Selfie Sunday #4: Revamping Shelves

shelfie

Hello all! I’m bringing you another scheduled post. I’m probably asleep right now haha but I still wanted to post something for y’all. Don’t worry though, I’m just a comment away if you need to get in touch with me! Anyway, I have this meme on my blog called Shelfie Sunday, which I’ve really neglected. I haven’t done one in more than 3 months I think, so if you’re new here or even relatively new, this is probably your first time seeing this haha.

Revamped Shelves

One thing you should know about me: I’m hardly ever satisfied with my bookshelves. I’m bored with the color. It needs more books. There’s too many books. I need a new shelf. It looks boring. I don’t like the order — list goes on and on. I’m constantly changing my shelves, which is what I did before I left town. This time, I was bored of my shelf color — it’s just black. So, I decided to spice it up a bit. If you follow Lovethyshelf on Instagram, you probably saw my progress but for those of you who don’t, I wanted to show you a cool way to revamp your shelves and add a little color to it!

20150730_103146 What You Need to Revamp Your Shelves:

♥ Your bookshelf

♥ Hammer/Screwdriver (depending on how your shelves are built)

♥ Your choice of self-adhesive wallpaper, wrapping paper, or anything you’d like to decorate the backs of your shelves!

♥ Tape

♥ Scissors

♥ Time, patience, and minimal creativity
(Picture on the left is how my shelves used to look like)

 What I Did:

IMG_20150731_221018(1) The first thing I did was empty out my shelves. I piled them all on here. You can organize it before you pile it or organize as you put them back on your shelves. I think it’ll end up being the same amount of time spent organizing the books haha.

(2) After doing that, use the hammer or screwdriver to remove the nails holding down the back of shelves. The case I got from Ikea just has a piece of black cardboard in the back.

20150730_21501320150731_000039(3) Cover up the back using the self-adhesive wallpaper or wrapping paper. If you’re using the wrapping paper, wrap the back like you would a present. Tape the remnants of the paper to the back of the shelves. You might need a ruler to measure.

(4) Once the backing is all covered by the beautiful pattern, use the hammer to attach it back onto the bookcase! Then, admire your work. No lie … I stared at my shelves for about 30 minutes before I realized I didn’t want to put books on it because it was so pretty.

20150731_125203 20150731_151659 20150731_154828

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

(5) Realize that you have to put books back on your shelf and start going through the process of filling them up again. I organized my books in the usual order, with my favorites at the top and unread books at the bottom.

There you have it! A newish bookcase! It was a lot of fun doing this and I’m looking forward to future DIY projects like this. It was really easy and it made my shelves and books pop out even more. I especially like the lack of glare on my new backboard. I’ll be getting more letters for my shelves to spell out my name and decorate those as well.

Before & After Pictures:

1438314552655 1438399390909
Would you ever consider revamping your shelves? How do you organize your books? Are you like me, always rearranging your books? Sound off below!

IMG_20150731_212840

(Literally obsessed with my shelves right now. You have no idea how many pictures I took)

xoxo

27 thoughts on “Selfie Sunday #4: Revamping Shelves

  1. OMG your shelfs are so good looking now! I would try this but my selves have no back :/

    I have the same thing where I’m constantly rearranging my shelf to just make it look great. I once tried to sort it alphabetically and then just didn’t like it and ended up just putting my favourite books at the top. Now after seeing your pics I feel like rearranging it again 😄

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Super cute! I have always wanted to do this. I have a small vision for my eoom though and I really want floating shelves. I need to go back to Ikea and get them ASAP!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I am constantly changing my bookshelf up as well, just because I find want a new order. I absolutely love the idea of wrapping paper, so I may have to try that to spruce my boring, brown shelf up. On pinterest the other day I saw something with designed tape on the edges of the shelf, so I may do something with that as well! Love the way yours turned out 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: August: Month in Review | Love thy Shelf

What's on Your Mind?

