Review: Clockwork Angel (The Infernal Devices #1) by Cassandra Clare

Clockwork Angel (The Infernal Devices #1) by Cassandra Clare
Published: August 31, 2010
479 pages
Source/Edition: Bought at GoHastings, Hardcover
Summary provided by Goodreads

The year is 1878. Tessa Gray descends into London’s dark supernatural underworld in search of her missing brother. She soon discovers that her only allies are the demon-slaying Shadowhunters—including Will and Jem, the mysterious boys she is attracted to. Soon they find themselves up against the Pandemonium Club, a secret organization of vampires, demons, warlocks, and humans. Equipped with a magical army of unstoppable clockwork creatures, the Club is out to rule the British Empire, and only Tessa and her allies can stop them.

My Review5stars

I am beyond ecstatic to be reviewing this trilogy on my blog. If you’ve been following me long enough, you probably are already aware of my TID and Will Herondale obsession. Ever since I started reading the trilogy, I’ve read it once a year and I’m collecting copies of the books. I currently have the US hardcovers, US paperbacks, and graphic novels for all three. I have the UK paperback of Clockwork Prince and working on getting the other two. Plus, if you haven’t heard, there will be new — and absolutely gorgeous — covers for the trilogy coming out on September. I even have Tessa’s necklace and a Herondale ring! Anyway, let’s move onto my really review.

gif

I actually don’t have an original review for this book because I first read it, I didn’t have this book nor did I write reviews on Goodreads. This is the 4th time I’ve read this book and it’s still just as good. However, I am seeing that, for me, the trilogy gets better and better as it progresses. All I know is that if I had written a review for it 3 years ago, it would have been this incoherent mess and I would’ve been embarrassed. I was introduced to this trilogy after reading the first 3 books of The Mortal Instruments. Back then, I was in love with TMI but after reading Clockwork Angel, I no longer felt the same way.

I instantly fell in love with Will Herondale. He reminded me of Jace and I felt that Will had a reason for acting the way that he did. There’s something dark in him that’s hard to love but I couldn’t help but love him. He was hilarious, witty, strong, dashingly handsome, and a wonderfully adept fighter. I enjoyed Tessa’s character as well. She was confident, strong, and loving. Aside from the fact that they were both bookworms, I felt a strong connection to them. I saw a lot of myself in both of the characters and it’s probably what drew them to me. I liked Jem well enough. He wasn’t my favorite. I think he’s too kind and I don’t really have much to say about him (ahh, don’t hate me, please). I thought the characters were very well written and complex, much more so than in TMI.

I loved the plot! It was fantastically written and executed. It was entertaining and fun but at the same time, very serious. There were great plot twists that I didn’t see coming and they kept me on my toes! Even reading it now, some things still surprise me. The writing makes it easy to read and the pace keeps you from getting bored. I obviously enjoyed the concept especially coming from TMI. I enjoyed seeing descendants of the characters we met in TMI. What I loved even more than TMI was the time period that TID was set in. Do yourself a favor and pick up a copy! You will be entertained.

clockwork angel UnknownThese covers on the left are the covers for the September release and the graphic novel, respectively. The graphic novel is just as good and seeing the book sort of come to life with the images. It does leave out certain details since there are no descriptions, only dialogue. It was still a lot of fun to read! I highly recommend.xoxo

About Anjie @ Love thy Shelf

Hello there -- call me Anjie! I made this book blog where I can put down all my bookish ramblings and talk to those who have the same interests!
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Review: Clockwork Angel (The Infernal Devices #1) by Cassandra Clare

  1. Pingback: July Monthly Review & Book Haul | Love thy Shelf

  2. I’m so glad you decided to post your reviews for these because we all know your adoration for Will! 😉 I think my favorite one was The Clockwork Prince just because I’m a Jem fan (don’t worry, I don’t hate you) and he had a ton of sweet scenes in that one. He is kind, which can make him a little boring but that self-effacing quality of his is endearing, I don’t know. Though I really liked his character, I always was a Tessa/Will shipper. I guess I ship myself with Jem, haha.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha! I’ve heard a lot people ship Wessa so that they can ship Jem with themselves. That’s okay, as long as they ship Wessa right? haha. But yeah I understand why people love Jem, he is a great character but I always felt he was too safe and for me personally, not my type haha. I also never felt like Jessa connected as much as Wessa. He does deserve to be loved though

