6. Winter (The Lunar Chronicles #4) by Marissa Meyer – I can’t even begin to stress how much I need this book right now!

7. Beastly by Alex Finn – Beauty & the Beast retelling that I heard about after the movie came out. I still haven’t gotten to it after all these years haha

8. Of Beast & Beauty by Stacey Jay – Beauty & the Beast strikes again! It’s on my bookshelf but I don’t really know what it’s all about.

9. Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge – Another Beauty & the Beast … I wonder why that one is particularly popular?

10. The Looking Glass Wars by Frank Beddor – this one has been on my shelf for a while and it’s a retelling of Alice in Wonderland!

What fairytale retellings have you read or want to read? Have you read any of these? Have any fairytale retelling recommendations? I’d love to read more of them! Post your TTT link below, too!

xoxo

About Anjie @ Love thy Shelf

Hello there -- call me Anjie! I made this book blog where I can put down all my bookish ramblings and talk to those who have the same interests!
This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Ten Fairytale Retellings I’ve Read/Want To Read

  1. Pingback: August: Month in Review | Love thy Shelf

  2. Ah, the praise for Lunar Chronicles is endless, am I right? 😀 I need Winter, like, asap.
    I’ve read Cruel Beauty and really enjoyed it! I hope you do as well once you get around to reading it. 🙂
    Great list! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have a few of these on my TBR, the only ones I’ve read are Throne of Glass (obviously although I feel like the Cinderella references are very slim, it’s a lot more obvious that ACOTAR is a retelling) and I’m halfway through ACOTAR. I really want to get to the Lunar Chronicles, they sound so good. I’m planning a binge after Winter comes out.
    My TTT: https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2015/08/04/top-ten-tuesday-16/

    Like

    • Yeah, references to Cinderella in ToG aren’t as obvious as other books. Not that many people know that they’re even connected. I hope you’re enjoying ACOTAR so far! Yes! Binge after Winter is released haha

      Like

      • If I hadn’t known before I read it, I probably wouldn’t. I am, although not as much as everyone else seems to have, I like it, but it’s not one of my favourites. I will! I haven’t had a good series binge in a while!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Zoe says:

    The Lunar Chronicles series is absolutely amazing, right? Marissa is so creative in how she incorporates those little elements of the classic tales we all know and love into a story of her own. The wait for Winter is going to be terrible! And definitely pick up Cruel Beauty – it’s amazing as well! Thanks for sharing and great choices! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Yes, pick up Cruel Beauty, there a nice dark twist to the tale I’ve never seen before.
    My TTT

    Liked by 1 person

  6. SMM Frost says:

    I need to read Cruel Beaty as well. Many of our books overlapped! Throne of Glass is such a great series! My TTT: http://tsundokubooks.blogspot.com/2015/08/top-ten-tuesday-top-ten-fairytale.html?showComment=1438716330623#c2467615209016775937

    Liked by 1 person

  7. ravenblake99 says:

    Wait “WHAT” Throne of glass is a fairytale retellling I didn’t even know that.ACOTAR,Crimson bound, Cinder and the wrath and the dawn are my favorite re-tellings.I think you should definitely check out The wrath and the dawn by Renee Adiah. 😀

    Like

  8. All of these books look so good! XD I LOVE Marissa Meyer’s books they are frikkin amazing as well as SJM. Great list. My TTT: http://simplybookishthings.blogspot.com/2015/08/ten-fairytale-retellings-i-really.html

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I read “The Looking Glass Wars” a few years ago and I absolutely adored it! It’s a definite must-read and the action is really good. I’ve never heard of “Of Beast and Beauty,” but the description sounds promising!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. beckmank says:

    The Looking Glass Wars sounds really interesting! I hadn’t heard of it before today.

    http://hiddenstaircase.net/2015/08/04/ttt-ten-fairy-tale-retellings/

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Josephine says:

    No way, Throne of Glass is a Cinderella re-telling?! I had NO idea!!! But I agree that the Throne of Glass series and ACOTAR are so far, my favourite re-tellings. I haven’t read the Lunar Chronicles series but I definitely want to, badly. And Cruel Beauty is one that has been on my TBR for too long! xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah! It’s hard to see the similarities between Cinderella and ToG but SJM said that it stemmed from an idea with Cinderella and just grew to have it’s own story. Yessss you need to get to Lunar Chronicles, hopefully when Winter comes out ,you can binge read haha!

      Liked by 1 person

  12. HOLLY says:

    The Looking Glass Wars is sooo good! I love Alice in Wonderland to begin with, but that series really puts a spin on the traditional story. It is a series, but I’ve only ever read the first book and it’s not like I feel like I HAVE to read the rest. Anyways, great list! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    I just reserved The Looking Glass Wars after someone mentioned it in their post!! 😀 I’M SO EXCITED. I’m a bit of an Alice in Wonderland nut. 😉 Awk, but I loved Cruel Beauty but wasn’t much of a fan of Beastly. *cringes* I didn’t even realise it was a movie until now. Marissa Meyer is INSANELY AMAZING. I can’t wait for Winter!!
    Here’s my TTT!

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s awesome! I’ve never been into Alice in Wonderland, I’ve only ever seen the one with Johnny Depp haha but it was really interesting. Oooh I’ll tread carefully with Beastly haha. We’re getting closer to Winter!

      Like

  14. The Looking Glass Wars is awesome! Hope you like it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Awesome list!
    The Lunar Chronicles are just so great that they take up almost a whole category to themselves. 🙂
    The Looking Glass Wars looks interesting – i’ll have to check it out!
    Olivia @ Fluttering Pages

    Liked by 1 person

  16. I also want to read Of Beast and Beauty but that’s because I loved Stacey Jay’s other book Princess of Thorns. Which is a fairy tale retelling if Sleeping Beauty..well not so much as a retelling but a jumping off point of the story of Sleeping Beauty’s daughter’s adventure.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. I really enjoyed Cruel Beauty. It’s been awhile since I read it so I’ve forgotten a lot of the specifics, but I do remember that it was hard for me to put down! Have you heard of the Splintered series by A.G. Howard? It is a twist on Alice in Wonderland where the main character is a skater girl. I thought her personality was quite different from the typical heroine in YA novels, but it really worked perfectly with the author’s (dark) take on Wonderland.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. I totally agree with Cinder, Scarlet, Cress and Throne of Glass! Loved them! The Looking Glass Wars is AMAZING! You have got to get to it soon.

    My TTT (Fairy Tale Retellings)

    Liked by 1 person

  19. This was such a fun post idea this week. I love retellings and you picked some good ones, though Go Set a Watchman is NOT a fairy tale or a retelling.

    Please drop by my blog and sign up for my give-away!

    My TTT Retellings

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Carolyn says:

    I adore the Looking Glass Wars! I think it was the first Alice in Wonderland retelling I’d ever read and it’s stuck with me through all these years.

    Liked by 1 person

What's on Your Mind?

