Bookish Ramblings: Books & Playlists

bookish

IMG_20150716_214829A lot of people use music as a way to express their feelings or as an outlet. I’ve also seen people use it to express the feelings of characters in books. I have seen authors put up playlists for their books, whether they listened to it while writing their book or they felt it went along with the plot, I never knew because I never really paid attention to them. I’ve never been the one to link up a book or characters to a particular song. Well, I’ve never actively done it — I’ve never looked at lyrics or went out of my way to find songs. I only have a several songs and not even that many books. I have no method or anything. I just hear a song and if I get hit with the emotions that remind me of a character or book, that song will become synonymous to it. So I’m sharing that list with you today!

Books & Playlists

The Lux Series by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Settle down with me / Cover me up
Cuddle me in / Lie down with me
And hold me in your arms
And your heart’s against my chest, your lips pressed to my neck
I’m falling for your eyes, but they don’t know me yet
And with a feeling I’ll forget, I’m in love now

Kiss Me performed by Ed Sheeran is such a sweet song and it reminds me of Daemon Black & Katy Swartz. I don’t really have a reason, I just heard it and thought of them. Their relationship, while it was not ideal when they first met, turns into something so sweet and just so full of love. I feel like this is the song Daemon was hearing when he fell in love with Katy haha

Fading in, fading out
On the edge of paradise
Every inch of your skin is a holy grail I’ve got to find
Only you can set my heart on fire, on fire

Love Me Like You Do performed by Ellie Goulding, on the other hand, is the song Katy hears about Daemon. I was really sad that this song was in the Fifty Shades of Grey film but hey at least there was something sweet in that movie (sorry fans of the books and film). Another song that didn’t really have a reason for me but still represented them.

Delirium by Lauren Oliver

Cause darling, it was good never looking down. / And right there where we stood was holy ground.
Tonight I’m gonna dance for all that we’ve been through. / But I don’t wanna dance if I’m not dancing with you.
Tonight I’m gonna dance like you were in this room. / But I don’t wanna dance if I’m not dancing with you

Holy Ground performed by Taylor Swift reminds me of Alex Sheathes and Lena Haloway. Why? Well because when they met each other at that illegal party, he asked her to dance with him. And they did. This is where their relationship started. The innocence of this song reminds me of their love. It was so carefree and pure. Then when it Swift sings about holy ground, I always think of 37 Brooks where they would secretly meet. This song really only applies to Delirium but I thought about it in Requiem.

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before & P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han

 

Loving every minute ’cause you make me feel so alive, alive

Alive performed by Empire of the Sun always reminds me of Peter Kavinsky & Lara Jean Song’s relationship. People tell me that this song is about drugs but I don’t see it, mostly because I don’t do drugs, never done it, and so I don’t know its effects. Ooh-kay. That went on a huge tangent. Anyway, I just find that Peter brings Lara Jean out of her shell. Lara Jean, in a different manner, does the same for Peter. The upbeat song with its chorus reminds me of their fun and cute relationship. It especially reminds of the scene in TATBILB, where they are on the way to the antique sale and speed away from the Epsteins.

The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare

Buckle up and settle in. I’ve got a lot for TID. I just have a lot of emotions concerning that trilogy so I easily pick up on songs for it.

I’m not a perfect person
There’s many thing I wish I didn’t do
But I continue learning
I never meant to do those things to you
And so I have to say before I go
That I just want you to know

I’ve found a reason for me
To change who I used to be
A reason to start over new
And the reason is you

I’m sorry that I hurt you
It’s something I must live with everyday
And all the pain I put you through
I wish I could take it all away
And be the one who catches all your tears

The Reason performed by Hoobastank is an old song haha but I feel is so spot on to Will Herondale and how he feels, especially towards Tessa Gray. Can I just call this song Will Herondale because seriously read those lyrics above, listen to the track. Ugh my heart. It hurts. There’s really not much else to say, Will has kept everyone at arm’s length and hurting them in the process. He was okay with it, he was able to live with himself … that is until Tessa showed up.