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ll never get tired of this trilogy it’s just so AMAZING! Great review! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. ravenblake99 says:

    Great Review! I like this series more than TMI. I’m really glad that you loved it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Josephine says:

    Yes yes yes! I loved this book and I am so excited to read Clockwork Prince as soon as I purchase it. Most likely I will pick it up in August. (Stupid money issues).
    I found Jem to be my favourite in this book but Will is so incredibly close behind Jem. I’m falling for him, mark my words.
    Great review xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ugh money issues, I’m on the same boat but I’ll wait until you get the copy to start reading Clockwork Prince! It’ll be like a little read-along haha. I feel like you would fall for Will. I can’t wait for you to read Clockwork Prince because it’s the book where I saw a lot of people fall for Will.

      Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I actually learned of the series when I came across the graphic novel for Clockwork Angel a few years ago. At that time I was primarily “reading” by listening to audiobooks and, boy, am I glad that I was! If you fell for Will just by reading the book, wait until you hear the voice of the narrator for him in the audiobook for Clockwork Prince. Even if he were just reading gibberish, I would listen to that voice forever! lol Since you’re such a big fan of the trilogy, even if you don’t usually listen to audiobooks, you should *definitely* check it out!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh wow! I’ll definitely check out the audiobook — I’d love to have a more tangible, real-life Will Herondale haha.

      Liked by 1 person

    • So upon your recommendation, I checked out the audiobook for Clockwork Prince and Princess and whoa! I love them! They’re the voices of Ed Westwick (Gossip Girl) and Daniel Sharman (Teen Wolf), respectively. I love them in their shows, just didn’t know they were British — plus, them reading a book to us is like icing on top haha. Thanks for letting me know about the audiobooks!

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’m glad you liked them! I had no idea that the narrators were also actors! (I don’t watch much TV.) I actually searched their names on Audible after I finished the books, because I was willing to listen to *any* other book they had read for! haha Ed also read for one of the books in TMI series, which is why I ended up listening to all of them too. lol

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Claudia Victoria says:

    OMG YOU’RE SO LUCKY TO HAVE THE NECKLACE!!! I’ve been wanting one FOR EVER.

    I totally agree that TID was WAYY better than TMI. The characters were richer, the plot more interesting, and, well, let’s face it: TID had Will, so there’s really no contest.

    Clockwork Princess was definitely my favourite book in the series. It gave me all the feels and I cried a river (and I NEVER cry with books!). And when I reread the entire trilogy again, I was STILL crying.

    I agree that the time it was set in made a wonderful setting. I’m in love with the Victorian Era. I don’t know why.

    Haha, this comment is pretty much me fangirling, which is probably how I’d write my review of this. ^.^

    Liked by 1 person

    • If you google Hebel Design, she makes and sells them. I bought it for a really high price lol but it’s lowered in price! I love it and wear it all the time haha.

      YES!!! Finally someone who loves Will more than Jace! I love finding people who think TID is better than TMI! Clockwork Princess is my favorite, too! Even though it made me cry so much! I cry when I reread it too!!

      No worries, I’m always down with fangirling over TID haha

      Like

  8. I have yet to read this series but it’s on my TBR for this month and I’m literally so excited. I’ve heard nothing but good things.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Carolyn says:

    I think my favorite of the series is Clockwork Prince!:)

    Liked by 1 person

    • My favorite is Clockwork Princess. Why was CP yours? Not saying I didn’t like it because I did love it haha, just wondering.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Carolyn says:

        I haven’t read it in a while so my memories are kind of hazy but I really liked all the Will/Tessa scenes especially the ball scenes! and I liked getting to know the reason why Will was the way he was. I just thought it was the most well-rounded book Clare has written since City of Glass especially with the character development.

        Liked by 1 person

        • I definitely agree with you there, I really enjoyed the character development and even with just 3 books in TID, it felt more substantial than the 6 books of TMI. I loved the scene where Will tells Tessa the reason why he is the way he is. Terrible scene really lol but I liked that how Tessa feels for Will was justified in a way. I don’t know I’m rambling haha

          Like

What's on Your Mind?

