ARC Review: Awake by Natasha Preston

Awake by Natasha Preston
Publish Date: August 04, 2015 by Sourcebooks Fire
352 pages 
Source/Edition: Copy provided by publisher through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review, eBook (Kindle)
Summary provided by Goodreads: 

Scarlett doesn’t remember anything before the age of five. Her parents say it’s from the trauma of seeing her house burn down, and she accepts the life they’ve created for her without question—until a car accident causes Scarlett to start remembering pieces of an unfamiliar past.

When a new guy moves into town, Scarlett feels an instant spark. But Noah knows the truth of Scarlett’s past, and he’s determined to shield her from it…because Scarlett grew up in a cult called Eternal Light, controlled by her biological parents.

And they want her back.

My Review: 

I first heard about Natasha Preston when her book The Cellar came out. It had a great premise and it had outstanding reviews — plus, it looked really creepy. It reminded me of those murder mystery shows I love to watch. When I first read the synopsis of Awake it drew me in like a month to a flame. It sounded really interesting — being part of a cult and so on. However, this book didn’t do it for me. It’s actually the first book that I DNFed. It was supposed to be a mystery but it didn’t feel like it was written that way. It felt very dry and the writing didn’t create the air of suspense, mystery, thriller. It didn’t leave me wanting to know more. I was more like “Okay, is it over yet?”

A major part of the book revolves around Scarlet not remembering anything of her life before the age of 4. I mean… who actually remembers details of their life before age of 5. It didn’t seem like it was out of the ordinary but the book made it seem like it was ridiculous. I wish that more research was done on that and that the author had picked a different age or different circumstance to make it more believable. For example, someone who couldn’t remember anything after turning 10 or 12 is more astounding than a 4 years of age.

The one thing that really annoyed me and was the main reason I had to stop reading was Scarlet and Noah’s relationship. They fell in love instantly. There was really no introduction, it just started right off the bat and then pages later, they fell in love — that’s a big no-no. My next problem is with the writing. It was written in two points of view (Noah and Scarlet) but they were indistinguishable. It was hard to read into what was going on when you were too busy trying to figure out who was speaking. It gave me a headache. I really wanted to figure out what the whole deal was with the cult but I couldn’t even push myself to speed read. There wasn’t any anticipation in the writing, no build up, just a lot of repetition.

Final Thoughts: This books just didn’t cut it out for me. It wasn’t my style and unfortunately I had to DNF it. If you’d like to check it out, Awake will be published Tuesday, August 04, 2015. Be sure to pre-order a copy of it on Amazon or pick up a copy when it is released.

xoxo

About Anjie @ Love thy Shelf

Hello there -- call me Anjie! I made this book blog where I can put down all my bookish ramblings and talk to those who have the same interests!
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to ARC Review: Awake by Natasha Preston

  1. Pingback: August: Month in Review | Love thy Shelf

  2. Hey, I just wanted to let you know that I nominated you for the Blogger Recognition Award! here’s the link to my post so you can see all the rules: http://wp.me/p4MJ2h-gc (P.S. Sorry if you have already done this award)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Josephine says:

    Great review! This book is also on my TBR because the synopsis totally intrigued me. Cults is something I have never read about. Its such a shame that it didn’t work for you. And yes I also think the fact of not being able to remember anything before the age of 5 is actually really normal. In my case, I can’t remember anything before the age of 10 or 11… My memory is really horrible.
    I don’t know if I will pick this book up, but if I do, I’ll have your review in perspective. xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

What's on Your Mind?