I wanna hide the truth / I wanna shelter you
But with the beast inside / There’s nowhere we can hide

When you feel my heat / Look into my eyes
It’s where my demons hide / It’s where my demons hide
Don’t get too close / It’s dark inside
It’s where my demons hide / It’s where my demons hide

They say it’s what you make / I say it’s up to fate
It’s woven in my soul / I need to let you go

Your eyes, they shine so bright / I wanna save that light
I can’t escape this now / Unless you show me how

Demons performed by Imagine Dragons a.k.a my favorite band is another Will Herondale song. Seriously love that guy (something I love more than Will is Imagine Dragons haha). As we all know, Will is an extremely complex creation. Even from the first book, you know that there’s darkness within him. He’s battling his own inner demons and that’s why I related so much with him. I mean Demons is my own theme song and it’s why it became such a favorite of mine.

The Last Time performed by Taylor Swift featuring Gary Lightbody is my Wessa theme song. Sorry Jessa fans, no song for you because I never shipped them — still don’t whoops. This song is suited for Clockwork Prince especially in this one particular scene. I won’t say what happens because spoilers but it’s The Bitter Root chapter. *sobs* This is the only song that I’ve heard and literally brought me to tears because of how much it reminded me of Wessa. It really should be The Last Time performed by T-Swift featuring Will Herondale & Tessa Gray. Minus a few changes in the lyrics, this song describes their relationship to a T. I’m putting the entire song’s lyrics up because it’s just that good and I highly recommend you to listen to the song.

[Gary Lightbody:]
I find myself at your door, just like all those times before,
I’m not sure how I got there, all roads—they lead me here.

I imagine you are home, in your room, all alone,
And you open your eyes into mine, and everything feels better,

[Both:]
and right before your eyes, I’m breaking, no past
No reasons why. Just you and me.

This is the last time I’m asking you this,
Put my name at the top of your list,
This is the last time I’m asking you why,
You break my heart in the blink of an eye.

[Taylor Swift:]
You find yourself at my door, just like all those times before,
You wear your best apology, but I was there to watch you leave,

And all the times I let you in, just for you to go again,
Disappear when you come back. Everything is better.

[Both:]
and right before your eyes, I’m aching, no past
Nowhere to hide. Just you and me

[Taylor Swift:] This is the last time you tell me I’ve got it wrong,
[Gary Lightbody:] This is the last time I say it’s been you all along,
[Taylor Swift:] This is the last time I let you in my door,
[Gary Lightbody:] This is the last time, I won’t hurt you anymore.

This is the last time I’m asking you this,
Put my name at the top of your list,
This is the last time I’m asking you why,
You break my heart in the blink of an eye.

That concludes my list of songs and books. Don’t ask me why I don’t have a happy song for Wessa because I don’t know the answer myself haha. Do you make playlists? Do you hear a song that reminds you of a book or character? Have you heard of my songs and felt that they match the same characters I thought? What, if any, are some of your songs/playlists? Let me know below! I’d love to hear your picks!

xoxo

 

23 thoughts on “Bookish Ramblings: Books & Playlists

  1. I feel like your my soul sister. Seriously, all the books you mentioned above are my favs. Also your playlist gave me so much feels! Ugh. You loving The Infernal Devices more accurately you shipping Will and Tessa sealed the deal for me. You are definitely my new best friend!!! How can we not be friends?! I mean Jem is cute but Will is so perfect. Never shipped Jem and Tessa too! Also when Will was pushing Tessa away, I wanted to scream in frustration!!! But then you find out why and your hearts melts. This up and down of feelings is what will drive me crazy!!! Didn’t the ending just like crush your soul and made you unable to function for a few days? *cries*

    Liked by 1 person

    • You don’t understand how glad I am right now that you found this post of mine!! That’s it! You’re officially my new best friend!! Someone with an unwavering Wessa ship!! Jem was too safe — it’s like he had no faults and that made him very grey for me but Will on the other hand, even with all his faults and imperfections, he was just perfect! Wessa’s love story is one of my favorites! So much emotion, passion, and love — and lots of frustration! I was frustrated at the end of CA when he insulted her and then frustrated all over CP and then dying in CP2!! I can’t think of the epilogue of CP2 without being reduced to a puddle of tears! It was so painful!!

      Liked by 1 person

      • I think you kinda just replayed my whole TID experience…. Yup, Jem seemed TOO perfect (well aside from the sickness) lol I’ve never even tried reading it again because I can’t handle the feels. Also, what do yo think of TMI? I’m like obsessing over Matthew Daddario (he’s playing Alec) Have you read this like bonus comic strip of TID?! When it was Jem and Tessa’s wedding?! *cries loads again* PS: There love scene though. It’s like I’ve been waiting forever for it to happen and then boom it happens in CP2. *squeals happily* I’m like finally!!! hahahaha

        Liked by 1 person

        • Haha yes aside from the sickness *whoops* xD. The fees is the hardest thing to get over when rereading. As for TMI, I loved the first 3 books but I felt like it was done after that, it didn’t need the other 3 books. I’ve seen some pictures of the show and it looks pretty good — the cast looks good. I haven’t seen them act so I don’t know how they’ll do but I hope they’ll do justice to the books. I wasn’t a huge fan of the film lol Did you see the film? What did you think?

          YES!!! I printed that comic strip out actually and I put it with my Clockwork Princess book. I cry every time I see it, especially the part where Will is talking to Tessa and she’s crying and says I wish I could hear and see you and that just breaks my heart!! YESSS!! The Wessa love scene was the best thing ever!! I was jumping and running around my house haha and Will was so cute cause he didn’t know how to take off the corset ahhh!

          Liked by 1 person

          • The ending of the third book was already so perfect right? But when she announced that she was making three books, I was happy cause I just didn’t want to let go of the world just yet… But what do you think of the other books still coming out though? I feel like I’m already done with her world. I’m not that excited with all the other books coming out. Except for the fact that there will be Wessa scenes. If ever I read it, that might just be the selling point.
            Actually, the first time I watched the film, I haven’t read the book so I was like it’s pretty good. I liked it. I’m kinda bias cause I’m pretty obsessed with Lily Collins. I didn’t like the guy who played Jace though… I felt like Alex Pettyfer would be the perfect guy! BUT after I read the book, I was like WTF. It was so far off. Especially the casting of Valentine, why did they make him look like a pirate with a super long beard?! I mean come on. He was hot in the book! I liked the casting for Simon super much though.
            THAT IS A GREAT IDEA! I didn’t think of printing it. Will do that!!!!
            I WAS SMILING LIKE AN IDIOT. It was just feels overload. Yeah, the corset thing had to be my favorite part. Also, Will and Jem’s bromance. hahahaahahah when Jem died………………………

            Like

  2. I loooove this! I’m not a person who puts songs to suit books or characters in books but I can think of two books that I have songs for which were totally subconscious – Twilight and Ugly Love! Its so random. Love Me Like You Do is actually the song I pick for Ugly Love. I just feel like it goes so well.
    AND OH MY GOSH, IMAGINE DRAGONS IS MY FAVOURITE BAND TOO! I totally agree that Demons totally fits Will. As for The Last Time, that is one of my favourite songs of Taylor Swift (in fact I love most of her songs) but sadly I don’t ship Will and Tessa enough to relate, and I haven’t read Clockwork Prince yet 😭
    I love love LOVED this post so much! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yay! Thanks! I’m glad you enjoyed this post! I’ve never shared my playlist or songs with anyone before, I’m glad it’s gotten positive feedback!

      Ooh! What song did you pick for Twilight? Did you read the entire series? I was actually watching Breaking Dawn Part 2 last night haha — have you seen the movies by the way?

      Yay! More Imagine Dragons fans!! Have you heard their new album?! I love most of Taylor Swift songs too, they’re just so good and catchy! I think that even if you don’t ship Wessa, you’ll relate once you read CP haha

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah I’ve read the entire Twilight series. But that was years ago! The songs were totally subconscious because I was listening to them when I was reading the book. More by Selena Gomez. Its not so much the lyrics but the sound and tone of the song.

        YES! I have their new album on my Spotify and I listen to it on repeat. I think Gold is my favourite on the album but it’s hard to decide.
        T-Swifts songs are so dang catchy.
        I’m definitely going to have a listen to the songs after I read Clockwork Prince. xoxo

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: July Monthly Review & Book Haul | Love thy Shelf

  4. Oh my god yess Imagine Dragons and Taylor both perfectly describe those books!! I just found your blog and first of all your blog url is EPIC and also this post is super duper cool, I kinda want to write a post like this myself now!

    Liked by 1 person

What's on Your Mind?

